LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Steve Backshall - Author

About the Author

Steve Backshall is the hugely popular and fearless presenter of the BBC kids' series DEADLY 60 and LIVE AND DEADLY; his eventful life is well documented and he recently hit the headlines after being bitten by a Caiman live on camera! Steve travels the world to learn about the most inspiring predators, from boxing mantis shrimp to charging tigers. Steve also regularly writes articles for newspapers and magazines including the NATIONAL GEOGRAPHIC TRAVELER and BBC WILDLIFE and is an inspirational public speaker.

Steve says: "Though I seem to have found myself unwittingly lost in the world of wildlife television, I always wanted to be a writer. As a child it was Gerald Durrell, Jack London and Willard Price who inspired me, and I'm elated that Orion have given me the opportunity to follow in their more illustrious footsteps. I have so many incredible adventures, tall tales and animal anecdotes from my lifetime travelling the world, having been to a hundred countries in every conceivable environment. Over the next few years with the help of all the fine folk at Orion, I look forward to sharing these stories with a world of (hopefully) willing readers."

Featured books by Steve Backshall

Deadly Detectives Top Tips to Track Wildlife

Deadly Detectives Top Tips to Track Wildlife

7+ readers 9+ readers

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback Release Date: 22/05/2014

Packed-full of information and excellently illustrated throughout with highly illuminating photographs, this is a serious guide to tracking wildlife. Steve Backshall gives clear advice about how to look for the clues that tell us the story of life in the wild whether they are from familiar badgers or the more exotic bald eagles or the giant black caiman. From the relative peace and calm of Ancient Woodlands to the extreme climates of  the Arctic Circle and the African Savanna Deadly Detectives takes readers into the heart of nature ~ Julia Eccelshare

Other books by Steve Backshall

Expedition Adventures into Undiscovered Worlds

Expedition Adventures into Undiscovered Worlds

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 16/04/2020

Shine a light into the unknown There are still dark corners of our planet that are yet to be explored. In this remarkable book, Steve Backshall offers an unflinching account of his adventures into these uncharted territories around the globe, in search of world firsts. Each location brings its own epic challenges - whether it's the first climb of an arctic ice fall in Greenland, the first recorded navigation of a South American river, or the first exploration of the world's longest cave system in Mexico. But all of them represent new tests of the limits of human endeavour. Accompanying a major 10-part series on BBC and Dave, Expedition is a breathtaking journey into the unknown, and a brilliantly written celebration of the pleasures of genuine discovery.

Expedition Adventures into Undiscovered Worlds

Expedition Adventures into Undiscovered Worlds

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Hardback Release Date: 18/07/2019

Shine a light into the unknown There are still dark corners of our planet that are yet to be explored. In this remarkable book, Steve Backshall offers an unflinching account of his adventures into these uncharted territories around the globe, in search of world firsts. Each location brings its own epic challenges - whether it's the first climb of an arctic ice fall in Greenland, the first recorded navigation of a South American river, or the first exploration of the world's longest cave system in Mexico. But all of them represent new tests of the limits of human endeavour. Accompanying a major 10-part series on BBC and Dave, Expedition is a breathtaking journey into the unknown, and a brilliantly written celebration of the pleasures of genuine discovery.

Steve Backshall's Deadly 60

Steve Backshall's Deadly 60

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Hardback Release Date: 08/10/2018

Steve Backshall embarks on his most daring adventure yet. He has just six months to travel six continents and find 60 of the deadliest creatures on the planet for the 26-part Children's BBC series of the same name which will air on BBC 1, CBBC, Discovery and Animal Planet channels. From lethal beauties to killer beasts, from the unseen to the unexpected, the one thing these creatures have in common is that they are all deadly to other animals. Steve's encounters range from famous killers such as the Black Mamba and the North American Grizzly Bear to less well known but no less deadly animals. He introduces the surreal Pink River Dolphin of Amazonia and captures Australia's elusive Ghost Bat for a closer look. Learn about the ingenious techniques and extraordinary weapons that some of our most dangerous animals are armed with. Including the renowned, the unexpected and the downright bizarre, this companion book to Steve Backshall's high adrenaline tour of the world's most deadly is not to be missed.

Steve Backshall's Venom

Steve Backshall's Venom

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/09/2017

TV presenter Steve Backshall needs no introduction following his performances on TV series such as Deadly 60 and Lost Land of ... A wide variety of insects, reptiles and amphibians use toxins to subdue their prey or to stop becoming prey to another predator. Even some mammals and birds resort to poison as a means of securing a meal or deterring attack! From species such as the King Cobra, Lionfish, Fat-tail Scorpion and Poison Dart-frog to the diminutive but lethal Black Widow Spider, the author takes a fascinating look at the different types of natural venoms. On a tour of the world's continents, he looks at over 60 of the most venomous creatures, describing their main characteristics and explaining how they administer their venom and what its effects are. Stunning colour photographs and exciting accounts of Steve's own encounters with some of these animals bring the world of natural venom alive.

The Falcon Chronicles: Shark Seas Book 4

The Falcon Chronicles: Shark Seas Book 4

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 25/10/2016

Saker and Sinter continue their quest to save the world's endangered animals in the fourth thrilling adventure in TV presenter Steve Backshall's Falcon Chronicles, this time swimming in shark seas. . . Perfect for fans of Anthony Horowitz, Charlie Higson and Bear Grylls. This is the fourth adventure in the Falcon Chronicles, filled with intrigue, danger, exotic wildlife and dramatic locations.

Mountain A Life on the Rocks

Mountain A Life on the Rocks

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 13/10/2016

Steve Backshall's love affair with the mountains has taken him to some of the world's wildest places, environments that have the power to make a human being feel very small, very vulnerable and very alive. MOUNTAIN: A LIFE OF THE ROCKS is an account of his most breathtaking expeditions: heading into the 'Death Zone' on the roof of the world in the Himalayas, and picking a precarious route up hundreds of metres of rock in the Arctic and Alps. There are expeditions of exploration, as Steve makes the first ascent of jungle peaks and scales the tabletop mountains of the 'Lost World', Venezuela's Gran Sabana, in search of undiscovered animal species on their summits. Steve recalls his apprenticeship in the art of mountaineering with the Indian army, and the terror and near-disaster of some of his more ill-fated adventures, including the aftermath of the fall that should have ended his life. This is a tale of terror and ecstasy, a book that tries to get to the heart of why we risk our lives to climb and conquer. But most of all, MOUNTAIN is a love letter to the wilderness, from one of the world's most adventurous spirits.

Steve Backshall's Wildlife Adventurer's Guide A Guide to Exploring Wildlife in Britain

Steve Backshall's Wildlife Adventurer's Guide A Guide to Exploring Wildlife in Britain

Author: Steve Backshall Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/05/2016

A naturalist's equivalent to the Dangerous Book for Boys, this book includes tips on everything from beachcombing, snorkelling and building your own hedgehog hotel, to tree climbing, natural foods and how to make traps for insects and mammals. This hands-on guide to enjoying nature is filled with practical advice on how to get involved with wildlife. Focusing mainly on Britain and northern Europe, it's packed with ideas for wildlife-watching and other activities in different habitats, including coast, mountains, heathland, garden, wetland, woodland and farmland. Alongside the practical advice on bushcraft and survival are suggestions on how to get close to nature through activities such as mountain-biking and climbing.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×