LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Bomber

Written by Paul Dowswell

Books of the Month - <b>May</b> Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 13+ readers General Fiction Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Bomber

Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Month May 2015   Young New York born US serviceman Harry Friedman signs up for the United States Army Air Force determined to fight for justice for fellow Jews. Still only 17 he is soon a member of the crew of a terrifying B-17 bomber. From the first moment he arrives at the UK base in August 1943, it is clear that the missions he will be on are deadly dangerous. And so they are. When Harry’s plane is shot down he is saved by those working in the French Resistance. Paul Dowswell brings the courage, the fear and above all the camaraderie of the young service personal engaged in the deadly missions of dropping bombs on Germany vividly to life. ~ Julia Eccleshare

***Find out more about the research and inspiration behind Bomber here.

..................................................

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for May 2015 -

Spotty Lottie and Me by Richard Byrne

Bomber by Paul Dowswell

The Lie Tree by Frances Hardinge

What the Jackdaw Saw by Julia Donaldson and Nick Sharratt

Poppy in the Field by Mary Hooper

Soon by Timothy Knapman

LoveReading4Kids

Bomber Synopsis

One in five never returned.

Every boy dreams of flying, but in war that dream can turn into a nightmare. Harry Friedman is the gunner of the Macey May, an American Flying Fortress stationed in East Anglia. The Second World War is raging and the Nazis have swept over Europe. The crews of every Flying Fortress face terrible odds on their bombing missions. To make it through alive, Harry will need luck on his side and courage . Courage to keep going when he has watched close friends die. Courage to confront a terrible evil. And the courage to make it home from deep behind enemy lines. Nail-biting tension and compelling storytelling combine with Dowswell's meticulous research to deliver a page-turner for fans of John Boyne, Morris Gleitzman and Marcus Zusak.

Bomber Press Reviews

Praise for AUSL NDER:

'He is a brilliant historical novelist. Dowswell shows us a side of Nazi Germany rarely seen ... a heart-stopping read' Sunday Telegraph

'A superlative, at times almost agonisingly compelling, piece of historical fiction ... The climactic escape to freedom is pure muck-sweat tension'  Financial Times

Praise for SEKTION 20:

'A great thriller with a poignant historical background ... A terrific book'  Bookseller

Praise for ELEVEN ELEVEN: 

A teenage book of the year  Independent

If you loved this, you might like these...

Pay Attention, Carter Jones
The Weight of Water
Apple and Rain
Framed

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408858493
Publication date: 07/05/2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408858493
Publication date: 7th May 2015
Author: Paul Dowswell
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 13+ readers
Genres: General Fiction
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Julia Eccleshare's Picks, eBooks

About Paul Dowswell

Paul Dowswell cemented his position as one-to-watch in the world of children’s historical fiction with his much-acclaimed WWII novel, Ausländer. Throughout all of his fiction, Paul weaves meticulous research into thrilling narrative that will engage young readers. A former senior editor with Usborne Publishing, Paul Dowswell is now a full-time author. He has written many non-fiction titles, two of which were shortlisted for the Blue Peter Book Award. Powder Monkey, his first novel, was published to huge critical acclaim. Ausländer was shortlisted for the Booktrust Teenage Prize and the Red House Children’s ...

More About Paul Dowswell

More Books By Paul Dowswell

Cover for Wolf Children by Paul Dowswell
Cover for Wave by Paul Dowswell
Cover for Book of War Stories by Paul Dowswell
View All Books By Paul Dowswell

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×