The Song from Somewhere Else

Written by A. F. Harrold

Illustrated by Levi Pinfold

Books of the Month - <b>November</b> Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction

LoveReading View on The Song from Somewhere Else

Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award

A Julia Eccleshare Book of the Month November 2016   Award-winning A.F. Harrold blends reality and imagination in a moving and thought-provoking story about friendship, loneliness and being brave when things are difficult. Bullied at school and unsupported at home, Frank makes an unusual friendship with Nick, the weird boy in her class who everyone else shuns. After Nick rescues Frank from the bullies, she goes round to his house where she discovers something very unusual. What should Frank believe about what she sees? And should she keep Nick’s secret? Levi Penfold’s illustrations add to the illusory feel of this story that tests imagination and belief and leaves the reader wondering. ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for November 2016

The Song from Somewhere Else by A. F. Harrold and Levi Pinfold

Murder in Midwinter by Fleur Hitchcock

Winnie and Wilbur Meet Santa by Valerie Thomas and Korky Paul

Rover and the Big Fat Baby by Roddy Doyle and Chris Judge

Penguin Problems by Jory John and Lane Smith

The Giant's Necklace by Michael Morpurgo and Briony May Smith

The Song from Somewhere Else Synopsis

Frank doesn't know how to feel when Nick Underbridge rescues her from bullies one afternoon. No one likes Nick. He's big, he's weird and he smells - or so everyone in Frank's class thinks. And yet, there's something nice about Nick's house. There's strange music playing there, and it feels light and good and makes Frank feel happy for the first time in forever. But there's more to Nick, and to his house, than meets the eye, and soon Frank realises she isn't the only one keeping secrets. Or the only one who needs help ...

A poignant, darkly comic and deeply moving story about the power of the extraordinary, and finding friendship where you least expect it. Written by the author of the critically acclaimed The Imaginary and illustrated by award-winning illustrator Levi Pinfold, this is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and Neil Gaiman.

The Song from Somewhere Else Press Reviews

"Broodingly atmospheric ... A fantasy blending the strange and the everyday"  Sunday Times

"Extraordinary ... as moving, strange and profound as Skellig"  Guardian

Praise for The Imaginary:

"A richly visualised story which explores imaginary friends and the very special role they play in children's lives. Emily Gravett's illustrations capture the hazy world of the imaginaries brilliantly" Julia Eccleshare

“The kind of children's book that's the reason why adults should never stop reading children's books. Touching, exciting and wonderful to look at (Emily Gravett's illustrations are incredible), I absolutely adored this.” – Robin Stevens

“A glorious delight… Loved it!” – Jeremy Strong

“Packed full of heart, but also deeply disturbing and eccentric, it’s a wonderful collaboration. I’m not sure words and pictures have ever fitted together quite so seamlessly.” – Phil Earle

"By turns scary and funny, touching without being sentimental, and beautifully illustrated by Emily Gravett, The Imaginary is a delight from start to finish.” - The Financial Times

“A moving read about loyalty and belief in the extraordinary “– The Guardian

“A tribute to the power of the imagination and friendship” – Books for Keeps  

“This is young fiction of the very best quality, showcasing inspiration, inventiveness and an intoxicating passion for storytelling. The Imaginary has the potential to be a family favourite and a future classic.” – Booktrust

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Storm Keeper's Island
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets - Gryffindor Edition
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets - Hufflepuff Edition
The Unicorn Quest

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408884751
Publication date: 01/11/2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

ISBN: 9781408853368
Publication date: 10/11/2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408853368
Publication date: 10th November 2016
Author: A. F. Harrold
Illustrator: Levi Pinfold
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 240 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, General Fiction
Recommendations: Books of the Month, Julia Eccleshare's Picks
Other Categories: UKLA 2018

About A. F. Harrold

A.F. Harrold is an English poet (1975-present). He writes and performs for adults and children, in cabaret and in schools, in bars and in basements, in fields and indoors. He was Glastonbury Festival Website's Poet-In-Residence in 2008, and Poet-In-Residence at Cheltenham Literature Festival in 2010. He won the Cheltenham All Stars Slam Championship in 2007 and has had his work on BBC Radio 4, Radio 3 and BBC7. He is active in schools work, running workshops and slams and doing performances at ungodly hours of the morning, and has published several collections of poetry. He is the owner of many books, a handful of ...

More About A. F. Harrold

More Books By A. F. Harrold

Cover for The Song from Somewhere Else by A. F. Harrold
Cover for Greta Zargo and the Death Robots from Outer Space by A. F. Harrold
Cover for The Imaginary by A. F. Harrold
View All Books By A. F. Harrold

Share this book

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

Check out the latest activities in our KidsZone.