10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books.

The Poet X

"Sparky, poignant novel-in-verse in which an unforgettable Latino teenager finds the freedom of “learning to believe in the power of my own words”. "

View All Editions

£8.99 £8.09

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review

LoveReading4Kids Says

LoveReading4Kids Says

Winner for the CILIP Carnegie Medal 2019 | Highly Commended in the UKLA Book Awards 2019 | Winner of the 2018 National Book Award

Xiomara Batista is a Harlem teenager whose parents moved to the US from the Dominican Republic. She has plenty of thoughts, plenty to say, but she’s been rendered voiceless by her domineering mother, by religion, and by the boys and men who objectify her body. She gets “all this attention from guys/but it’s like a sancocho of emotions… partly flattered they think I’m attractive, partly scared they’re only interested in my ass and boobs”. Such is the experience of many young women, but for Xiomara this is exacerbated by racism and her judgmental religious community, and powerfully expressed in her inimitable narrative voice.

Talking of which, through the sexual insults, and despite her mother’s meting of cruel punishments, Xiomara does find her voice. She keeps a secret notebook of poems, and dreams of joining a slam poetry club. And she finds love too, with Trinidad-born Aman, a compassionate young man with family heartache of his own. Xiomara’s descriptions of their burgeoning relationship are stunning, evoking first love and passion in all its visceral beauty. Somehow, Xiomara pulls herself free from a mire of obstacles. She stands tall, she burns bright - a wondrously authentic character who finds her own faith through writing poetry. Highly recommended for fans of Nicola Yoon, Angie Thomas and Sarah Crossan, this is a dazzlingly affecting feat.

Joanne Owen

Find This Book In

Suitable For:
Other Genres:

About

Press Reviews

Author

Collections Featuring This Book

You Might Also Like...

YA readers

Gut Feelings

C. G. Moore

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

YA readers

Punching the Air

Ibi Zoboi and 1 more

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

YA readers

Clap When You Land

Elizabeth Acevedo

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

YA readers

Toffee

Sarah Crossan

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

YA readers

The Black Flamingo

Dean Atta

Hardback

In Stock

£11.69 £12.99

YA readers

The Boxer

Nikesh Shukla

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99