LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Book of Stolen Dreams

Written by David Farr

Write A Review

The Book of Stolen Dreams Review

Debuts of the Month Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Thrillers

Long journeys alone, powerful opponents and bravery in this fantasy thriller

October 2021 Debut of the Month

Farr is a master storyteller as evidenced by his phenomenally successful screenwriting and directing for the stage. This is evident in the confidence with which he controls all the elements in this complex, engrossing fantasy thriller – his first novel for a child audience. 

 

Rachel and Robert live in a dictatorship in Brava that makes life very drab and humdrum – as well as very dangerous. Their father is a librarian – and on Rachel’s birthday he involves them in the theft of an important and forbidden book from the precious books room in the city library. For that theft he is captured – leaving the siblings with their ailing mother. When she dies it is planned that they will be separated into different parts of the grim orphanage that exists.  

 

Can they escape that fate, find out the secret of the book they keep hidden and keep it out of evil dictator Malstain’s hands? Meeting a wonderful cast of characters along the way – some good, some bad – they set off on individual journeys across the land to escape Malstain’s reach. 

 

This is a rich story, full of adventure, peril, and huge bravery from the children and many of the other characters, as well as awful evil. It will keep readers engaged and probably reading long after bedtime and lights out!  Inspired by Farr’s great Aunt and Uncle’s escape from Nazi Germany this adventure is set in a timeless world that could be anywhere so that it will chime with children the world over. I hope Farr goes on to write more for children if this, his debut, is anything to go by.

Tricia Adams

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

The Book of Stolen Dreams Synopsis

An exhilarating, awe-inspiring debut from a master storyteller writing for children for the first time, perfect for fans of Philip Pullman, Katherine Rundell and Eva Ibbotson.

When Rachel and Robert are passed a stolen book by their librarian father, they have to go on the run and protect it at all costs. With their father captured and everyone hunting for the Book, they must uncover its secrets and track down the final, missing page. But the cruel and calculating Charles Malstain is on their trail. When the children discover the astonishing, magical truth about the Book, they resolve to do everything in their power to stop it falling into his hands. For if it does, he could rule forever. Step inside the pages of an immortal adventure and discover a truly unforgettable journey of wonder, courage and magic...

The Book of Stolen Dreams Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading4Kids expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

The Book of Stolen Dreams is great. I think that anyone who loves to read should definitely read this book! Full review

Amatullah Khatun (Age 11)

Dramatic, full of twists and turns and a determined main character - I really enjoyed this book and recommend it to any Year 5 and 6 children! Full review

Fanuel Joseph (Age 10)

When I was reading this book I felt like I was in the adventure with Robert and Rachel, the main characters, and I didn't want to stop reading it. This book is great for anyone who likes mysteries and suspense, and it appeals to both boys and girls. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who likes an adventure and a good plot. Full review

Lukas Stewart (Age 12)

Fantastic book full of mysteries. Full review

Prisha Yadav (Age 11)

Farr has flown into the world of Children’s fiction with flying colours, with this book full of action and secrets, tyrants and spies. Full review

Isla (Age 12)

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Soul Hunters
Monstrous Devices
Race to the Bottom of the Sea
The White Hare

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781801310840
Publication date: 30/09/2021
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781801310840
Publication date: 30th September 2021
Author: David Farr
Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 384 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, Thrillers
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, Reviewed by Children

About David Farr

David Farr is is one of the UK's leading screenwriters and directors for film, TV and theatre. In 2009, he was appointed Associate Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company, where his productions of The Winter's Tale, King Lear and The Homecoming all opened to critical acclaim. David is known for his work on Spooks and his 2016 BBC adaptation of The Night Manager, starring Hugh Laurie and Tom Hiddleston. Photo credit Susannah Baker-Smith   He completed his first feature film, Hanna, in 2009, and has since adapted it into a hugely successful series for Amazon Prime.

More About David Farr

More Books By David Farr

Cover for The Hunt by David Farr
Cover for Oxford AQA History for A Level: Stuart Britain and the Crisis of Monarchy 1603-1702 by David Farr
Cover for Major-General Thomas Harrison Millenarianism, Fifth Monarchism and the English Revolution 1616-1660 by David Farr
View All Books By David Farr

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×