LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Chris Priestley - Author

About the Author

Chris Priestley has been a cartoonist and illustrator for many years, working mainly for magazines and newspapers.  He currently has a weekly strip cartoon called 'Payne's Grey' in the New Statesman.

Ever since he was a teenager Chris has loved unsettling and creepy stories, with fond memories of buying comics like 'Strange Tales' and 'House of Mystery', watching classic BBC TV adaptations of M R James ghost stories every Christmas and reading assorted weirdness by everyone from Edgar Allen Poe to Ray Bradbury.  He hopes Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror will haunt his readers in the way those writers have haunted him.

 

This brilliantly received series of ghost stories, Uncle Montague's Tales of Terror, Tales of Terror from the Black Ship and Tales of Terror from the Tunnel's Mouth, were reissued by Bloomsbury in March 2011 including a brand new story. 

Meanwhile The Dead of Winter, published by Bloomsbury in October 2010 and in paperback in October 2011, is a nail-biting story of hauntings and terror, nominated for the Carnegie Medal 2012.

Mister Creecher, published by Bloomsbury in October 2011 and in paperback in March 2012, is a gripping gothic novel about friendship, trust and betrayal.

 

Author photo © Judith Weik

Featured books by Chris Priestley

Other books by Chris Priestley

Attack of the Meteor Monsters

Attack of the Meteor Monsters

Author: Chris Priestley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Discover the weird and wonderful world of Maudlin Towers - brilliantly written and illustrated throughout by Chris Priestley in this striking and funny package. Mildew and Sponge don't think much of Maudlin Towers, the blackened, gloom-laden, gargoyle-infested monstrosity that is their school. But when a meteorite crash-lands in the school grounds, things become even stranger than they have ever been before! Not only do a group of schoolgirls and their teacher turn up needing somewhere to stay, but further investigation of the meteorite soon proves that it might be a spaceship. Could aliens be hiding in the school grounds somewhere? (You might have spotted them already!) Plus, has anyone noticed a giant eyeball floating about the place? Most importantly, can Mildew and Sponge save the day - and the school - once more? This hugely funny, deliciously creepy and action-packed series is perfect for 8+ readers who like their mysteries with a twist. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Chris Riddell will love Maudlin Towers. Have you read all of Mildew and Sponge's adventures? Maudlin Towers: Curse of the Werewolf Boy Maudlin Towers: Treasure of the Golden Skull Maudlin Towers: Attack of the Meteor Monsters

Treasure of the Golden Skull

Treasure of the Golden Skull

Author: Chris Priestley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/10/2018

Return to the weird and wonderful world of Maudlin Towers for a second adventure - brilliantly written and illustrated throughout by Chris Priestley in this striking and funny package. Mildew and Sponge don't think much of Maudlin Towers, the blackened, gloom-laden, gargoyle-infested monstrosity that is their school. But when they are told the school might close, our heroes realise that being apart and somewhere else could be even worse! But what starts out as a secret hunt for buried treasure quickly becomes weirder than Mildew and Sponge could ever have imagined. Who is that new boy who can get people to do whatever he wants just by looking them intently in the eye? (A hypnotist!) Why does that strange teacher have tattoos and a beard? (He's really a pirate also looking for the treasure!) Could their heartbroken English teacher hold the key to this riddle of riddles? (Just maybe ...) Most importantly, can Mildew and Sponge save the day - and the school - once more? This hugely funny, deliciously creepy and action-packed series is perfect for 8+ readers who like their mysteries with a twist. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Chris Riddell will love Maudlin Towers.

Modermoor Castle - Die Jagd nach dem verschwundenen Loffel

Modermoor Castle - Die Jagd nach dem verschwundenen Loffel

Author: Chris Priestley Format: eBook Release Date: 26/09/2018

Ein Wikinger auf dem Schulgelande?Ein Werwolf auf dem Dachboden? Ein Geschichtslehrer, der plotzlich nicht mehr langweilig ist?Mufford und sein Freund Sponge sind Schuler von Modermoor Castle, der Schule fur die nicht besonders hellen Kinder aus nicht besonders reichem Hause, - und einiges an Kummer gewohnt! Doch in letzter Zeit treten hier selbst fur ihren Geschmack etwas zu viele Seltsamkeiten auf. Vor allem, als plotzlich der silberne Loffel, eine wertvolle Schulinsignie, gestohlen wird. Wenn sich der Dieb nicht findet, werden den Schulern die Weihnachtsferien gestrichen! Das darf auf keinen Fall passieren, beschlieen die zwei und tauchen ein in das haarstraubendste Ratsel, das Modermoor Castle, dieses finster-trostlose Ungetum von Schule, je gesehen hat!Der erste Band der herrlich skurrilen und unerhort komischen neuen Serie von Schauergeschichtenstar Chris Priestley.Mit zahlreichen Illustrationen vom AutorBei Antolin gelistet

Still Water

Still Water

Author: Chris Priestley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/09/2018

Evacuated from London at the outbreak of war, Rosie is taken in by kind Mrs Taylor and her daughter Mary. But all is not as it seems. Mary resents and bullies Rosie, and Mrs Taylor is hiding a dark secret. When Rosie comes across a strange girl swimming in a local pond, she hopes they will become friends. But instead her appearance leads to a horrifying revelation that will have terrifying consequences... Particularly suitable for struggling, reluctant and dyslexic readers 8+

Curse of the Werewolf Boy

Curse of the Werewolf Boy

Author: Chris Priestley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/10/2017

'We shall be detectives, Sponge!' exclaimed Mildew. 'We shall solve the Mystery of the School Spoon!' Mildew and Sponge don't think much of Maudlin Towers, the blackened, gloom-laden, gargoyle-infested monstrosity that is their school. But when somebody steals the School Spoon and the teachers threaten to cancel the Christmas holidays until the culprit is found, our heroes must spring into action and solve the crime! But what starts out as a classic bit of detectivating quickly becomes weirder than they could have imagined. Who is the ghost in the attic? What's their history teacher doing with a time machine? And why do a crazy bunch of Vikings seem to think Mildew is a werewolf? Hugely funny, deliciously creepy and action-packed by turns, this brand new series from Chris Priestley is perfect for 8+ readers who like their mysteries with a bit of bite. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Chris Riddell will love Curse of the Werewolf Boy.

Superpowerless

Superpowerless

Author: Chris Priestley Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 15/06/2017

'Deeply moving' The Financial Times David is sixteen. A pretty ordinary boy, in most ways - he just wants to hang out in his bedroom, reading his dad's old comics. Comics that are full of his heroes - those figures whose lives are charmed, special, unique. Life hasn't been easy recently for David, though. His father died just a couple of years ago, he has a fractious relationship with his mum, and he has fallen out with his best friend. But, David has a secret, which he hasn't told anyone. He has superpowers. He can soar through the air, he has superhearing, he feels and hears everything super-keenly. So life should be easier, then, shouldn't it? But somehow it's not - and when David gets involved with the girl next door, gorgeous Holly Harper, he begins to realise just how very complicated it can get. David's harbouring another secret, a deeper darker one, and on this journey from boyhood to manhood, will he have the courage to face up to it?

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×