LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Liz Hyder - Author

About the Author

Liz Hyder is a writer, experienced workshop leader and award-winning arts PR consultant. She has a BA in drama from the University of Bristol and, in early 2018, won the Bridge Award/Moniack Mhor's Emerging Writer Award. She is currently working on her second book and a range of other creative projects. Bearmouth is her debut novel.

Photo credit © Ashleigh-Cadet

Featured books by Liz Hyder

Other books by Liz Hyder

The Gifts The most exciting, captivating debut historical fiction launch of 2022

The Gifts The most exciting, captivating debut historical fiction launch of 2022

Author: Liz Hyder Format: Hardback Release Date: 17/02/2022

'Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it' Stacey Halls 'Fierce and touching' Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne The luminous debut adult novel from the Waterstones Prize Winner, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock, The Essex Serpent and The Doll Factory In an age defined by men, it will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . . October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders. Meanwhile, when rumours of a 'fallen angel' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grip of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . . THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition. 'An extraordinary novel - resonant, propulsive and utterly absorbing. Once I'd picked it up, I truly couldn't put it down - I didn't want to leave Liz Hyder's vividly realised world, and I cannot wait to follow wherever she takes us next' Katie Lowe, author of The Furies 'I devoured The Gifts, eager to find out the fate of its wonderfully drawn characters. A wonderful, atmospheric book that immersed me in the dirty streets of nineteenth century London and swept me away to the hills of Shropshire. A real gem' Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City 'A beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic against the grimy backdrop of 19th century London. Wild female power clashes with dark scientific ambition in this compelling story' Jenny Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne 'An extraordinary weaving together of the lives of four women. For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul' Jackie Morris, The Lost Words 'I was transfixed by this fantastical tale of winged women and their quest for liberation in the face of science turned into dark obsession. A deliciously intriguing mix of moral bankruptcy and resilience, with a captivating female friendship at its heart' Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry & Wild Rose 'Ambitious and darkly brilliant . . . provocative, tender, claustrophobic and epic. It blew my mind' Kiran Millwood Hargrave on Bearmouth 'Extraordinary... compelling and original' Sunday Times, Book of the Year on Bearmouth 'Hand-in-mouth gripping... Hyder will become a household name' The Times on Bearmouth

The Gifts The most exciting, captivating debut historical fiction launch of 2022

The Gifts The most exciting, captivating debut historical fiction launch of 2022

Author: Liz Hyder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 17/02/2022

October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders. Meanwhile, when rumours of a 'fallen angel' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grip of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . . THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition. Praise for BEARMOUTH: 'Ambitious and darkly brilliant . . . provocative, tender, claustrophobic and epic. It blew my mind' Kiran Millwood Hargrave 'Extraordinary... compelling and original' Sunday Times, Book of the Year 'Devastating, genre breaking... I can't wait to see what Hyder does next, I will go wherever she takes me' Daisy Johnson 'Hand-in-mouth gripping... [Hyder] will become a household name' The Times

Bearmouth A Novel

Bearmouth A Novel

Author: Liz Hyder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 24/12/2021

Life in Bearmouth is one of hard labor and isolation, where daylight is a distant memory. Newt has lived in the mine since the age of four, and accepts everything from the harsh working conditions to the brutality of the overseers-until the mysterious Devlin arrives and Newt begins to ask, Why? Against a background of creeping violence and rising tensions, this question drives a chain of events that confronts both Newt's identity and the pitiless Bearmouth system. With an utterly distinctive voice and propulsive storytelling, this darkly provocative thriller announces the arrival of a singular new talent in young adult literature.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.lizhyder.co.uk/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×