LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Bad Habits

Written by Flynn Meaney

Featured Books for Young Adults Humorous School Stories Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

LoveReading View on Bad Habits

Sparky feminist high jinks in an American Catholic boarding school

Introducing Alex - the formidable, purple-haired President of her high school’s Feminist Society, which is quite a role given that St Mary’s is a strict co-ed Catholic boarding school ruled by servants of the patriarchy. Determined to get kicked-out from said patriarchal prison, Alex sets about staging a performance of The Vagina Monologues - a sure-fire way to secure her expulsion, while enlightening pupils, priests and nuns, and de-stigmatising the word “vagina”. 

 

Author Flynn Meaney has outstanding flair for creating authentic, engaging characters and dialogue, not least through Alex’s quips and comebacks. But, while she’s razor-sharp, with an ability to wither the bolshiest of boys, Alex is also the person people go to “for the stuff you can’t say to a nun or your room-mate”, and a loyal, loving friend, especially when supporting her own roommate. A romantic Disney Princess to Alex’s invincible warrior, Mary Kate’s relatable dreams and worries balance Alex’s irrepressible rebelliousness, and their friendship is a life-affirming joy.

 

Then there’s Hockey Player Pat, who’s not quite the boorish jock Alex initially takes him for. In fact, he comes up with a cunning way for The Vagina Monologues to be performed. The question is, can Alex bring herself to cooperate with her no-sex-before-marriage-advocating nemesis for the greater good? With a flamin’ hot finale, this rip-roaring read blazes with rebellion, friendship and the power of speaking out.

Joanne Owen

Bad Habits Synopsis

Alex is a rebel with a purple fauxhawk and biker boots. St Mary's Catholic School is the strict boarding school where she's currently trapped. Despite trying everything she can to get expelled, she's still stuck with the nuns, the prudish attitude and the sexism. So Alex decides to take matters into her own hands. She's going to stage the school's first ever production of The Vagina Monologues . . . Trouble is, no one else at St Mary's can even bear to say the word 'vagina' out loud!

Perfect for fans of Sex Education and Derry Girls. A riotously funny novel about the importance of friendship and finding your voice.

Bad Habits Press Reviews

Funny, fierce and feminist, Bad Habits is full of big characters, big heart, and even bigger laughs. Flynn Meaney has somehow packed laughs into every line while still taking on everything from priests to the patriarchy. I loved it -- Beth Garrod 

This snarky feminist treat is properly laugh-out-loud funny -- The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Boomerang Effect
Goodbye, Perfect
All American Boys
Melt My Heart

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780241407196
Publication date: 11/02/2021
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241407196
Publication date: 11th February 2021
Author: Flynn Meaney
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd an imprint of Penguin Random House Children's UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Genres: Humorous, School Stories, Personal Social Health Economic

About Flynn Meaney

Flynn Meaney is the author of The Boy Recession and Bloodthirsty. She studied marketing and French at the University of Notre Dame, where she barely survived the terrifying array of priests and nuns, campus ghosts, and bone-crushing athletes who inspired Bad Habits. Since completing a very practical MFA in Poetry, she works for a French company and travels often between New York (when she's in the mood for bagels) and Paris (when she's in the mood for croissants).

More About Flynn Meaney

More Books By Flynn Meaney

Cover for Boys Wanted by Flynn Meaney
Cover for Bloodthirsty by Flynn Meaney
View All Books By Flynn Meaney

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×