LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sheena Dempsey - Illustrator

About the Illustrator

 

Sheena Dempsey is a children's illustrator and picture book author from Cork. She has illustrated many books including Dave Pigeon written by Swapna Haddow (Faber & Faber, 2016) which was shortlisted for the Sainsbury's Book Award. Sheena now lives in London with her partner and her retired racing greyhound. She loves to write and draw characters that are bursting with fun, humour and mischief.

Featured books by Sheena Dempsey

Dave Pigeon (Racer!)

Dave Pigeon (Racer!)

5+ readers 7+ readers

Author: Swapna Haddow Format: Paperback Release Date: 18/01/2018

Dave Pigeon and his best friend Skipper were living happily in the Human Lady's house, but now they're travelling in a box to Pawsville Vets ... maybe Dave will finally get his broken wing fixed. The pet shop is full of new friends... Jet the dog, Cricket Ball Face the hamster... and with friendship comes a bit of healthy competition, and what could be better that a race for a racing pigeon? But the only animal who thinks Dave is capable of going up against the infamous Mickey Lightning is Dave himself.

ebook of the month

Other books by Sheena Dempsey

Take Five

Take Five

Author: Niall Breslin Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2019

Following the success of his first picture book, The Magic Moment, musician and mindfulness expert Niall Breslin (Bressie) is back with another important life lesson for young children, beautifully brought to life by illustrator Sheena Dempsey. When Freddie sees all the presents his friend Ben gets for his birthday, he feels a bit sad ... Nana teaches Freddie how to be thankful for everything he has - together they count all the wonderful things in their lives. This gratitude trick is a helpful technique for dealing with the uncomfortable and often confusing feelings of jealousy that children inevitably encounter. Praise for The Magic Moment, by the same author `The sort of book that could be genuinely helpful to an anxious child' THE IRISH TIMES `Teaches children a really simple and effective mindfulness technique for managing big feelings' DR MALIE COYNE `A book with an important message' IRISH INDEPENDENT

Fred: Wizard in Training

Fred: Wizard in Training

Author: Simon Philip Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2019

Originally published as Wizard Vs Lizard, get ready for a laugh-out-loud magical adventure from award-winning author Simon Philip and Sheena Dempsey, illustrator of the much-loved Dave Pigeon series! Fred may look ordinary, but sometimes people who look ordinary turn out to be not very ordinary at all ... because it just so happens that Fred is a Wizard! Sounds pretty great, right? Except that Fred is absolutely, completely, mind-boggingly TERRIBLE at magic. At school, he's stuck in a class of wizards half his age, feeling like a twit among tots. At home, he's endlessly teased by his siblings and always a disappointment to his parents. All Fred wants is to become a better wizard.... So when he hears about a competition to meet Merlin (yes, THE Merlin!) Fred knows it's his one chance to prove to his family that he's not the worst wizard in town. The catch? To win the competition he has to capture the tail of a terrifying, fire-breathing lizard...

Wizard vs. Lizard

Wizard vs. Lizard

Author: Simon Philip Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/02/2019

Fred may look ordinary, but sometimes people who look ordinary turn out to be not very ordinary at all ... because it just so happens that Fred is a Wizard! Sounds pretty great, right? Except that Fred is absolutely, completely, mind-boggingly TERRIBLE at magic. At school, he's stuck in a class of wizards half his age, feeling like a twit among tots. At home, he's endlessly teased by his siblings and always a disappointment to his parents. All Fred wants is to become a better wizard.... So when he hears about a competition to meet Merlin(yes, THE Merlin!) Fred knows it's his one chance to prove to his family that he's not the worst wizard in town. The catch? To win the competition he has to capture the tail of a terrifying, fire-breathing lizard... From Simon Philip, author of You Must Bring a Hat and I Really Want the Cake, and Sheena Dempsey, illustrator of Dave Pigeon, comes a tale full of magic and fun.

The Magic Moment

The Magic Moment

Author: Niall Breslin Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/10/2018

The Magic Moment is a picture book that helps children explore difficult emotions and face their fears. Written by Niall Breslin (Bressie) and illustrated by Sheena Dempsey, here young readers will meet Freddie. Freddie is excited about his first trip to the swimming pool. But when he gets there, he finds it scary. So scary in fact, that he just wants to go home.... Later that evening, Nana teaches him a secret trick. It's called the Magic Moment Trick and it gives you superpowers when you're facing something scary. You simply close your eyes and think of your happiest memory and squeeze your finger and thumb together. The charming story, containing an easy mindfulness technique, helps children return to the present moment. The Magic Moment is a must for parents or anyone working with children who wants to help them feel the fear and jump in anyway.

