LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sequins and Secrets Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction

A gorgeously glamorous new series filled with 1920s period detail

Meet Myrtle Mathers and Sylvia Cartwright: two girls from different worlds bonded by a passion for fashion! They know that the perfect outfit can make dreams come true, and their dazzling designs are the talk of 1920s London... So when Agapantha Portland-Prince wants to escape her glamorous debutante ball for a life of adventure, it's their magical talents she needs. But can the girls make all their secret dreams a reality, or will this be the most stylish scandal of the century?

LoveReading4Kids

Sequins and Secrets Synopsis

Welcome to The House of Serendipity, where friendships are fashioned and destinies designed amongst the ballgowns, tiaras and trifles!

Introducing a gorgeously glamorous new series filled with 1920s period detail, perfect for fans of Katherine Woodfine and Robin Stevens.

Discover the divine designs that make dreams come true with full-page fashion illustrations.

Sequins and Secrets Press Reviews

Fun, glamorous and absolutely brimming with charm. - Catherine Doyle, author of The Storm Keeper's Island

The House of Serendipity is pure joy! Lucy Ivison so perfectly recalls what it's like forging friendships as a child: the thrills, fears, adventure and humour. Just gorgeous. - Abi Elphinstone

I absolutely loved this... A delicious story of friendship and following your dreams, with two enterprising young heroines and lots of gorgeous and glamorous 1920s fashions - such a joy! - Katherine Woodfine, author of The Sinclair's Mysteries

A witty and whimsical creation, stitched together with hope and charm. A celebration of the power of friendship and standing up for what's right. - Anna James, author of Pages & Co

A charming story packed with friendship and fashion. - Sophie Cleverly, author of Scarlet and Ivy

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Warrior in My Wardrobe
When Fishes Flew
Circus Maximus: Race to the Death
Billie Swift Takes Flight

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781474982092
Publication date: 10/06/2021
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781474982092
Publication date: 10th June 2021
Author: Lucy Ivison, Helen Crawford (Illustrator) White
Illustrator: Catharine (Illustrator) Collingridge
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Historical Fiction

About Lucy Ivison, Helen Crawford (Illustrator) White

Lucy Ivison co-wrote YA novels Lobsters, Never Evers and Freshers while working as the librarian at a central London girls' school. The House of Serendipity is her first series as a solo author and for younger readers, putting her experience with tween girls to good use by focusing on what she knows they love: fashion, adventure and friendship.

More About Lucy Ivison, Helen Crawford (Illustrator) White

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×