LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Seed

Written by Caryl Lewis

Illustrated by George Ermos

Write A Review

Seed Review

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Funny

Seed is a funny, uplifting, big-hearted story by award-winner Caryl Lewis about the power of hope and imagination when you believe in the impossible. Perfect for readers of 8-12. Illustrated in black and white throughout by George Ermos.

LoveReading4Kids

Other Info

The author said of Seed: “It’s a book about the world’s infinite possibilities, and the practical and magical power of imagination. I hope it will gently encourage children and remind them that the world, despite recent events, is still a joyful and wondrous place to be.”

Seed Synopsis

Marty doesn't have much. Unlike his mum, who has billions of things: newspapers, holey shoes, rusty lawnmowers, broken picture frames – she keeps EVERYTHING! It's hard to leave the house. Marty does his best to look after her and wonders if anything will ever change.

 

But on Marty's birthday, Grandad, with a glint in his eye, gifts Marty a very special seed. Grandad hasn't been this excited since he invented the bum scratcher 2000 or thought he'd brewed wonder fuel from rhubarb leaves! The seed grows bigger and bigger, and launches Grandad, Marty and his best friend Gracie on an impossible, wondrous plan fuelled by love, hopes and dreams.

Perfect for fans of Ross Welford, Jenny Pearson and Lisa Thompson.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Frankie's World
The Christmas Carrolls
Tom Gates 19:Random Acts of Fun
Something I Said

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781529077667
Publication date: 12/05/2022
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781405275385
Publication date: 16/04/2015
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781529077667
Publication date: 12th May 2022
Author: Caryl Lewis
Illustrator: George Ermos
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Funny
Collections: 2022 Book Preview: Must Read Books To Look Forward To,

About Caryl Lewis

Caryl Lewis is a Welsh novelist. She has won Wales Book of the Year twice for her literary fiction and the Tir na n-Og Award for best children’s fiction in 2004 and 2015 . Her novel Martha, Jac A Sianco was adapted for film and won 6 Welsh BAFTAS and the Spirit of the Festival Award at the 2010 Celtic Media Festival. She is on the Welsh curriculum and is a successful screenwriter (working on BBC/S4C thrillers Hinterland and Hidden). Seed is her debut English novel for readers of 8+. She lives with her family on a farm near Aberystwyth in Wales.

More About Caryl Lewis

More Books By Caryl Lewis

Cover for Drift by Caryl Lewis
Cover for Martha, Jack & Shanco by Caryl Lewis
Cover for The Jeweller by Caryl Lewis
View All Books By Caryl Lewis

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×