Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Kingdom of the Deep

Written by Frank Hinks

Illustrated by Frank Hinks

Part of the Tales of Ramion Series

Write A Review

The Kingdom of the Deep Review

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Traditional Tales

A series of fragmented fantasy adventures for variably aged children featuring full-colour illustrations and packaged in a fancy gold-foiled hardback format.

This thirteenth instalment of the extensive Tales of Ramion series of fantasy adventures drags readers deep underwater to the realm of a “cold imperious” mermaid Queen who, among other things, takes sadistic pleasure in the humiliation of mermen.

This mystifying adventure begins with witch Griselda declaring to her pet skull Boris that they’re going to holiday in a castle that belongs to her Pembrokeshire-dwelling cousin. But first - for a reason that’s left unexplained – Griselda announces that “before we go I must make a spell to change the holiday plans of some boys we know.” And so it comes to pass that the boys are “sucked down and down to the Kingdom of the Deep, beneath the Seas of Ramion” as a result of Griselda wielding her magic staff.

In these watery depths, a higgledy-piggledy quest plays out amidst a muddled mélange of mermen, a mermaid who longs to dance “in the arms of a tall dark stranger” and gang of wine-drinking dwarves.

Joanne Owen

The Kingdom of the Deep Synopsis

The witch Griselda changes the holiday plans of the boys and their parents in order to capture them easily. But on arriving at Morgan Castle she discovers that her cousin Veronica will not allow her to eat the boys whilst they are staying in the castle. In disgust, she magics the boys to the Kingdom of the Deep where, with the help of octopus, squid and mermen, she sets out to get them.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Gary the Frog Prince
Blizzard Wizard, The
Gift of Evil, The
Athena: The Story of a Goddess

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781909938250
Publication date: 28/09/2019
Publisher: Perronet Press
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781909938250
Publication date: 28th September 2019
Author: Frank Hinks
Illustrator: Frank Hinks
Publisher: Perronet Press
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 80 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, Traditional Tales

About Frank Hinks

Frank Hinks is the creator of the Land of Ramion series...And here’s another secret about the magical world of Ramion: it’s here that Frank Hinks lets his hair down and escapes the austere and highly formal world of the legal profession where he is a Chancery QC with a successful international practice based in London. As well as being a storytelling author and painter, Frank Hinks lists Indie Rock (listening at full volume and dancing) among his personal interests.

More About Frank Hinks

More Books By Frank Hinks

Cover for Gary the Frog Prince by Frank Hinks
Cover for Blizzard Wizard, The by Frank Hinks
Cover for Gift of Evil, The by Frank Hinks
View All Books By Frank Hinks

Share this book