10% off all books and free delivery over £40
Buy from our bookstore and 25% of the cover price will be given to a school of your choice to buy more books. *15% of eBooks.

The Deep Blue Between

"Heartfelt historical novel about sisters separated by European imperialism - and a deep blue ocean that also connects them"

View All Editions

£9.99 £8.99

In Stock. Same day dispatch on orders before 3pm.

Add To Wishlist
Write A Review Read An Extract

LoveReading4Kids Says

LoveReading4Kids Says

November 2020 Book of the Month

Ayesha Harruna Attah’s The Deep Blue Between, her debut for younger readers, is a rich historical, dual-narrative story of the unbreakable bonds of sisterhood. With a steady, captivating style, it’s rich in details of everyday life in late-nineteenth-century West Africa and Brazil, and the broader cultural landscapes of the Gold Coast and South America. It’s a thoughtful - and thought-provoking - novel, threaded with love, hope and determination.

 

“In 1892, when I was ten, I was forced to live on a land where the trees grew so close together, they sucked out my voice.” So Hassana sets the scene at the start of her story. Following a raid on her home, she’s been separated from her twin sister, Husseina, but senses they’ll find one another again. Even more so when she finds the protection of a stranger: “I was learning things from Richard that I was sure would make it easier to find Husseina. Richard had been in what he called “the Gold Coast” to study plants to find out what could be used to treat sicknesses. He was going to put everything he found in a book.” But the sisters’ paths take hugely divergent turns. While Hassana makes it to Accra, Husseina flees to Brazil, way across the deep blue ocean they both dream of.

 

Fans of Tomi Adeyemi's Children of Blood and Bone will relish reading about West African religion and culture in this context, and it’s also highly recommended for readers who love Jamila Gavin’s elegant, character-driven historic fiction. It provides vital insights into the impacts of European imperialism, and the connections between Africans and Brazilians of African descent, through a distinctly moving human story. 

Joanne Owen

Books of the Month

Find This Book In

Suitable For:
Other Genres:
Recommendations:

About

Author

More

Collections Featuring This Book

You Might Also Like...

11+ readers

Cactus Kid and the Battle for Star Rock Mountain

Emmanuel Guerrero

Paperback

Pre-order. 7th March 2024

£9.89 £10.99

11+ readers

On Silver Tides

Sylvia Bishop

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99

11+ readers

Farm Boy

Michael Morpurgo

Paperback

In Stock

£7.19 £7.99

11+ readers

Asterix: Asterix and the White Iris

FabCaro

Hardback

In Stock

£10.79 £11.99

11+ readers

Girls

Annet Schaap

Hardback

In Stock

£11.69 £12.99

11+ readers

The Door of No Return

Kwame Alexander

Paperback

In Stock

£8.09 £8.99