LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Endling: Book Two: The First

Written by Katherine Applegate

Part of the Endling Series

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on Endling: Book Two: The First

Fearlessness, friendship and finding a way to fight for what matters

Brave Byx and her band of buddies are back in their second anthropomorphic fantasy adventure that sees them journey to the snow-capped mountains of Dreyland to discover whether she really is the last of her kind.

Fast-paced and thrilling, Byx’s courageous quest is also underpinned by emotion. Middle Grade readers will identify with her self-effacing protestations that she’s “not brave. Not bold. Not a leader”. But of course, she is, and battles much danger and a swelling sense of darkness as she and her friends realise that revolution is the only way her species will survive. Alongside the action, the writing is cinematically atmospheric and lyrical: “Grey clouds encircled the mountains, groping for the peaks. Our breath hovered before us like ghosts from our tangled pasts”.

This is perfect for fans of Brian Jacques, Robin Jarvis and The Legend of Podkin One-Ear.

Joanne Owen

Endling: Book Two: The First Synopsis

Byx might be the last dairne alive. Together with her companions - loyal Tobble, brave and resourceful Khara, wise but deadly Gambler, and Renzo the thief - she is following a perilous path out of Nedarra and into the snow-covered mountains of the northern country of Dreyland. The threat of war is growing, and with it, the possible extinction of all Byx's dreams. Just as the group make a hopeful discovery in their quest to find more dairnes, things grow dark. And a terrifying encounter with the terramants, another of the powerful governing species, uncovers a treacherous plan that could bring devastation to all the creatures of Nedarra.

But Byx and her friends are determined to never give up, and find themselves the unlikely leaders in a simmering rebellion that threatens all they hold dear.

Endling: Book Two: The First Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Endling will draw you into an amazing adventure with fantastical creatures. You will fall in love with Byx, the main character, as she loses her family and finds a new one, human and other. Full review

Lila Arbel (Age 10)

Endling: Book Two: The First Press Reviews

Applegate effortlessly constructs her fantasy world, briskly moving readers through its imaginative details while creating winning, unique characters... A bracing, propulsive read that will be a challenge to keep on the shelf. - Booklist (starred review)

A sweeping fantasy epic for the middle grade set that will have readers clamouring for a follow-up -- starred review - School Library Journal

Readers will fall in love with Byx and race with her through Nedarra, breathless and eager, thinking deeply all the way - New York Times

The gripping first instalment of Applegate's new fantasy trilogy assembles a motley crew in a suspenseful, tautly drawn quest. - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Applegate skillfully builds a fully realized world of intrigue and wonder without ever letting up on the story's quick pace. A savvy choice for readers of fantasy. - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

If you loved this, you might like these...

Mesopo
Return to Wonderland
Rumblestar
In the Shadow of Heroes

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781783448371
Publication date: 04/07/2019
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783448371
Publication date: 4th July 2019
Author: Katherine Applegate
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical

About Katherine Applegate

Katherine Applegate is the author of The One and Only Ivan, winner of the 2013 Newbery Medal. Her novel Crenshaw spent over twenty weeks on the New York Times children’s bestseller list, and her first middle grade standalone novel, the award-winning Home of the Brave, continues to be included on state reading lists, summer reading lists, and class reading lists. She lives with her husband, the author Michael Grant, who she  co-wrote the Animorphs series with, and their two children in Northern California.

More About Katherine Applegate

More Books By Katherine Applegate

Cover for Endling: Book One: The Last by Katherine Applegate
View All Books By Katherine Applegate

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×