The Dodo Made Me Do It

The Dodo Made Me Do It

Author: Jo Simmons Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/08/2018

SUMMER HOLIDAYS = BORING! And Danny's dreading another one at his gran's. He's desperate for action, fun and adventure! And this year - amazingly and unbelievably - he gets it all, when he finds a dodo on a tiny island. A what? Yes! This is going to be the wildest summer holiday ever! (It might even be more than he can handle.) Are you in? A hilarious tale of wish fulfilment gone wrong that every child will relate to - perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart, My Brother Is a Superhero and David Baddiel's The Parent Agency.

Hopscotch Twisty Tales: The Magic Pudding Pot

Hopscotch Twisty Tales: The Magic Pudding Pot

Author: Kay Woodward Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/09/2016

Mum loves to dish up vegetables for dinner, but the little girl is sick of them! One day the saucepan breaks and the little girl goes off to buy a new one. That's when she discovers the magic pudding pot... Hopscotch Twisty Tales combine carefully controlled text levels and word counts with highly entertaining and original stories, perfect for 5-7 year olds starting to read independently.

Hopscotch Twisty Tales: The Magic Pudding Pot

Hopscotch Twisty Tales: The Magic Pudding Pot

Author: Kay Woodward Format: Hardback Release Date: 12/05/2016

Mum loves to dish up vegetables for dinner, but the little girl is sick of them! One day the saucepan breaks and the little girl goes off to buy a new one. That's when she discovers the magic pudding pot... Hopscotch Twisty Tales combine carefully controlled text levels and word counts with highly entertaining and original stories, perfect for 5-7 year olds starting to read independently.

Pucker Power The Super-Powered Superpug

Pucker Power The Super-Powered Superpug

Author: Kevin Stevens Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/04/2015

Sequel to the very successful parodic story about a family of disastrous superheroes, The Powers, this tale centres on the adventures of Pucker, the Power family's mutt of a pug-dog. After he is dognapped, along with a beautiful French poodle, the Powers must follow the clues through Dublin, Paris and St Petersburg to bring their beloved pup back home. Supported by website www.readthepowers.com Excellent and playful b/w illustrations Highly acclaimed author

Cinderella's Big Day

Cinderella's Big Day

Author: Katie Cotton Format: Hardback Release Date: 01/10/2014

The prince has a problem: Cinderella's wedding ring is missing! He writes to the King to ask for help, who writes to the Ugly Sisters (who he thinks have taken it), who are so angry at the accusation they write to a witch, asking her to spoil Cinders' wedding...Will the big day end in disaster? Find out as the story unfolds through letters that you can open by lifting the flap of the envelope.

Bye-Bye Baby Brother!

Bye-Bye Baby Brother!

Author: Sheena Dempsey Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2014

From a fresh new Irish talent comes a picture book about new babies, busy mums and a little girl with a very BIG imagination! Ruby loves nothing more than playing, especially with Mum. But Mum is always so busy with Oliver, Ruby's little baby brother, and Ruby is tired of waiting. She's already looked at TONS of books, painted SO MANY pictures and she's even dressed her dog Rory in a very fetching stripy jumper. Babies are so boring. Ruby stomps out into the garden and there she begins to wonder ... what if she could magic Oliver away? With a delicious blend of knowing observations and truly funny art, Sheena Dempsey's very first picture book perfectly captures the anxieties and frustration of having a new sibling.

The Powers

The Powers

Author: Kevin Stevens Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2013

Meet the Powers: the not-so-super superheroes. Despite their amazing talents, the Powers are not very good at controlling them ... Poor Suzie - Dad has set the kitchen on fire again and Mum has turned the rain on indoors to douse the flames. JP has flown straight into a wall, and the dog, Pucker, is a whirlwind of paws and ears and noisy howls. A perfectly-paced adventure story featuring a colourful and genuinely funny family, The Powers will entertain and charm young readers. Sure to appeal to fans of The Incredibles films.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×