LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Mighty Dynamo

Written by Kieran Crowley

Illustrated by Marta Kissi

Featured Books for 9+ readers Recommended Children's eBooks Sporting Stories

LoveReading View on The Mighty Dynamo

In a Nutshell: football – family – fair play

Some people believe football is a matter of life and death, but as Bill Shankly said, it’s much more important than that. Noah really needs to play in the Schools World Cup so when he’s suspended – unfairly – from the school team Stevie, his friend and a tactical genius, finds a way round the rules. It’s a classic story of a group of almost no-hopers forming themselves into a real team, with the added bonuses of crooked opponents and Noah’s special motivation. Funny, exciting, really good on the mechanics of the beautiful game and with a great cast of characters, it’s a rewarding read; in fact, in a game of two halves, this book would win both of them. ~ Andrea Reece

This is recommended for fans of Frank Cottrell Boyce and Tom Palmer also writes exciting football stories.

LoveReading4Kids

The Mighty Dynamo Synopsis

Noah longs to be a professional footballer - and playing in the Schools' World Cup qualifiers might be just what he needs to get scouted. But when he's banned from his school team for something he didn't do, all his dreams are in doubt. Determined to live up to his Mighty Dynamo nickname, Noah must find his own way to enter the contest - no matter what it takes! With best friend Stevie on tactics, and the skills of some unlikely new teammates, he's soon ready to take on the world - just as long as no one plays foul ...

If you loved this, you might like these...

Jez Smedley: Diary of a Football Ninja: World Championship Wipeout!
Atlantis United
The Hat Trick
Rugby Heroes

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781447299783
Publication date: 19/05/2016
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781447299783
Publication date: 19th May 2016
Author: Kieran Crowley
Illustrator: Marta Kissi
Publisher: Macmillan Children's Books an imprint of Pan Macmillan
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Sporting Stories
Recommendations: eBooks

About Kieran Crowley

Kieran Crowley is a children's writer from Mallow, Co. Cork. His debut novel, Colm & the Lazarus Key was nominated for the Bisto Book of the Year Award in 2010 and The Mighty Dynamo was shortlisted for the Hull Children's Book Award. The Misfits Club is Kieran's second novel published by Macmillan Children's Books.  

More About Kieran Crowley

More Books By Kieran Crowley

Cover for The Misfits Club by Kieran Crowley
Cover for Shoot, An F.X. Shepherd Novel by Kieran Crowley
Cover for Hack (an F.X Shepherd Mystery) by Kieran Crowley
View All Books By Kieran Crowley

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×