LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Marcel's Parcels

Written by Kate Hindley

Illustrated by Kate Hindley

Part of the Treacle Street Series

Books for Babies and Toddlers Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 3+ readers

LoveReading View on Marcel's Parcels

August 2019 Debut of the Month

There’s a real feel of Richard Scarry’s Busy Town to this sturdy board book, though it’s totally contemporary, and packs in a satisfying little story too. It’s a bright, sunny morning on Treacle Street and Marcel is busy delivering the post. His bright, red trolley is full of parcels – lift a flap and peep inside to see them – and over the next pages we find out who they’re for. There are leg warmers for the dance school, eggs and flour for the pie shop, and new wheels for the garage. On each page there’s a friendly new character to meet, a flap to lift, and lots and lots of things to spot and count, all illustrated in Kate Hindley’s bright, vibrant illustrations. A lovely book for pre-schoolers.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

Welcome to Treacle Street, the first solo project written & illustrated by award-winning Kate Hindley.

Marcel's Parcels Synopsis

Treacle Street is a new lift-the-flap board book series that's perfect for fans of Acorn Wood and Pip and Posy!

It's a bright sunny morning on Treacle Street, and Marcel the postman's trolley is FULL of parcels. Join him on his rounds to find out who they're all for - and lift the flaps to find out what's inside!

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Lonely Christmas Tree
Oh Christmas Tree
That's not my polar bear...
The Polar Express

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471173318
Publication date: 25/07/2019
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Board book

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471173318
Publication date: 25th July 2019
Author: Kate Hindley
Illustrator: Kate Hindley
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Board book
Pagination: 12 pages
Suitable for: Baby and Toddler, 3+ readers
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month

About Kate Hindley

Kate lives and works in Birmingham (near the chocolate factory). She studied illustration at Falmouth College of Art, and went on to work for two years as a children's print designer at a studio in Northampton, whilst working freelance on children's books and greetings cards.She has exhibited with her good chums Girls Who Draw and Inkygoodness across the UK, and had a jolly good time painting up a totem pole for the Pictoplasma Character Walk exhibition 2011.Things Kate finds inspiring include Bob Godfrey, Richard Scarry, The Magic Roundabout (in particular Dougal and the Blue Cat), and Sharps Doom Bar.

More About Kate Hindley

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×