LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dave Cousins - Author

About the Author

Dave Cousins grew up in Birmingham, in a house full of books and records. Abandoning childhood plans to be an astronaut, Dave went to art college in Bradford, joined a band and moved to London. He spent the next ten years touring and recording, and was nearly famous.

Dave’s writing career began aged ten, with an attempt to create a script for Fawlty Towers. He has been writing songs, poems and stories ever since. His short story The Floodlight Man was broadcast on BBC Radio Five Live, read by Dave himself. 

He now lives in Hertfordshire with his wife and family, in a house full of books and records, and writes in a corner of the attic with an anarchic ginger cat for company.

Featured books by Dave Cousins

Other books by Dave Cousins

My Robot's Gone Wild

My Robot's Gone Wild

Author: Dave Cousins Illustrator: Catalina Echeverri Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/02/2021

When Grandma creates a robot babysitter for twins Jake and Jess, chaos ensues! Jake and Jess are on their way to Scotland to visit Robin, who's been hiding out near a remote loch with Grandma. Jake can't wait to see his favourite robot but is shocked by how much he's changed. Robin now spends most of his time camouflaged in bushes and can light a fire with a click of his fingers - he's gone wild! But when Grandma ropes the trio into a plan to catch a local gang of thieves in the act, it looks like Robin's new skills might just save the day... The fourth book in a brilliantly funny series, perfect for fans of David Solomons, RUNAWAY ROBOT, THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL and KID NORMAL.

A Robot Ate My Grandma

A Robot Ate My Grandma

Author: Dave Cousins Illustrator: Catalina Echeverri Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/08/2020

When Grandma creates a robot babysitter for twins Jake and Jess, chaos ensues! Jess and Jake love having a robot babysitter, but lately Robin's been malfunctioning more and more often... And the only person who can help - their inventor Grandma who created Robin - has disappeared. It's time for the twins to take matters into their own hands... The third book in a brilliantly funny series, perfect for fans of David Solomons, RUNAWAY ROBOT, THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL and KID NORMAL.

Is My Teacher A Robot?

Is My Teacher A Robot?

Author: Dave Cousins Illustrator: Catalina Echeverri Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/02/2020

When Grandma creates Robin the robot babysitter for twins Jake and Jess, chaos ensues! When Robin the robot babysitter loses his memory in an accident, he starts thinking he's a teacher at Jake and Jess' school. Although he has unlimited knowledge to share with the students, Robin is DEFINITELY not your average teacher and people are getting suspicious. Not only that, but Jake and Jess want their OLD robot back. How can they restore the Robin they know and love? The second book in a brilliantly funny series, perfect for fans of David Solomons, THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL and KID NORMAL.

My Babysitter Is a Robot

My Babysitter Is a Robot

Author: Dave Cousins Illustrator: Catalina Echeverri Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 11/07/2019

When Grandma creates a robot babysitter for twins Jake and Jess, chaos ensues! Robin is embarrassing, clumsy and, worst of all, programmed to make them do their homework. They're also pretty sure he thinks their dog is a baby. The twins decide they have to do something before everyone realizes that Robin is a robot. But getting rid of their new babysitter will mean putting aside their sibling squabbles and working together, which might be an even bigger challenge... The first in a brilliantly funny series about a robot babysitter and the mayhem he causes, perfect for fans of David Solomons, THE NOTHING TO SEE HERE HOTEL and KID NORMAL!

Warten auf Gonzo

Warten auf Gonzo

Author: Dave Cousins Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 13/04/2016

Oz ist immer fur einen Lacher zu haben. Es ist wirklich nicht seine Schuld, dass manche Leute so humorlos sind. Doch bei einem seiner Scherze geht der Schuss nach hinten los, und er setzt eine Kette von Ereignissen in Gang, die in ein einziges Durcheinander munden. Man muss es tatsachlich erlebt haben, wie Oz versucht, den Schaden zu begrenzen - auf seine eigene, einzigartige Weise. Oder anders ausgedruckt: Jeder kann einen Fehler machen, aber um alles zu versauen, muss man ein Genie sein. Auch seine groere Schwester Meg zieht Oz nicht aus dem Schlamassel - doch dann bekommt sie selbst ein Problem. Eines, das von Tag zu Tag groer wird ...

Funfzehn kopflose Tage

Funfzehn kopflose Tage

Author: Dave Cousins Illustrator: 0 Format: eBook Release Date: 05/03/2015

Laurence Roach wunscht sich eigentlich nur ein normales Leben, doch das ist schwer, wenn die Mutter eine depressive Alkoholikerin ist. Als sie eines Abends nicht mehr nach Hause kommt, erzahlt er niemandem davon - aus Angst, er und sein Bruder Jay mussten sonst in Pflegefamilien. Er tauscht vor, seine Mutter sei noch da,zieht sich ihre Kleider an und verstrickt sich immer mehr in ein Netz aus Lugen. Abend fur Abend schleicht er zudem in die Telefonzelle und gibt sich in der Live-Sendung des lokalen Radiosenders fur seinen verstorbenen Vater aus, um seinen geheimen Traum zu verwirklichen.

Goodbye to All That Band 06 Orange/Band 17 Diamond

Goodbye to All That Band 06 Orange/Band 17 Diamond

Author: Dave Cousins Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/05/2013

It's a young boy's last day at primary school, and he excitedly lists off all the points he won't miss when he goes to Big School . But is there anything he will miss? This thought-provoking story was written by Dave Cousins. Collins Big Cat Progress books are specifically designed for children at Key Stage 2 who have a Key Stage 1 reading level, giving them age-appropriate texts that they can read, building their confidence and fostering positive attitudes towards reading. Text type: A story with a familiar setting Curriculum links: Citizenship This book has been quizzed for Accelerated Reader.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×