LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

St Grizzles School for Girls, Goats and Random Boys

Written by Karen Mccombie

Illustrated by Becka Moor

Part of the St Grizzle's Series

Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on St Grizzles School for Girls, Goats and Random Boys

In a nutshell: Highly enjoyable, thoroughly contemporary boarding school story  |  Eleven-year-old Dani is horrified to hear she’s going to spend the next term at St Grizzelda’s School for Girls, but there’s no option: her zoologist mum is heading off to the Antarctic to study penguins’ waddles, and doesn’t trust Dani’s grandma to look after things. St Grizzles however is not what Dani, her mum or the reader expects: the new head believes in learning through play putting as much emphasis on circus skills as trigonometry. It actually sounds great fun, but Dani is too homesick to enjoy it. As the days pass though, she comes to love her new school especially when she makes friends with the other pupils. A lively book that puts a 21st century spin on the boarding school story while keeping the emphasis on the things that make the genre so popular: friends, camaraderie and independence.

Readers will also enjoy Jeanne Willis’s new take on Enid Blyton’s avant-garde boarding school stories, The Diary of the Naughtiest Girl.   ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

St Grizzles School for Girls, Goats and Random Boys Synopsis

When Dani's mum gets the chance to study penguins in the Antarctic, she decides the best place for eleven-year-old Dani is a strict girls' boarding school where - uh-oh! - students wear smart uniforms that includes SKIRTS!

Having failed to change Mum's mind, Dani finds herself having to say goodbye to Granny Viv, her dog Downboy and best friend Arch.

But when they arrive at St Grizelda's it seems that there's been some drastic changes; gone are the uniforms and the rules, and in are chaos, anarchy and, er, goats. Surely Mum's not going to leave her at the mercy of a crazy head-butting goat, a bunch of eight-year-olds masquerading as mutant goblins and a head teacher wearing a crown of picnic cutlery? But as a homesick Dani waits for Mum to make alternative arrangements, the madness of St Grizzle's begins to warm Dani's heart...

With a definite whiff of St Trinian's about it, St Grizzle's is a laugh-out-loud middle grade read by best-selling author Karen McCombie, perfect for fans of A Murder Most Unladylike and Scarlet and Ivy.

St Grizzles School for Girls, Goats and Random Boys Press Reviews

Praise for St Grizzle's:

“ [L]ots of fun: a quirky contemporary take on the boarding school story”  Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

“A riotously good tale” Nicki Cleveland, Goodreads Reviewer

Praise for Karen McCombie’s previous books:

“ It has humour, action and adventure all in one!”  The Sun

“Catching Falling Stars finishes in a rush of reconciliation that might well have some readers dashing
away the odd tear.” Nicholas Tucker, The Independent on Sunday

“The Girl Who Wasn’t There is one of the best books I’ve ever read. Couldn’t put it down. I just read,
read, read.” Felixreads, The Guardian Children’s Books online

“In The Year of Big Dreams, once again, McCombie brings to the boil another fiery read. She makes the
story so realistic and entertaining the whole way through. I loved it, and am looking forward to her next
book.” MarsBar27 The Guardian Children’s Books online

"The Curse Of The Jellybabies – first in the You, Me and Thing series by best-selling author Karen
McCombie – is a funny, rollicking, yet gentle story of friendship and acceptance.”  Inis Magazine

“Angels Next Door is a wonderful, funny, heart-warming and comforting tale – the first in a trilogy – by
much-loved Karen McCombie.” Annike Dase, School Librarian magazine

“Angels Next Door is peopled with instantly recognisable characters who will appear in the rest of the
trilogy, giving a sense of belonging and continuity to young readers.”  Val Randall, Books For Keeps

“With any of McCombie’s books, you know that you’ll get a heart-warming story, with believable
characters, fabulous dialogue, and a plot with enough twists to keep you guessing as to exactly how
everything will turn out alright in the end. I love everything I’ve read by her.” Jim, YAyeahyeah.com

If you loved this, you might like these...

McTavish Takes the Biscuit
Julius Zebra: Grapple with the Greeks!
The Astounding Broccoli Boy
Max Einstein: The Genius Experiment

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781847157768
Publication date: 12/01/2017
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781847157768
Publication date: 12th January 2017
Author: Karen Mccombie
Illustrator: Becka Moor
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 224 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Humorous
Recommendations: eBooks

About Karen Mccombie

Karen McCombie has written over 80 books full of endearing characters and quirky humour; her series Ally’s World has sold over 200,000 copies. Born in Scotland, Karen now lives in north London. Karen loves her job, but is a complete fidget. She regularly packs up her laptop and leaves Office Number 1 (her weeny back bedroom) and has a brisk walk to Office Number 2 (the local garden centre café). Read more about the author here.     Find Karen McCombie on Instagram  

More About Karen Mccombie

More Books By Karen Mccombie

Cover for The Lost Diary of Sami Star by Karen Mccombie
Cover for St Grizzles School for Girls, Ghosts and Runaway Grannies by Karen Mccombie
Cover for The OMG Blog by Karen Mccombie
View All Books By Karen Mccombie

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×