LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dion Leonard - Author

About the Author

Dion Leonard is an Australian ultramarathon runner. He has run across some of the world’s most inhospitable landscapes including South Africa's Kalahari Desert and competed twice in the brutal 250km Marathon Des Sables across the Moroccan Sahara desert. Dion was taking part in a gruelling race in Northwest China when he unexpectedly made a four-legged friend for life. Finding Gobi, the book about their adventures is out now.
Dion lives in Edinburgh with his wife and Gobi.

Featured books by Dion Leonard

Other books by Dion Leonard

Finding Gobi for Little Ones

Finding Gobi for Little Ones

Author: Dion Leonard Format: Board book Release Date: 08/03/2018

Bring home the incredible true story of a friendship so strong that it crossed the globe! Families everywhere will be delighted by the tale of Gobi and Dion-a little lost dog and the ultramarathon runner who saved her. Finding Gobi for Little Ones: The Race for Home is a fun, engaging board book perfect for families to enjoy together. Prepare to fall in love with the heartwarming and true story of Gobi and Dion. Gobi is a scrappy little stray dog who befriended a man named Dion and kept pace alongside him for 77 miles of the grueling 155-mile ultramarathon through the Gobi Desert. As Dion ran his way across China through cold nights and raging rivers, with little food and water, and through a long, hard journey, these two created a bond unlike any other. Cross the finish line with Gobi, the little pup who never quit, and Dion, the ultramarathon runner who loves her. This amazing true story sparked international attention and will continue to inspire readers as they enjoy this fun board book perfect for even the littlest children. Join these two unlikely friends as they form a winning team for both the race and life!

Gobi A Little Dog with a Big Heart

Gobi A Little Dog with a Big Heart

Author: Dion Leonard Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 21/08/2017

The inspirational true story of Gobi, the little dog who captured the hearts of the world, retold in a stunningly illustrated picture book for the youngest of readers. This beautifully illustrated picture book tells the story of a life changing friendship between one man and a little stray dog with a lot of spirit. Perfect for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob aged three and up. In 2016, Dion Leonard, an ultramarathon runner, stumbled across a little stray dog while competing in a gruelling 155 mile race across the Gobi Desert. The pup earned the name `Gobi', as she went step for step with Dion, keeping pace with him for nearly 80 miles. What Gobi lacked in size, she made up for in heart.

Finding Gobi (Younger Readers edition) The True Story of One Little Dog's Big Journey

Finding Gobi (Younger Readers edition) The True Story of One Little Dog's Big Journey

Author: Dion Leonard Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 22/05/2017

For fans of A Streetcat Named Bob comes Finding Gobi, the heart-warming true story of a dog who captured the hearts of the world. Younger readers' edition. Finding Gobi is the ultimate story of hope and friendship - proving once again, that dogs really are `man's best friend.' In 2016, Dion Leonard, an ultramarathon runner, stumbled across a little stray dog while competing in a gruelling 155 mile race across the Gobi Desert. The pup earned the name `Gobi', as she went step for step with Dion, keeping pace with him for nearly 80 miles. What Gobi lacked in size, she made up for in heart. Dion had always focused on winning, but as he witnessed the incredible determination of this small animal, he felt something inside him change. This is a story of a life changing friendship between one man and a little stray dog called Gobi.

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×