Circus of Thieves and the Raffle of Doom

Written by William Sutcliffe

Illustrated by David Tazzyman

Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction

LoveReading View on Circus of Thieves and the Raffle of Doom

One of our Books of the Year 2014   A funny and fast-paced adventure with a brilliant cast of eccentric characters and a great setting in a circus. Adventurous Hannah lives in a very, very dull village with parents who think safety comes before excitement. When she meets Billy Shanks and his not altogether agreeable camel Narcissus she begins an adventure that has all the excitement she needs! Can Hannah and Billy stop the dastardly rogue circus owner before his horrible plan to rob the village can be completed? A circus is a place for all kinds of very clever tricks. David Tazzyman’s illustrations capture the whole perfectly.

Circus of Thieves and the Raffle of Doom Synopsis

Full of fun, adventure and wacky characters, William Sutcliffe's debut children's novel - brought to life by the energetic illustrations of David Tazzyman - is a must for fans of Andy Stanton, David Walliams and Roald Dahl.

Hannah's life is boring, boring, boring! Then Armitage Shank's Impossible Circus comes to town and Hannah's world is turned on its head when she meets Billy Shank, his astonishing camel, Narcissus, and a host of other bizarrely brilliant members of the circus. But all is not as it seems; Armitage Shank, evil ringmaster and Billy's surrogate father, has a dastardly plan that could end in catastrophe for Hannah's dull little village and it's up to Hannah and Billy to stop his stinking scheme before it's too late…

A note William Sutcliffe about writing this book, his first novel for younger children   “One of the great pleasures in life is reading bedtime stories to your children. Reading a story that makes your child laugh out loud is truly a thrill. I had been toying with the idea of trying to write a funny book for children for several years, but one particular evening, listening to my son guffaw with delight at Mr Gum, I knew I had to stop daydreaming about it, and start writing.  Circus of Thieves and the Raffle of Doom is the result. It is my seventh book, but in some ways it felt like my first. Never before has the act of writing given me such pure unalloyed pleasure.”

Circus of Thieves and the Raffle of Doom Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title.

  • Jenny Bridgeman, age 9 - 'How can a raffle be doomed? Read on and discover a hilarious adventure, sinister characters, plot twists and derring do!' Read full review >
  • Adi Mehta, age 8 - 'This exciting adventure story leads you to false trails and you get glued to this fantastic adventure.' Read full review >
  • Alexander Bisland, age 8 - 'I always wanted to read on and it had lots of footnotes that I wanted to read. The footnotes had extra information about the story and they explained the words used in the book.' Read full review >
  • Dylan Sweet, age 10 - 'This is a brilliant book that proves some circuses are not all what they seem...I like this book because the characters are funny with all sorts of personalities, and the plot is very imaginative.' Read full review >
  • Eloise Mae Clarkson, age 11 - 'I quite liked this book I would probably give it three out of five stars. I liked how it was funny but serious at the same time.' Read full review >
  • Katie Johnson, age 10 - 'I found this book very funny and liked the notes and comments on several words and phrases - some were absolutely hilarious!' Read full review >
  • Alina Wraith, age 9 - 'I love everything about this book.  I screamed in frustration when this book ended...I definitely want to read the next book so I hope William Sutcliffe hurries up and writes it!' Read full review >
  • Sophie Bridges, age 11 - 'I think Circus of Thieves by William Sutcliffe was good because it was a circus with animals and it was very entertaining.' Read full review >
  • Ewan young, age 11 - 'Hannah is a girl whose life is turned upside-down by the arrival of the circus. A great funny book!' Read full review >
  • Jemma Rubens, age 10 - 'I did expect it to be a little more grown up in terms of vocabulary and plot...I like how it is laid out and the interesting different text formats.' Read full review >
  • Liam Wilson, age 9 - 'This book is the most outrageously, audaciously, courageously, but not mendaciously, funny book ever.' Read full review >

Circus of Thieves and the Raffle of Doom Press Reviews

 

If you loved this, you might like these...

Hamish and the Terrible Terrible Christmas and Other Stories
My Mum Tracy Beaker
The Restless Girls
The Lost Diary of Sami Star

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781471120237
Publication date: 27/03/2014
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781471120237
Publication date: 27th March 2014
Author: William Sutcliffe
Illustrator: David Tazzyman
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Childrens Books an imprint of Simon & Schuster Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 224 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About William Sutcliffe

William Sutcliffe is the author of five adult novels, including the international bestseller, Are You Experienced? His first novel for Young Adults, The Wall, was published in 2013 to much critical acclaim, including being shortlisted for the Guardian Fiction Prize. Circus of Thieves is his first novel for younger children. William lives in Edinburgh with his wife and three children.

More About William Sutcliffe

More Books By William Sutcliffe

Cover for We See Everything by William Sutcliffe
Cover for We See Everything by William Sutcliffe
Cover for Concentr8 by William Sutcliffe
View All Books By William Sutcliffe

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.