LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

When Our Worlds Collided

Written by Danielle Jawando

Write A Review

When Our Worlds Collided Review

Featured Books for 13+ readers Featured Books for Young Adults Gritty Reads Romance / Relationship Stories Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

A powerful yet tender coming of age novel that unflinchingly tackles racism in justice and education

Following her highly acclaimed debut novel, And The Stars Were Burning Brightly, we have another powerful story depicting an authentic story of young lives impacted upon by the institutional and everyday racism experienced here in the UK; which makes it an even more important and challenging read.

Narrated by three very different teenagers brought together by a moment of terrible violence when they witness a stabbing and for whom the overwhelming impact of this experience is exacerbated by what they are forced to confront.

For rich and privileged Jackson at an exclusive school, the casual assumption of his classmates and potential girlfriend that the crime is gang related and the victim blamed, together with police failures and the subsequent biased media coverage, really opens his eyes and draws him closer to Chantelle and Marc.

They live in Manchester’s Moss Side and attend the same school as the victim, but even there, the school will not challenge this biased view and it is where we see Chantelle struggle to overcome negative teacher assumptions about her abilities.

When Jackson becomes a victim too, we see the ultimate failure of the justice system. But this is not just an angry novel, although it should indeed spark anger and awareness of white privilege, it is a nuanced portrayal of three individuals and those around them and emphasises the importance of family and friendship. Marc, after a life in care, finds his family with these friends and both he and Chantelle gain confidence that they can make something of themselves.

The touching, gentle romance between Chantelle and Jackson and the strength of his own family ties gives him and the reader hope that his life has not been ruined by injustice. An absolute must have for schools.

Joy Court

When Our Worlds Collided Synopsis

A powerful coming-of-age story about chance encounters, injustice and how the choices that we make can completely change our future.

The second YA novel from the critically acclaimed Danielle Jawando, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Gayle Foreman, Jennifer Niven and Nikesh Shukla.

When fourteen-year-old Shaq is stabbed outside of a busy shopping centre in Manchester, three teenagers from very different walks of life are unexpectedly brought together. What follows flips their worlds upside down and makes Chantelle, Jackson, and Marc question the deep-rooted prejudice and racism that exists within the police, the media, and the rest of society. 

When Our Worlds Collided Press Reviews

'Jawando's writing is incredibly raw and real; I felt completely immersed' Alice Oseman 

Praise for And the Stars Were Burning Brightly:

'An outstanding and compassionate debut' Patrice Lawrence 'An utter page turner from a storming new talent. Passionate, committed and shines a ray of light into the darkest places - the YA novel of 2020!' Melvin Burgess

'One of the brightest up and coming stars of the YA world' Alex Wheatle

If you loved this, you might like these...

29 Locks
After the Rain
Guard your Heart
The World Between Us

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471178795
Publication date: 31/03/2022
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471178795
Publication date: 31st March 2022
Author: Danielle Jawando
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers, YA readers
Genres: Gritty Reads, Romance / Relationship Stories, Personal Social Health Economic
Collections: 2022 Book Preview: Must Read Books To Look Forward To,

About Danielle Jawando

Born in Manchester, Danielle Jawando’s previous publications and broadcasting credits have included a short story Paradise 703, which was published by DeadInk in 2012 (longlisted for the Finishing Line Press Award in 2011). She has also had several short plays performed in Manchester and London. In 2015, she worked on Coronation Street as a storyline writer and in 2017, her short story The Deerstalker was selected as one of the six finalists for the We Need Diverse Books short story competition. Her first nonfiction book for children (about the life of Maya Angelou) was published by Laurence King in 2019. Her debut novel And ...

More About Danielle Jawando

More Books By Danielle Jawando

Cover for And the Stars Were Burning Brightly by Danielle Jawando
Cover for Maya Angelou - Little Guides to Great Lives by Danielle Jawando
View All Books By Danielle Jawando

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×