The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

Written by Katherine Woodfine

Crime / Mystery Debuts of the Month Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow

One of our Books of the Year 2015 - June 2015 Debut of the Month   An Edwardian department store provides a glamorous setting for this sparkling girls’ detective story, and there’s something of the Little Princess about its central character Sophie Taylor too. Left penniless when her father dies she’s pleased to find a job in the millinery department of Sinclair’s. The other girls decide she’s stuck-up but she makes friends with Billy a junior porter and beautiful Lil, who models clothes during the day and dances in the chorus at night. A daring burglary plunges them all into an exciting – and dangerous – adventure. Sophie is an appealing heroine, the mystery is cleverly plotted and leads to a thrilling climax, while the period details – clothes, hats, tea and cake – add to the charm. Splendid!  ~ Andrea Reece

 

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow Synopsis

You are cordially invited to attend the Grand Opening of Sinclair's department store! Enter a world of bonbons, hats, perfumes and MYSTERIES around every corner. WONDER at the daring theft of the priceless CLOCKWORK SPARROW! TREMBLE as the most DASTARDLY criminals in London enact their wicked plans! GASP as our bold heroines, Miss Sophie Taylor and Miss Lilian Rose, CRACK CODES, DEVOUR ICED BUNS and vow to bring the villians to justice...

It is perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson, Chris Riddell and Enid Blyton.

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Rose Hopkins, age 9 - '. A breathtaking book, chock a block with excitement and you never know what’s going to happen next.'
  • Katie, age 10  - Freegrounds junior School - 'A brilliant historical detective novel – I read it in one sitting and couldn’t put it down! The characters were really believable and the story was so exciting. My few favourite!'
  • Celeste Phelan, age 13 - 'An incredible read full of mystery, wonder and adventure...This is now one of my top ten.'
  • Adiella Norridge, age 11 - 'Really good, really gripping: a mystery you have to read!'
  • Indiana Morgan, age 10 - St Paul's CE Primary School, - 'I found this book a real page-turner, it has murders, spies and gangs of thieves. Thrilling!'
  • Cait Galbraith, age 9 - 'A ladylike mystery that was shocking and mysterious with every new chapter. A fantastic book that was incredibly unique.'
  • Hannah Minton, age 9 - 'is fast paced and there is always something going on...I couldn’t put this book down.'
  • Charlotte, age 9 - 'A thrilling page-turner of a book. Loved every second of it.'
  • Holly Wilkins, age 11 - 'Page-turner, amazing, number 1 book.'
  • Frances Garey, age 7 - 'I really enjoyed The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow because I like detective stories especially when the person isn't supposed to be solving the mystery.'
  • Beth Urquhart, age 8 - 'The mystery keeps you on your toes and just when you think you know "who dunnit" another mystery is revealed.'
  • Heather Greenan, age 11 - 'I found this book exciting because it was full of mystery.'
  • Noah Hall, age 9 - 'This story is an interesting detective mystery set in Victorian London.'

The Good Book Guide Review

Sophie is excited to start work at Sinclair’s Department Store, where she makes friends with Lilian Rose, Billy and Joe. But then the priceless Clockwork Sparrow is stolen. Can Sophie and her friends recover it and save Sophie’s job? This evocative historical mystery successfully builds up a feeling of suspense as well as creating a strong but sympathetic heroine. (Ages 9–11)

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Guggenheim Mystery
The Secret Key
The City of Secret Rivers
Goodly and Grave in a Deadly Case of Murder

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781405276177
Publication date: 04/06/2015
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781405276177
Publication date: 4th June 2015
Author: Katherine Woodfine
Publisher: Egmont Books Ltd an imprint of Egmont UK Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 336 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Crime / Mystery
Recommendations: Debuts of the Month, eBooks
Other Categories: Reviewed by Children

About Katherine Woodfine

Katherine Woodfine was born in Lancashire in 1983, and studied English at Bristol University. She lives in London and since 2009 has worked for the literature charity Booktrust, where she is a children's book specialist and project manager of the Children's Laureate, working with leading children's authors such as Malorie Blackman, Julia Donaldson and Anthony Browne.

More About Katherine Woodfine

More Books By Katherine Woodfine

Cover for Peril in Paris by Katherine Woodfine
Cover for Rose's Dress of Dreams (Little Gem) by Katherine Woodfine
Cover for The Painted Dragon by Katherine Woodfine
View All Books By Katherine Woodfine

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.