Tom Nicoll - Author

About the Author

Tom Nicoll has been writing since he was at school, where he enjoyed trying to fit in as much silliness into his essays as he could possibly get away with. When not writing, he enjoys playing video games (especially the ones where he gets beaten by kids half his age from all over the world). He is also a big comedy, TV and movie nerd. Tom lives just outside Edinburgh with his wife, daughter and a cat that thinks it's a dog. There's a Dragon in My Dinner is his first book for children.

A Q&A with the author

How did you make the characters of Eric and Pan come to life?  I wish I could give some deep or technical answer here – like I spent months researching dragon lore or something – but the truth is I just set out to write a book that made me laugh. I think it helped that before I had even started writing I had planned out the entire story. So I knew where things had to go and I had such a clear idea in my head of not only Eric and Pan, but all the characters, that most of the time it almost felt like all I really had to do was let them get on with it!

If you had a Pet dragon like Pan, what would he be called and what would he look like? I’m not sure how much of a say I’d have in his name to be honest, his mum and dad would probably sort that out. But if I did, I’d probably go for a traditional dragon name like Zakarra or Malar the Magnificent or Steve. A jet-black dragon would be pretty cool. He’d probably wear a Mini-leather jacket and ride a Mini-motorbike. He’d basically be a Mini-Dragon Fonz.

What would you get up to with your pet dragon?  I think for the most part we’d probably do our own thing. I’d be writing books and he’d be working on his Mini motorbike. But at least once a month we’d meet for a catch up, maybe go see a film or get something to eat. Of course Mini-Dragons only eat mountain goats, prawn crackers or dirty washing so our choice of restaurants might be limited. Actually, maybe we could capitalize on the gap in the market there and go into the restaurant business together. Hmm…

Are any of the adventures based on real life events? Unfortunately not, they’re all just things I’ve made up. Except for one time when my parents smuggled me inside a crate of beansprouts to another country and I ended up being delivered to someone’s house inside a Chinese takeaway. But then we’ve all been there, right? Right? 

Are there any more adventures planned for Eric and Pan in the future?  There’s two more books in the series coming out this year. In the next one, There’s a Dragon in My Backpack! Eric reluctantly agrees to bring Pan to his school. But when their horrible neighbour Toby dragon-naps him and takes him to his school instead, Eric has no choice but to launch a daring rescue attempt. And in There’s a Dragon In My Toilet! we’ll get to meet some more Mini-Dragons, including Pan’s Aunt and Uncle. If you love Pan, you’ll love… actually, no you’ll hate his aunt and uncle. Seriously, they’re just the worst.

Featured books by Tom Nicoll

Other books by Tom Nicoll

Boyband of the Apocalypse: Washed Up

Boyband of the Apocalypse: Washed Up

Author: Tom Nicoll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/04/2018

Just when Sam thinks life has returned to normal he's bundled into a black van by agents of the Apocalypse Intelligence Agency who send him off the remote jungle island of Fin del Mundo to appear on a celebrity reality TV game show. One of Sam's rival `celebrity' contestants is none other than evil music mogul Nigel Cruul, who the A.I.A. suspect is planning to bring back the Horsewomen of the Apocalypse. Luckily his best friend Milo and kick-ass sister Lexi are starring in the show too. But they'll have to survive everything from alligator-infested swamps to public vote offs, if they're to save the world once more. Perfect for fans of MY BROTHER IS A SUPERHERO, HAMISH AND THE WORLD STOPPERS and THE PARENT AGENCY - and anyone who's ever watched a celebrity reality TV show.

Boyband of the Apocalypse

Boyband of the Apocalypse

Author: Tom Nicoll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/06/2017

The closest he's ever come to super-stardom is playing the back end of a donkey in the school Nativity play. Then his sister drags him along to an Apocalips concert and he overhears members of the band plotting to destroy all humanity. Starting with their own lead singer. Can Sam discover his hidden talents, infiltrate the World's Most Evil Boyband and foil their fiendish plan? One thing's for sure - if he's going to save the universe, he'll need a bit of help...

There's a Dragon in my Popcorn!

There's a Dragon in my Popcorn!

Author: Tom Nicoll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/05/2017

Inspired by the latest Slug Man movie, Eric and Pan decide to enter a competition for young filmmakers on the theme of superheroes. Naturally, the Mini-Dragon has a real talent for scriptwriting. If only they had something better to make their film on than Mum's dodgy old mobile... Then Toby from next door steps in and offers to lend Eric some new kit - on the condition that he can be the producer. Before long, Toby takes over completely, sacking Eric's friends from the lead roles, doing a complete rewrite of the script and hiring a team of pros to get the film finished. Eric says he wants nothing more to do with the project and, with only a couple of days before the screening, there's no time to start again. But Pan secretly works behind the scenes to bring Eric's original vision to life. Eric's film goes down a storm at the screening, with Pan stealing the show as a giant fire-breathing dragon. Eric bags the award for best special effects, while a furious Toby walks away with nothing.

There's a Dragon in my Pants

There's a Dragon in my Pants

Author: Tom Nicoll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/02/2017

Book four in a hilarious new series featuring one boy and a little dragon with an oversized appetite for adventure. Eric and friends are off on a camping trip - Pan assures them that a Mini-Dragon's skills will be most handy when it comes to lighting a campfire! As it turns out, dragons aren't so hot at putting up tents. Eric and Pan are just getting in a tangle when Toby Bloom and his dad show up with their state-of-the-art Glamping gear. Who knew you could have a Games Room under canvas? Soon, Min and Jayden are hanging out with Eric's arch-enemy, while even Eric's dad has to admit that their weekend in the wilderness is a washout. Desperate to get their weekend in the wilderness back on track, Eric suggests pitting his dad against Toby's in a series of outdoor challenges. But when Toby starts bending the rules, it's up to Pan to fly to the rescue.

There's a Dragon in my Toilet

There's a Dragon in my Toilet

Author: Tom Nicoll Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/08/2016

Book three in a hilarious new series featuring one boy and a little dragon with an oversized appetite for adventure. Pan is missing his parents in China and is delighted when Eric helps him to speak to them over the internet. But his joy turns to despair when his parents announce that they are sending his aunt and uncle to bring him home. Travelling through the sewer system, Pan's relatives show up in Eric's house via his toilet ... and they're not going back without him! Perfect for fans of Jeremy Strong and Compton Valance.

Author Info

Author's Website

http://tomnicoll.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.

NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×