Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Blue Peter Book Awards 2022

The shortlist for the Blue Peter Book Awards 2022 have been announced - find all the books below. The Blue Peter Book Awards, now in their 22nd year, aim to guide children towards quality literature, encouraging them to read and establish a love of reading for life.

Jump to:
Best Story
Best Book With Facts

Blue Peter Book Awards 2022: Best Story

Shortlisted Books

Blue Peter Book Awards 2022: Best Book With Facts

Shortlisted Books

The shortlisted titles for the Best Story;

Danny Chung Does Not Do Maths by Maisie Chan, Illustrated by Anh Cao (Piccadilly Press)

The Boy Who Made Everyone Laugh by Helen Rutter (Scholastic Children’s Books)

The Last Bear by Hannah Gold, Illustrated by Levi Pinfold (HarperCollins Children’s Books)

And the shortlisted titles for Best Book with Facts;

24 Hours in the Stone Age by Lan Cook, Illustrated by Laurent Kling (Usborne)

Good News by Rashmi Sirdeshpande, Illustrated by Adam Hayes (Wren & Rook)

Invented by Animals by Christiane Dorion, Illustrated by Gosia Herbia (Wide Eyed Editions)

Diana Gerald, CEO of BookTrust said: “Congratulations to all of this year’s shortlisted authors and illustrators for creating an incredible selection of books filled with funny and heart-warming stories and awe-inspiring facts. Books provide such an opportunity to touch on important topics that children are interested in, whether it is spotting misinformation, diversity or climate change, and bringing these issues to life in a fun, engaging and entertaining way. At an age when children are starting to grow and develop their interests, the Blue Peter Book Awards play an important role in showing children, families and teachers that there is a book out there to grab the attention of every child, no matter what their interests, and inspire even the most reluctant of readers to pick up a book.

“Now the shortlisted books face their toughest critics yet - the children themselves who will choose the eventual winners. We hope all those children taking part in the judging process will discuss the books with their friends, families and teachers and this can go some way in supporting their reading habits in the future.”

Blue Peter Editor Ellen Evans said: “The Blue Peter Book Awards celebrate the very best new kids’ books. The 2022 shortlist features three outstanding books with facts and three amazing stories. The shortlisted books are inclusive, funny, and about topics that kids care about. Now, over 300 kids take charge to read and review the books and pick the winners.”

The titles were chosen by the judges, which this year are:

Caroline Hill-Trevor, Head of Book Purchasing at BookTrust

Catherine Millar, Founder of Reading for Pleasure consultancy

Ellen Evans (non-voting chair), Editor of Blue Peter 

Emily Drabble, Head of Children's Books and Prizes at BookTrust

Jasmine Richards, Founder of Storymix

Maisie Craddock, Blue Peter’s Presenter Co-Ordinator

Scott Evans, founder of The Reader Teacher blog, primary school teacher and children’s books consultant

Simon Hudd, UKS2 Teacher and English Lead, Belleville Primary School

Soraya Berry, Learning Resource Manager at secondary school 

The shortlisted books will be judged by a group of 300 young Blue Peter viewers drawn from 12 schools across the UK, who will pick the winners of the Blue Peter Book of the Year 2022 in each of the two categories: Best Story and Best Book with Facts.

The winning books will be announced in March 2022 on World Book Day during a special awards episode of Blue Peter. The Blue Peter Awards are managed by BookTrust, the UK’s largest children’s reading charity. 

You can keep up to date with the Awards @Booktrust and at

Blue Peter Book Awards Archive

Click on a year below to view past years from this award.