This content is provided by Lovereading4kids.co.uk
Safari Pug by Laura James
  

Safari Pug

Laura James

Part of the The Adventures of Pug Series
5+ readers   7+ readers   If They Like...They'll Love   

The Lovereading4Kids comment

When pug is woken suddenly in the middle of the night by Lady Miranda shouting about lions, he begins to think they mustn’t be very nice and a teeny bit scary. However, Lady Miranda believes the only way to overcome a fear is to stare it straight in the face and so the next day they go to the local safari park. Unfortunately the ticket lady doesn’t believe a sedan chair to be the safest vehicle to take through the lion enclosure, no matter how fast footman Will and footman Liam are! And so they decide to visit some slightly less dangerous animals instead: animals such as penguins, meerkats, sloths, monkeys and even a young lion cub called Florence! But someone with a sinister plan to steal the lion cub is also visiting and Pug finds himself IN the lion enclosure itself, trying to help his new friend, Florence escape their captor’s evil clutches. It would seem however that the big lions are rather less friendly than Florence, but before long Lady Miranda is on her way to rescue her beloved Pug.

A wonderfully humorous story with engaging two colour illustrations. This third title in The Adventures of Pug series is perfect for dog lovers and a brilliant introduction to chapter books for young readers. ~ Shelley Fallows - You can also find Shelley here.

Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Captain Pug. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Amy Mitchell, age 8 - 'Having spent many years struggling to get my daughter to read, Laura James has nailed it. Two days and the book was read cover to cover.'
  • Huxley Glen, age 5 - 'A great book featuring a cute character. Easy to read and full of fun. I laughed a lot while reading this book. I can't wait to start what Captain Pug gets up to next.'
  • Abi Zinkin, age 6 - 'This was so gripping that I had to read it all in one sitting. The pictures made me laugh out loud and it made me feel happy.'
  • Rebecca Urquhart, age 6 - 'The illustrations were colourful and they helped me know what is going to happen in the story. I think girls and boys who are 5 and 6 would like the book.'
  • Robyn Chorley, age 7 - 'Robyn devoured this book. She read it to herself over two evenings and declared it to be the 'best book ever'.'
  • Finn Wade, age 9  - 'Fantastic book, I loved reading this it was quite an easy read with lots of humour.'
  • Amatullah Khatun, age 6 - 'This lovely chapter book is beautifully illustrated with bright colours. The story is funny and had Amatullah in giggles.'
  • Elsa Kearsey, age 6 - 'This is a fantastically funny book, great for 6+ years but would recommend it to adults too!'
  • Emma Radford and Sam, age 5 - '‘Captain Pug’ made us giggle!..It's a great transition from picture books to slightly longer novels.'
  • Connor Lobban, age 7 - 'This is a cute and funny book for boys or girls...It is an easy to read book and I can't wait to read the next one'
  • Sam Briggs, age 6 - 'I loved the book! It was funny, full of suspense, silly and happy. I love pugs!'
  • Trudy Van Rooij, age 5 ' I thought the book was really great and funny too.'

Synopsis

Safari Pug by Laura James

Meet the brilliant, the wonderful, the courageous ... Safari Pug! The third book in a joyful illustrated series for fans of Claude and Squishy McFluff. When Pug and Lady Miranda have a scary run-in with a lion one night (it might be hiding under the bed), Lady M decides Pug needs to face his fears and go on safari. Pug goes a bit wobbly when he finds out he'll be coming nose to nose with Florence, the rare white lion cub, but he soon realises that lions may not be the most dangerous thing in the wildlife park ...

Reviews

Praise for Captain Pug;

Gorgeous funny young fiction Bookseller

Highly entertaining, wittily illustrated and fun to read alone Julia Eccleshare, LoveReading4Kids

[A] wonderful, very funny story ... My little boy was laughing out loud every chapter as Pug becomes an accidental adventurer Home by Teatime

About the Author

Laura James

Laura James’ love of storytelling began at an early age and led her to undertake a degree in Film Studies and an MA in Writing for Young People at Bath Spa University. The Adventures of Pug are based on the antics of her own very silly dogs, Brian and Florence. Together the three of them live in a tiny cottage just outside of Bath where they have lots of adventures and eat lots of jam tarts – all in the name of research of course! Laura’s first book, Captain Pug, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2017.

Author photo © Red Rabbit Photography

More books by this author
Author 'Like for Like' recommendations

Loading similar books...

Other Formats

Book Info

Format

Paperback
112 pages

Author

Laura James
More books by Laura James

Author's Website

laurajamesauthor.com/

Author's Facebook Latest

Publisher

Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC

Publication date

1st November 2017

ISBN

9781408866405

Categories


I love Lovereading because I often never know what to read and this helps you find a good book. I have recommended this to many people.

Shannon-Louise Masters – age 15

It’s really exciting to read and review new books, thrilling to see my reviews online and I love finding the final published copies on sale.

Sam Harper – age 10

I love lovereading4kids because I’ve read amazing books I would never have picked up, and its opened doors to new genre’s I now love.

Harriet Cunningham

We love Lovereading4kids because they put books in front of us we wouldn’t otherwise have read. They make us more adventurous readers!

Emily Jacques

A great way to introduce kids to great books, authors & genres. Parents can find age-appropriate books to share with their children.

Judi Davies – Aberdare Girls Sch

We love Lovereading as my 5 year old loves to read new books before anyone else has a chance, she says it makes reading exciting!

Tracey Chorley

I love Lovereading4kids because I get an opportunity to put my opinion forward and to try new books

Elosie Clarkson – age 11

I love Lovereading as it provides an honest opinion and showcases a range of fiction. Suited to both parents & kids alike, it’s a must-use.

Georgie Rowe – age 16
Lovereading

Lovereading 4 schools
****