LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Caravan at the Edge of Doom

Written by Jim Beckett

Write A Review

The Caravan at the Edge of Doom Review

Adventure Stories Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous

Exploding grandparents, unexpected heroes and a truly EPIC adventure.

June 2021 Debut of the Month

When her grandparents explode in their caravan toilet late one night, twelve-year-old Harley discovers a surprising truth: their toilet is a gateway to the Land of the Dead, and they are its Guardians. Well, they were. But there's no time to mourn their passing. Because Harley's baby brother has accidentally gone with them to the Land of the Dead. And Harley only has 24 hours to rescue him before he's trapped there FOREVER!

LoveReading4Kids

The Caravan at the Edge of Doom Synopsis

The perfect summer read for fans of Terry Pratchett, David Walliams and Roald Dahl!

I knew my grandparents had been ill, but I hadn’t expected them to explode. Not all on the same night anyway.

Pops went off first, with a bone-rattling blast that rocked the caravan and echoed across the moonlit moor.

He was in the loo at the time – Boom! – right in the middle of a wee.

Gran blew up next, before I had a chance to rub the sleep out of my eyes. She went into the tiny toilet and did such a big BOOM that I fell out of my bunkbed.

With black and white illustrations throughout by Olia Muza, this magical, brilliantly subversive, and often heart-breaking debut by Jim Beckett features exploding grandparents, unexpected heroes and a truly EPIC adventure. With a cast of unforgettable characters, The Caravan at the Edge of Doom is laugh-out-loud funny and will appeal to fans of Dahl, Walliams and Pratchett.

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Game Master: Summer Schooled
Future Friend
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Spooky Stories

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405298285
Publication date: 27/05/2021
Publisher: Farshore an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405298285
Publication date: 27th May 2021
Author: Jim Beckett
Publisher: Farshore an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month
Collections: Summer Reading 2021,

About Jim Beckett

Jim Beckett has been a teacher, comedian, pest control administrative assistant, seasonal elf, and census collector. He prefers reading books, writing books, borrowing books from the library, taking books to the pub, and looking at books on shelves. Jim lives with his family in a conventional arrangement. Olia Muza was born in Uman, Ukraine. After studying graphic design, she decided to try her hand at illustration and hasn't looked back since.

More About Jim Beckett

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×