LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

You Live Where?!

Written by John Hay

Illustrated by Garry Parsons

Featured Books for 3+ readers Featured Books for 5+ readers Humorous Stories about Animals

LoveReading View on You Live Where?!

Absurdity abounds in this boredom-banishing, bird-abundant book

Selected for The Book Box by LoveReading4Kids

From Garry Parsons, illustrator of the Dinosaur that Pooped series, and debut author John Hay, this quirky picture book will delight toddlers with a penchant for off-the-wall humour. It’s a blast of ingenious absurdity, with lots of reasons to laugh-out-loud on each of its energetically illustrated pages.

 

It’s the first day of the holidays and birds from all corners of the globe are chilling-out poolside, and getting to know each other. First there’s the roadrunner who tells a kookaburra he’s from a place called Nowhere. When the kookaburra dismisses this name as nonsense, a penguin jumps in to say he’s from a place called Nowhere Else, which leads the kookaburra to reply “that’s just silly”. To which a jackdaw responds that he’s actually from… Silly!

 

With clever connecting lines between each place name revelation (others include Little Snoring, Scratchy Bottom, Pee Pee Town and Humpty Doo), the book ends with a spread detailing where each of these implausibly named places really are. Spoiler: they’re all real!

Joanne Owen

You Live Where?! Synopsis

Little Snoring. Scratchy Bottom. Nowhere. Nowhere Else. You Live Where?! 

It's the first day of the holiday and down by the pool the birds are getting to know each other. But as they soon discover, they all have one thing in common . . . they come from the places with the funniest names. 

A laugh-out-loud funny story. Perfect for fans of Kes Gray's You're Called What?! With illustrations from the artist behind the bestselling Dinosaur that Pooped series.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Lonely Beast
Santa Jaws
Santa Jaws
There's a Mouse in my House

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781529026283
Publication date: 04/02/2021
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781529026283
Publication date: 4th February 2021
Author: John Hay
Illustrator: Garry Parsons
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: 3+ readers, 5+ readers
Genres: Humorous, Animals

About John Hay

John Hay is a debut picture book author who loves funny stories. He first started making them up when his son was small and although his son is now grown up, John still tries to make him laugh. John lives in London with his wife and two bad cats. 

More About John Hay

More Books By John Hay

Cover for Castilian Days by John Hay
Cover for Pike County Ballads and Other Poems by John Hay
Cover for Poems by John Hay
View All Books By John Hay

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×