LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Digger and Me

Written by Ros Roberts

Write A Review

Digger and Me Review

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 9+ readers Stories about Animals Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

Shortlisted for The Branford Boase Award 2022

This warm-hearted story explores the importance of family, love, friendship and finding ways to communicate emotions and fears. 11-year-old James has a lot to deal with; his parents have split up and both have new partners, his Uncle Bobby has died of cancer, and he is starting a new school. The constant in James’ life is his beloved dog Digger, his support through challenging times, so how will he cope when Digger falls ill?

The judges for The Branford Boase Award commented: ‘has a very strong emotional punch’; ‘full of tiny observations which are super-effective’; ‘poignant and moving’.

LoveReading4Kids

Digger and Me Synopsis

Where do I feel at home? When I'm sitting with my dog, Digger.

James splits his life between his mum's and his dad's houses. It's far from perfect. Especially now Dad doesn't have time for bike rides with him any more and Mum's always with her new boyfriend.

The constant is Digger, his dog and best friend. He's the glue that holds the two halves of James's life together. So when James finds a lump on Digger's leg, everything changes. Digger is the one he can talk to about anything. But when it's Digger he needs to talk about, where can he turn?

A touching story about family, friendship and finding your voice, for readers of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson and I, Cosmo.

Digger and Me Press Reviews

A wonderful tale, told with heart, hope and a shiny wet nose. -- Gill Lewis, author of Swan Song

A really special book.  -- Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War

A story full of humanity.  -- - Cath Howe, author of Ella on the Outside

Warm, funny, kind, heartbreaking in places, but most of all just so vivid. It'll stay with me for ages!  -- Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild

Funny, touching and deeply true, it's a story about the 'red thread' that binds a family together through illness and change, and the love of a dog.  -- Sinead O'Hart, author of The Eye of the North

A simply perfect book about a boy and his dog navigating a painfully well-observed imperfect situation... Funny and warm and ultimately leaves a glow.  -- Perdita Cargill, author of Waiting for Callback

Heartbreakingly brilliant! Warm, funny, sad, tender, with poetry that punches your heart.  -- Tamsin Winter, author of Being Miss Nobody

A gorgeous uplifting story about dogs, step-families and how they come in all shapes and sizes, and the difference a great teacher can make.  -- Rhian Ivory, author of The Boy Who Drew the Future

The story of a young boy who navigates his way through the tricky territory of family changes and new relationships with his beloved pet dog. A masterpiece in observation. Tender, humorous, important.  -- Rachel Delahaye, author of Mort the Meek

A truly lovely book. My heart is thoroughly warmed!  -- Sharon Gosling, author of The House of Hidden Wonders

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Lost Whale
The Last Bear
Julia and the Shark
October, October

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781788953207
Publication date: 13/05/2021
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788953207
Publication date: 13th May 2021
Author: Ros Roberts
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 256 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Animals, Personal Social Health Economic

About Ros Roberts

Ros Roberts grew up when phones were attached to the wall by wiggly wires and music was taped on to cassettes. Amazing teachers encouraged her love of writing, setting her daily challenges to create poems to read to the class. She became a teacher herself; in her own classroom, free writing was a daily necessity and she felt privileged to watch the children's progress when words flowed without boundaries. Ros loves the rain, eating brunch, tennis and TV. She loves dogs too - Texi, their beautiful Bernese mountain dog, inspired her debut book DIGGER AND ME. Ros and her family ...

More About Ros Roberts

More Books By Ros Roberts

Cover for Every Cloud by Ros Roberts
View All Books By Ros Roberts

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×