LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Nicola O'Byrne - Illustrator

Featured books by Nicola O'Byrne

Other books by Nicola O'Byrne

Poo! Is That You?

Poo! Is That You?

Author: Clare Helen Welsh Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/06/2020

Lenny the Lemur is on holiday in the Amazon rainforest. He's just settling down for a nice snooze, when a very yucky smell wafts past . . .Poo-ie! What or who could it be? Lenny sets off to track down the source of the nasty niff . . . Along the way, he meets lots of stinky creatures, finding out about the different smells they make and why. Learn about sloths, skunks, stinkbugs and more in the whiff-tastic Poo! Is That You? written by Clare Helen Welsh and illustrated by Nicola O'Byrne. Cleverly interweaving facts throughout, it also contains an information page at the back of the book, with a photo of each animal.

What the Animals Saw

What the Animals Saw

Author: Louise Greig Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/04/2020

ILLUSTRATED BY WATERSTONES PRIZEWINNER, NICOLA O'BYRNE What if you could see through the eyes of an animal? Dive, splash, soar and prowl through the book as you see the world through the eyes of some of the world's most amazing animals. Take in the view as you soar like an eagle, gaze through the eyes of a prowling tiger, become part of a protective elephant herd, and much, much more. This intimate look at the world through the eyes of some of the world's most amazing creatures will take you from the snowy lands of Antartica to the heat of an African desert. Perfect for children aged 3 years and up, this is a gentle introduction to nature which will encourage questions and open up discussions. Discover the world of animals in a whole new light.

Dear Santasaur (PB)

Dear Santasaur (PB)

Author: Chae Strathie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Will Santa deliver to dinosaurs? Join the mighty T.Rex on a Christmas adventure in this Santa-stic tale about a little boy and his favourite dinosaur. This T.Rex-cellent tale of friendship is packed with letters and cards to read. Max and his favourite T. Rex are back with a bang in this gorgeous follow-up to DEAR DINOSAUR, and DEAR DINOSAUR: T-REX ON TOUR. Dinosaur fans will love this ROARSOME picture book full of detail and facts to discover.

Dear Dinosaur: T. Rex on Tour

Dear Dinosaur: T. Rex on Tour

Author: Chae Strathie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/03/2018

Max and his favourite T. Rex are back with a bang in this gorgeous follow-up to DEAR DINOSAUR. When Max visits his friend, the mighty T.Rex, at the museum, he's disappointed to learn that T.Rex is no longer there. Instead, he's halfway around the globe on a tour of the world. Max decides to write his missing friend a letter and, once again, his faithful friend writes back - this time from locations all across the globe. Dinosaur fans will love this interactive picture book with fold-out letters and cards to open and dinosaur facts to discover.

Dread Cat

Dread Cat

Author: Michael Rosen Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/07/2017

Once there was a very fierce cat. Not just fierce: totally, terrifyingly, stupendously fierce. Everyone was afraid of this cat. Her name was Dread and everyone dreaded Dread Cat. But then Dread Cat started to run out of luck catching mice. She hadn't caught any for ages. So she announced that she was giving up chasing mice and promised to never again hunt another mouse. The war was over. But was it really? High quality cream paper and a special easy to read font ensure a smooth read for all.

Dear Dinosaur

Dear Dinosaur

Author: Chae Strathie Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/01/2017

After a trip to the museum, Max writes a letter to his favourite dinosaur, the mighty T. Rex - and the T. Rex writes back! As Max and T. Rex learn about each other's lives, a very unusual friendship develops in this funny and touching story from an award-winning duo. Dinosaur fans will love this interactive picture book with letters and cards to open, and dinosaur facts to discover along the way.

The Great Dragon Bake Off

The Great Dragon Bake Off

Author: Nicola O'Byrne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/07/2016

At the Ferocious Dragon Academy, dragons-in-training learn the arts of bone crunching and teeth sharpening. But there is one dragon who harbours a passion for a most undragon-like pastime . . . Meet Flamie Oliver. To look at, Flamie is as terrifying as a dragon can get. But behind closed doors, Flamie is . . . a stupendously spectacular Star Baker! That's right - choux, rough, salty, sweet and puff - Flamie loves it all. In fact, he loves baking so much that his studies at the Ferocious Dragon Academy are starting to suffer, and there's a chance he won't graduate! Flamie's going to need a real showstopper to get out of this one. On your marks, get set . . . BAKE! Fabulously funny and perfect for fans of BBCs Great British Bake Off

The Last Book Before Bedtime

The Last Book Before Bedtime

Author: Nicola O'Byrne Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 14/01/2016

Everyone knows that the very last story before bed is the best story of all. But the problem is, everyone wants to be in that very last story! A familiar fairy tale is turned topsy-turvy when Cinderella hijacks the story of The Three Little Pigs, then Little Red Riding Hood jumps in, adamant that her story is better because it's full of danger. And then the Big Bad Wolf turns up too! But disaster strikes! Uh-oh! What will they do? The reader is still awake and needs a story! The characters make up their own story, of course, and one with enough funniness, romance, danger AND cake (obviously) to keep everyone happy.

The Last Book Before Bedtime

The Last Book Before Bedtime

3+ readers

Author: Nicola O'Byrne Format: Hardback Release Date: 04/01/2016

A familiar fairy tale is turned topsy-turvy when Cinderella hijacks the story of The Three Little Pigs, then Little Red Riding Hood jumps in, adamant that her story is better because it's full of danger. And then the Big Bad Wolf turns up too! But disaster strikes! Uh-oh! What will they do? The reader is still awake and needs a story! The characters make up their own story, of course, and one with enough funniness, romance, danger AND cake (obviously) to keep everyone happy.

Open Very Carefully

Open Very Carefully

Author: Nosy Crow Format: Board book Release Date: 03/09/2015

What would you do if you were settling down for a quiet bedtime story and you realised that a crocodile had fallen into your storybook and was - not to put too fine a point on it - furious? Would you slam that book shut and cram it in the bookshelf for evermore, or would you be brave enough to peek? This very grumpy crocodile has ended up in totally the wrong book, so he proceeds to eat his way out, in this fantastic debut picture book. He tries to escape a storybook that is all wrong for him, but is great fun for the reader!

My Little Star

My Little Star

Author: Mark Sperring Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/10/2014

When the day is done and sleep draws near, When the moon's aglow and stars appear. I'll whisper something crystal clear - Words meant just for you to hear. As nighttime falls and the moon starts to shine, parents and children across the world snuggle up together. So cuddle close, because it's time for a bedtime story. With a gentle message and beautifully tender illustrations, My Little Star is the perfect way to end the day with your own little star.

How to Make a Heron Happy

How to Make a Heron Happy

Author: Lari Don Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/04/2011

Hamish is worried about the heron in the park. It always looks sad and grumpy, with its hunched-up shoulders and long frowning eyebrows. So Hamish decides to cheer it up: first he brings bread crusts and biscuit crumbs to the park. But the heron still looks grumpy. Next he brings his family to tidy up the heron's polluted pond. But the heron still looks grumpy. Then he brings his class to plant flowers around the pond. But the heron still looks grumpy. Finally he brings everyone he knows to have a party for the heron. But the heron still looks grumpy. Hamish looks at the heron and wonders: maybe the heron isn't unhappy after all? Each page of this delightful story from popular children's author and storyteller, Lari Don, is brought to life with vibrant illustrations. Colour and activity build up as the book progresses and the drab inner-city park is brought to life.

Illustrator Info

Twitter Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Twitter updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more

Facebook Updates

If this is your illustrator page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading4Kids

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×