LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Yapping Away: Poems by Joshua Seigal

Written by Joshua Seigal

Illustrated by Sarah Horne

Write A Review

Yapping Away: Poems by Joshua Seigal Review

Books of the Month Featured Books for 3+ readers Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Humorous Poetry Poetry Books for Children

Poems to make you laugh, poems you’ll want to share

September 2021 Book of the Month

The opening poem in Joshua Seigal’s sparkling new collection invites readers to ‘fill the world with words’, and he does a very good job of doing just that in poems that represent his audience’s world perfectly. Here are poems about classrooms, playtime, grandparents, chocolate biscuits – all just right to read aloud and deliciously easy to remember. There are poems that deliver jokes, poems that play with sense and their shape, poems that sneak in deeper meanings too as they describe familiar emotions. One thing is for certain, everyone will find a favourite in this collection, a poem they’ll want to read to someone else. It ends with a selection of Seigal’s tips for children on writing poetry and I think lots of readers will be inspired to add their own poems to the world as a result. 

Andrea Reece

Yapping Away: Poems by Joshua Seigal Synopsis

Discover the eight steps for having a successful tantrum, and why you should NEVER attend a Teddy Bear's Picnic (you have been warned).

Packed full of fun illustrations by Sarah Horne, and covering a range of imaginative topics, Yapping Away is the perfect follow-up to Joshua Seigal's prize-winning collection I Bet I Can Make You Laugh.

Ideal for children as young as 3 to read with adults, or for children aged 5-7 to read by themselves.

Joshua Seigal, winner of the 2020 Laugh Out Loud Book Awards, brings his raucous humour, creativity and wit to another brilliant collection of poems. Ideal for fans of Michael Rosen, this book will delight all young readers and fans of funny books

Yapping Away: Poems by Joshua Seigal Press Reviews

Praise for I Don't Like Poetry;

If ... you still think, 'I don't like poetry,' this might be the collection for you: Joshua Seigal's very imaginative and wonderful collection. - The Times

When you read this book, the windows will burp and the grass will turn blue. That's how magic these poems are. - Michael Rosen

This is a great collection of genuinely funny poems and they're refreshingly original for older primary kids, reflecting their lives and interests. - BookTrust

If you loved this, you might like these...

All the Year Round
Mr. Men Little Miss Winter Wonderland
What the Elephant Heard
Mr. Men Little Miss The Christmas Contest

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472972743
Publication date: 19/08/2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury Education
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472972743
Publication date: 19th August 2021
Author: Joshua Seigal
Illustrator: Sarah Horne
Publisher: Bloomsbury Education
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 96 pages
Suitable for: 3+ readers, 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Humorous, Poetry, Poetry
Recommendations: Books of the Month

About Joshua Seigal

Joshua Seigal is a poet, performer and workshop leader who spends his time visiting schools, libraries and theatres around the country and beyond. He has taken critically-acclaimed poetry shows to the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, but usually ends up performing in front of his mirror, using a hairbrush as a microphone. 

More About Joshua Seigal

More Books By Joshua Seigal

Cover for Welcome to My Crazy Life by Joshua Seigal
Cover for I Bet I Can Make You Laugh by Joshua Seigal
Cover for Little Lemur Laughing by Joshua Seigal
View All Books By Joshua Seigal

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×