Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The it Doesn't Matter Suit and Other Stories

Written by Sylvia Plath

Part of the Faber Children's Classics Series

Classic Fiction Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks Short Stories

LoveReading View on The it Doesn't Matter Suit and Other Stories

Deliciously funny and touching, Sylvia Plath’s three wonderfully fresh and original stories were originally written for her own children but remain as delightful as ever. The title story, in which Max gets the very special suit he has always craved, and also Mrs Cherry’s Kitchen and The Bed Book all have a timeless appeal. The addition of David Roberts’s witty and tender illustrations adds a delightful sparkle.


The it Doesn't Matter Suit and Other Stories Synopsis

Better known for her writings for adults, Plath’s timeless collection of stories for younger children is filled with joy an wit.

In the eponymous The It-Doesn't-Matter Suit, little Max Nix is on a quest to find the perfect suit he can go ice-fishing, cow-milking and town-walking in. Everyone else in his family thinks they want the suit, but they can’t help thinking of places they can’t wear the suit. There's magic and chaos afoot in Mrs Cherry's Kitchen as the kitchen utensils beg the resident elves to let them swap duties for the day. Finally, The Bed Book is a beautifully paced poem taking children through all the exciting alternatives to the bed they currently own.

Simple, sweet, and with lovely black and white illustrations from David Roberts, The It-Doesn’t-Matter Suit and Other Stories is a perfect choice for emerging readers of 5 years and up.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Milly-Molly-Mandy & Co
Don't Drink the Pink
The Tale of Johnny Town Mouse Gold Centenary Edition
Peace at Last

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571314645
Publication date: 06/11/2014
Publisher: Faber Children's Books an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571314645
Publication date: 6th November 2014
Author: Sylvia Plath
Publisher: Faber Children's Books an imprint of Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 96 pages
Suitable for: 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Classic Fiction, Short Stories
Recommendations: eBooks
Other Categories: Classics

About Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath (1932-63) was born in Boston, Massachusetts, and studied at Smith College. In 1955 she went to Cambridge University on a Fulbright scholarship, where she met and later married Ted Hughes. She published one collection of poems in her lifetime, The Colossus (1960), and a novel, The Bell Jar (1963). Her Collected Poems, which contains her poetry written from 1956 until her death, was published in 1981 and was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for poetry.

More About Sylvia Plath

Share this book