LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Switch Up

Written by Katy Cannon

Part of the The Switch Up Series

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 13+ readers Humorous Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on The Switch Up

An entertaining Freaky Friday-vibed escapade ensues when two teen girls switch identities for the summer holidays.

Optimist and aspiring actress Willa is the privileged daughter of separated actor parents. Her plans to spend summer in London are scuppered when her parents decide to ship her off to rural Italy to stay with an aunt she’s never met, which is what brings her to LA airport and into contact with Alice... Glass-half-empty-Alice has lost her mum and her marine biologist dad is sending her to stay with his new girlfriend in London, the prospect of which fills her with horror. When the girls meet in the airport lounge, they’re envious of each other’s summers. Alice would love to visit Italy to fulfill a dream of her mum’s, while Willa is desperate to attend a London theatre course. While Willa and Alice live worlds apart, they look remarkably alike and so they switch identities to experience a summer holiday like no other.

With slip-ups and suspicions aroused from the off, the fast-paced escapist action escalates into a flurry of comic capers and cute crushes, plus there are plenty of heart-melting moments too. Alice gets to visit the worry-purging waterfall her mum never saw, while Willa reassesses her ambitions, and both find new friendships.

Joanne Owen

The Switch Up Synopsis

WILLA: Drama queen Fashion guru Spontaneous Looks like Alice

ALICE: Bookworm Allergic to fashion Planner Looks like Willa

LAX Departure Lounge. Two girls board the same flight to London as complete strangers. When the plane touches down, it's the beginning of the craziest plan ever. Can Willa and Alice really swap lives for the summer? Things are going to get complicated...

The first in a fun new series, this summer read is The Parent Trap meets Freaky Friday and is perfect for fans of Geek Girl and Super Awkward

The Switch Up Press Reviews

Praise for Love, Lies and Lemon Pies:

A delightful, delicious and feather-light romance that still manages to deal beautifully with some deep issues. - Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike

If you loved this, you might like these...

Help: My Cat's a Vlogging Superstar!
Time for Jas The Diaries of Bluebell Gadsby
Royally Obsessed
The Princess Diaries

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781788950404
Publication date: 13/06/2019
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788950404
Publication date: 13th June 2019
Author: Katy Cannon
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 13+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Humorous, Romance / Relationship Stories

About Katy Cannon

Katy Cannon was born in the United Arab Emirates, grew up in North Wales and now lives in Hertfordshire with her husband and two children. Her YA debut, LOVE, LIES AND LEMON PIES, has been published in eight languages. She has since written SECRETS, SCHEMES AND SEWING MACHINES, AND THEN WE RAN and HOW TO WRITE A LOVE STORY. She also writes adult romance novels under a pseudonym.

More About Katy Cannon

More Books By Katy Cannon

Cover for How to Write a Love Story by Katy Cannon
Cover for Love, Lies and Lemon Pies by Katy Cannon
Cover for V.I.P. (Very Important Pup) by Katy Cannon
View All Books By Katy Cannon

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×