Up, Up and Away

Written by Tom McLaughlin

Illustrated by Tom McLaughlin

Books for Babies and Toddlers Featured Books for 3+ readers

LoveReading View on Up, Up and Away

Julia Eccleshare's Pick of the Month July 2016  Inventive Orson builds his own planet with a cupful of rocks, a dash of water, a sprinkling of metal and a lot of nothingness. He loves his planet and is proud of all he has achieved. Orson’s planet becomes so successful that soon everything wants to live on it and Orson knows that he must let it go and find begin a new life of its own. Tom McLaughin’s story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for July 2016

Melric and the Crown by David McKee

The Hunting of the Snark by Lewis Carroll, illustrated by Chris Riddell

Up, Up and Away by Tom McLaughlin

Strange Star by Emma Carroll

Farmer Duck by Martin Waddell

Such Stuff: A Story-Maker's Inspiration by Michael Morpurgo

Up, Up and Away Synopsis

What does it take to build your very own planet? Orson is about to find out. He takes: A cup full of rocks A dash of water A sprinkling of metal A lot of nothingness A big bang ...And before long, BOOM! He has it - a tiny planet with rings around it, right there in his bedroom! But it seems that BUILDING a planet is the easy bit; taking care of it is a different thing altogether. Over time, Orson realises that his planet needs to be free and that sometimes you have to let go of the things that you love the most ...

Up, Up and Away Press Reviews

Galactic resonances call to mind not only Oliver Jeffers star -catching protagonists, but also a hint of The Little Prince Guardian

Gently humorous illustrations bring Orson's adventures to life and help to present an interesting combination of basic science and complex concepts of responsibility in an appealing and accessible format Book Trust

Tom McLaughlin's story is a delightful celebration of imagination and creativity as well as a useful lesson about letting go of things that you love -- Julia Eccleshare Love Reading 4 Kids

This is a book about caring and responsibility, it is a book about doing what is right and what is best, and how sometimes you have to make difficult decisions if you are to do the right thing Early Years Educator

There is something of the Oliver Jeffers about McLaughlin's style and this tale about an inventive little boy learning important lessons about letting go will appeal to fans of both Angels & Urchins

This wonderful story shows off Tom's incredible talent for drawing and storytelling while teaching kids that sometimes you have to let go of the things you love the most Mummy Pages

Praise for The Story Machine

A winner of a book about the power of drawing and storytelling Oliver Jeffers

A charming, rewarding, instructive read Financial Times

Delightful and quirky ... an inspiring and salutary lesson that ... the creative process comes from within Daily Mail

Praise for The Cloudspotter

A touching tale of isolation and friendship, there's also much fun to be had in spotting the pictures in the clouds throughout this sensitively illustrated book Huffington Post

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Most-Loved Bear
The Storm Whale in Winter
Elmer's Walk
TwirlyBOO!

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408870167
Publication date: 13/07/2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781408870150
Publication date: 14/07/2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408870150
Publication date: 14th July 2016
Author: Tom McLaughlin
Illustrator: Tom McLaughlin
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 32 pages
Suitable for: Baby and Toddler, 3+ readers
Recommendations: Julia Eccleshare's Picks

About Tom McLaughlin

Having started life as a political cartoonist and then an animator, Tom McLaughlin is now best-known for his picture books, including The Diabolical Mr Tiddles (Simon & Schuster), The Story Machine and The Cloudspotter (both Bloomsbury). His first novel, The Accidental Prime Minister was shortlisted for 12 regional UK prizes followed by The Accidental Secret Agent and Tom's hilariously funny and much anticipated book, The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate our Brains. Tom lives in Devon and his hobbies include drinking tea, looking out of the window, and biscuits. ...

More About Tom McLaughlin

More Books By Tom McLaughlin

Cover for The Day I Became the Most Wanted Boy in the World by Tom McLaughlin
Cover for The Day That Aliens (Nearly) Ate Our Brains by Tom McLaughlin
Cover for The Accidental Father Christmas by Tom McLaughlin
View All Books By Tom McLaughlin

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.