LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dave Cousins - Author

About the Author

Dave Cousins grew up in Birmingham, in a house full of books and records. Abandoning childhood plans to be an astronaut, Dave went to art college in Bradford, joined a band and moved to London. He spent the next ten years touring and recording, and was nearly famous.

Dave’s writing career began aged ten, with an attempt to create a script for Fawlty Towers. He has been writing songs, poems and stories ever since. His short story The Floodlight Man was broadcast on BBC Radio Five Live, read by Dave himself. 

He now lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and family, in a house full of books and records, and writes in a corner of the attic with an anarchic ginger cat for company.

Featured books by Dave Cousins

Other books by Dave Cousins

Is My Teacher A Robot?

Is My Teacher A Robot?

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

When Grandma creates Robin the robot babysitter for twins Jake and Jess, chaos ensues! When Robin the robot babysitter loses his memory in an accident, he starts thinking he's a teacher at Jake and Jess' school. Although he has unlimited knowledge to share with the students, Robin is DEFINITELY not your average teacher and people are getting suspicious. Not only that, but Jake and Jess want their OLD robot back. How can they restore the Robin they know and love? The second book in a brilliantly funny series, perfect for fans of David Solomons, THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL and KID NORMAL.

My Babysitter Is a Robot

My Babysitter Is a Robot

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/07/2019

When Grandma creates a robot babysitter for twins Jake and Jess, chaos ensues! Robin is embarrassing, clumsy and, worst of all, programmed to make them do their homework. They're also pretty sure he thinks their dog is a baby. The twins decide they have to do something before everyone realizes that Robin is a robot. But getting rid of their new babysitter will mean putting aside their sibling squabbles and working together, which might be an even bigger challenge... The first in a brilliantly funny series about a robot babysitter and the mayhem he causes, perfect for fans of David Solomons, THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL and KID NORMAL!

Warten auf Gonzo

Warten auf Gonzo

Author: Dave Cousins Format: eBook Release Date: 13/04/2016

Oz ist immer fur einen Lacher zu haben. Es ist wirklich nicht seine Schuld, dass manche Leute so humorlos sind. Doch bei einem seiner Scherze geht der Schuss nach hinten los, und er setzt eine Kette von Ereignissen in Gang, die in ein einziges Durcheinander munden. Man muss es tatsachlich erlebt haben, wie Oz versucht, den Schaden zu begrenzen - auf seine eigene, einzigartige Weise. Oder anders ausgedruckt: Jeder kann einen Fehler machen, aber um alles zu versauen, muss man ein Genie sein. Auch seine groere Schwester Meg zieht Oz nicht aus dem Schlamassel - doch dann bekommt sie selbst ein Problem. Eines, das von Tag zu Tag groer wird ...

Charlie Merrick's Misfits in I'm a Nobody, Get Me Out of Here!

Charlie Merrick's Misfits in I'm a Nobody, Get Me Out of Here!

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/05/2015

'HELP! Somebody get me out of here! This is all a HUGE MISTAKE! I can't believe we ended up in this mess! Well . . . actually I can. To be honest I'm not at all surprised. This is EXACTLY the kind of thing that ALWAYS happens to us!' Charlie and his gang have ended up at the 'GO WILD!' survival camp for a whole week. Camp leader Survival Clive splits them into teams and dumps them in the middle of the forest. They've got three days to make it back to base camp. But there's a rumour that a wild beast is on the loose; rival team, the Wild Warriors, are pinching their stuff; and Charlie and Nature just don't mix! If they're going to make it back home, the Misfits are going to have to use all their skill and guile to survive. Told in Charlie's own hilarious words and doodles, this book is perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Diary of a Wimpy Kid.

One Short Band 07 Turquoise/Band 12 Copper

One Short Band 07 Turquoise/Band 12 Copper

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2013

A young boy's best friend Jamie has just moved away, and he feels no-one could replace him, not even the new boy Daniel. But then he finds his school football team is missing one person. Will he finally be forced to accept someone new into his life? This sweet story of friends new and old was written by Dave Cousins. * Collins Big Cat Progress books are specifically designed for children at Key Stage 2 who have a Key Stage 1 reading level, giving them age-appropriate texts that they can read, building their confidence and fostering positive attitudes towards reading. * Text type: A story with a familiar setting * Curriculum links: Citizenship; P.E. * This book has been quizzed for Accelerated Reader.

Goodbye to All That Band 06 Orange/Band 17 Diamond

Goodbye to All That Band 06 Orange/Band 17 Diamond

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2013

It's a young boy's last day at primary school, and he excitedly lists off all the points he won't miss when he goes to Big School . But is there anything he will miss? This thought-provoking story was written by Dave Cousins. * Collins Big Cat Progress books are specifically designed for children at Key Stage 2 who have a Key Stage 1 reading level, giving them age-appropriate texts that they can read, building their confidence and fostering positive attitudes towards reading. * Text type: A story with a familiar setting * Curriculum links: Citizenship * This book has been quizzed for Accelerated Reader.

Waiting for Gonzo

Waiting for Gonzo

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 19/02/2013

Meet Oz . . . he's got a talent for trouble but his heart's always in the right place (well, nearly always). Uprooted from his friends and former life, Oz finds himself stranded in the sleepy village of Slowleigh. When a joke backfires on the first day at his new school, Oz attracts the attention of Isobel Skinner, the school psycho - but that's just the beginning. After causing an accident that puts his mum in hospital, Oz isn't exactly popular at home either. His older sister's no help, but then she's got a problem of her own . . . one that's growing bigger by the day. Oz knows he's got to put things right, but life isn't that simple, especially when the only people still talking to you are a hobbit-obsessed kid and a voice in your own head! Packed with action, heart and humour, Waiting for Gonzo takes you for a white-knuckle ride on the Wheel of Destiny as it careers out of control down the Hillside of Inevitability. The question is, do you go down laughing? Or grit your teeth and jump off?

Fifteen Days Without a Head

Fifteen Days Without a Head

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/01/2012

Fifteen-year-old Laurence Roach just wants a normal life, but it's not easy when your mum is a depressed alcoholic, and your six-year-old brother thinks he's a dog. When Mum fails to come home one night, Laurence tells nobody, terrified he and his brother will be taken into care if anyone finds out. Instead, he attempts to keep up the pretence that Mum is still around: dressing up in her clothes to trick the neighbours and spinning an increasingly complicated tangle of lies. After two weeks on their own, running out of food and money, and with suspicious adults closing in, Laurence finally discovers what happened to his mother. And that's when the trouble really starts . . . A compelling thriller filled with some hilarious and surreal moments. Fifteen Days Without a Head is a tender, honest story about family, forgiveness and hope.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×