LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip

Written by Harriet Muncaster

Illustrated by Harriet Muncaster

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 5+ readers Featured Books for 7+ readers School Stories

LoveReading View on Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip

In a nutshell: half-vampire, half-fairy, Isadora makes a new friend 

Lively, told in short chapters and filled with illustrations this appealing series is perfect for newly independent readers. They’ll certainly be very taken with the eponymous Isadora: daughter of a vampire dad and fairy mum her heritage means she’s a bit of both, as reflected in the books’ pink and black colour scheme. In this adventure her class goes on a school trip to a local castle. Isadora and her dad discover a lonely little ghost and hope he’ll make new friends among Isadora’s classmates. But when the other children see him, they immediately run away in fear. It’s only when Isadora helps them see Oscar as another playfellow rather than as a ghost that they realise how much they like him. Fun and original, with an important message deftly delivered.

Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids Kids Zone

We've got some great stuff related to this book in our KidsZone.
Head over there and check it out now.

Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip Synopsis

Half vampire, half fairy, totally unique! Isadora Moon is special because she is different. Her mum is a fairy and her dad is a vampire and she is a bit of both. Isadora's class are going on a school trip to an old castle. The castle's a little bit spooky and it doesn't help that there's thunder and lightning outside. While Isadora investigates the castle dungeon she discovers a surprising new friend. He's a little different, like her, so Isadora's going to have to try and find a way of introducing him to her friends without them getting too much of a shock. With a gorgeous glittery cover, irresistible pink and black artwork throughout, and a totally unique heroine with an out-of-this-world family, this is a beautiful, charming, and funny series of first chapter books.

Perfect for fans of Claude, Dixie O'Day, and Squishy McFluff, Isadora Moon is the ideal choice for readers who want their magic and sparkle with a bit of bite!

Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review the first title in the series, Isadora Moon Goes to School. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Diya Budhdeo, age 7 - 'This is one of my favourite ever books and I read this book quicker than I had read any other book before. This is perfect for girls my age and I can’t wait to read more. I love this book.'
  • Emma Radford (mum to Sam and Jack) - 'We loved Isadora Moon Goes to School...The illustrations were lovely and gave us lots to talk about. Both my boys are really keen to read more of Isadora's exploits!'
  • Tanya Thurling - 'the chapters are just the right length for one before bedtime...so I think this book is perfect if you want to progress to bigger books with your child...Isadora Moon who is half fairy and half vampire (which Eleanor LOVED. Possibly the coolest thing she's ever heard. Her words, not mine).'
  • Reece, age 6 - 'I like this book because I really like the pictures, they are pink and black.'
  • Star, age 7 - 'This book is 10/10 even though it is about vampire fairies.'
  • Olivier, age 7 - 'This book is funny because it makes you laugh. I really like the pictures.'
  • Leighton, age 7 - 'I like this book even though it is a girly book.'
  • Madison - 'I would give it 12/10 because the pictures are that pretty.'
  • Bran, age 7 - 'I give it 10/10 because it is funny and amazing.'
  • Melanie Daniels - 'A unique, fun and magical book about a little girl who isn't quite sure where she fits in best.... Isadora Moon is a wonderful heroine full of fun and surprises.'
  • Aggie Daniels - 'This book is full of lovely pictures and is a quick read, I finished it before teatime. Dramatic, exciting and wonderful.
  • Robyn, age 7 - 'A great book that had me hooked from the minute I started it. I'm sure it will be read many more times. Looking forward to more Isadora Moon already.'
  • Mira Ruby Lalji, age 6 - 'A thrilling, colourful first chapter book about being unique!  Recommended for all new readers who love fantasy!.. Harriet Muncaster used interesting words like campfire, snoozing, Bartholeme, gurgling and turret.  I like learning new words!'
  • James McNichol, age 6 - 'There wasn't anything about Isadora Moon that I didn't like.'
  • Caye Gould - 'A book that eases a child into taking the big step of starting school in a delightful way. An excellent read for parents and children alike.'
  • Seraphina Pope, age 7 - 'My daughter absolutely loved this book, it's actually the first book she picked and read all by herself. The illustrations are really lovely and probably helped to connect her with this character.'
  • Maya Lewis, age 8 - 'I thought Isadora Moon was really good! I liked it when Isadora's bunny let all the bats out!'

Isadora Moon Goes on a School Trip Press Reviews

This lively celebration of difference and mixed family heritage boasts appealing two-colour pictures  The Guardian 

Highly Illustrated, eyecatching The Bookseller

If you loved this, you might like these...

Reading Champion: Ahmed and the New Boy
Flora the Fairy's Magic Spells
The Adventures of Lillicorn in WooWoo Land
Isadora Moon Goes on Holiday

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192758538
Publication date: 24/08/2017
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192758538
Publication date: 24th August 2017
Author: Harriet Muncaster
Illustrator: Harriet Muncaster
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 128 pages
Suitable for: 5+ readers, 7+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, School Stories
Recommendations: Reviewed by Children

About Harriet Muncaster

Harriet Muncaster has been drawing, writing and creating things for as long as she can remember. It was while at school that she discovered that being an illustrator and author was a real career path she could take. From that moment on Harriet knew exactly what she wanted to be! After completing a degree and MA in illustration, Harriet’s work was spotted by a publisher at Bologna book fair and she got her first book deal. Harriet is inspired by anything magical, fantastical and glittery. She also has a great fascination for miniature things and owns a dollshouse ...

More About Harriet Muncaster

More Books By Harriet Muncaster

Cover for Isadora Moon Goes on Holiday by Harriet Muncaster
Cover for Isadora Moon Makes Winter Magic by Harriet Muncaster
Cover for Isadora Moon Puts on a Show by Harriet Muncaster
View All Books By Harriet Muncaster

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×