Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Mortal Chaos: Speed Freaks

Written by Matt Dickinson

Adventure Stories Books of the Month Featured Books for 11+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Mortal Chaos: Speed Freaks

One beat of a butterfly's wings is all it takes to set in motion a chain of events, over the course of one day, which will change people's lives - and end people's lives. From the father and son diving in Hawaii to the teenagers surfing the bullet train...from the kidnapped girl in Rio to a bear attack in Japan...the chaos knows no bounds. The action is non-stop in this tense and compelling adventure.

You can check out some sensational reviews for the Mortal Chaos series by clicking here.


Mortal Chaos: Speed Freaks Synopsis

Butterfly effect: The scientific theory that a single occurence, no matter how small, can change the course of the universe forever. A father and son diving off the coast of Hawaii, with the sharks closing in. A scientist in a forest under attack from a savage bear. A young girl who has been kidnapped by drug dealers in Rio. The teenagers surfing on top of a speeding bullet train. For them, and many others, things will never be the same again. Some will live. Many will die. All are connected.

There are three books in the Mortal Chaos Series...

Mortal Chaos - Published January 2012

Mortal Chaos: Deep Oblivion - Published Autumn 2012

Mortal Chaos: Speed Freaks - out January 2013

For more information visit




Mortal Chaos: Speed Freaks Press Reviews

Praise for Mortal Chaos: 'action-packed crackers kids will fly through

'Thrilling and thoughful stuff for a 21st-century reader.'

'A pacy and thrilling read building to a dramatic finale. An imaginative page turner'

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Invisible Boy
The Short Knife
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix – Slytherin Edition

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192757142
Publication date: 03/01/2013
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192757142
Publication date: 3rd January 2013
Author: Matt Dickinson
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories
Recommendations: Books of the Month, eBooks

About Matt Dickinson

Matt Dickinson is an award-winning writer and filmmaker with a passion for climbing and adventure. During his filmmaking career he has worked as a director/cameraman for National Geographic television, the Discovery Channel, the BBC and Channel 4. His film projects have taken him to Antarctica, Africa and the Himalaya, often in the company of the world’s leading climbers and expeditioners. His most notable film success was ‘Summit Fever’ in which Matt reached the summit of Everest via the treacherous North Face. His book The Death Zone tells the true story of that ascent and ...

More About Matt Dickinson

More Books By Matt Dickinson

Cover for Popcorn-Eating Squirrels Go Nuts on Everest by Matt Dickinson
Cover for Lie Kill Walk Away by Matt Dickinson
Cover for North Face by Matt Dickinson
View All Books By Matt Dickinson

Share this book