LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Steve Backshall - Author

About the Author

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY; his eventful life is well documented and he recently hit the headlines after being bitten by a Caiman live on camera! Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve says: "Though I seem to have found myself unwittingly lost in the world of wildlife television, I always wanted to be a writer. As a child it was Gerald Durrell, Jack London and Willard Price who inspired me, and I'm elated that Orion have given me the opportunity to follow in their more illustrious footsteps. I have so many incredible adventures, tall tales and animal anecdotes from my lifetime travelling the world, having been to a hundred countries in every conceivable environment. Over the next few years with the help of all the fine folk at Orion, I look forward to sharing these stories with a world of (hopefully) willing readers."

Featured books by Steve Backshall

Deadly Detectives Top Tips to Track Wildlife

Deadly Detectives Top Tips to Track Wildlife

7+ readers 9+ readers

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/05/2014

Packed-full of information and excellently illustrated throughout with highly illuminating photographs, this is a serious guide to tracking wildlife. Steve Backshall gives clear advice about how to look for the clues that tell us the story of life in the wild whether they are from familiar badgers or the more exotic bald eagles or the giant black caiman. From the relative peace and calm of Ancient Woodlands to the extreme climates of  the Arctic Circle and the African Savanna Deadly Detectives takes readers into the heart of nature ~ Julia Eccelshare

Other books by Steve Backshall

Steve Backshall's Deadly 60

Steve Backshall's Deadly 60

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/10/2018

Steve Backshall embarks on his most daring adventure yet. He has just six months to travel six continents and find 60 of the deadliest creatures on the planet for the 26-part Children's BBC series of the same name which will air on BBC 1, CBBC, Discovery and Animal Planet channels. From lethal beauties to killer beasts, from the unseen to the unexpected, the one thing these creatures have in common is that they are all deadly to other animals. Steve's encounters range from famous killers such as the Black Mamba and the North American Grizzly Bear to less well known but no less deadly animals. He introduces the surreal Pink River Dolphin of Amazonia and captures Australia's elusive Ghost Bat for a closer look. Learn about the ingenious techniques and extraordinary weapons that some of our most dangerous animals are armed with. Including the renowned, the unexpected and the downright bizarre, this companion book to Steve Backshall's high adrenaline tour of the world's most deadly is not to be missed.

The Falcon Chronicles: Shark Seas Book 4

The Falcon Chronicles: Shark Seas Book 4

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/10/2016

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . . Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

The Falcon Chronicles: Tiger Wars Book 1

The Falcon Chronicles: Tiger Wars Book 1

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 02/05/2013

Saker is a member of the Clan. They're like brothers, but once you're a member you can never leave - ever. Each member has their own animal identity and tattoo, each is an expert in jungle law, survival and the ways of animals in order to make them better spies, thieves or assassins. Saker's latest assignment takes him to India to bring down the men who protect tigers. He's being employed by a Chinese overlord who specialises in poaching for tiger farms and tiger organs for high-priced medicines. But something happens to make Saker change sides and now he's on the run from his predatory brothers. They're hunting him down and they're professionals. He meets 15-year-old Sinter, a spoiled rich girl, who is running away from an arranged marriage, and their uneasy friendship will eventually form an unshakeable bond, as together they face adventure and danger as two young eco-warriors in a truly threatening world. TIGER WARS is the first in DEADLY presenter Steve Backshall's high-octane adventure series, The Falcon Chronicles, which introduces Saker and Sinter on a quest to right some of the horrific wrongs perpetrated against wildlife around the planet. As they rescue tigers or mountain gorillas, thwart shark finners and cyanide fishers, rainforest exploiters and canned hunters, they come face to face with the world's most fascinating, majestic and lethal creatures.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×