LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Witch Snitch

Written by Sibéal Pounder

Illustrated by Laura Ellen Anderson

Part of the Witch Wars Series

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 7+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction Humorous Recommended Children's eBooks

LoveReading View on Witch Snitch

In a nutshell: absolutely fabulous mix of magical fun and fashion

Hold on to your hats, it’s Witchoween in Sinksville, when everyone gets out their best party frocks and parties! As part of the celebrations Tiga has been asked to make a documentary about Sinksville’s most famous witches. Her friend Fluffanora has appointed herself Head of Wardrobe, but Tiga can’t help wondering why Peggy is so insistent that she and Fran are the directors … Sibeal Pounder’s stories fizz with fun and energy, and her characters grow more appealing with each book. Liberally sprinkled with Laura Ellen Anderson’s stylish black and white illustrations the books look gorgeous too and this one is filled with suggestions for ways readers can stage some Sinksville celebrations of their own. ~ Andrea Reece

One for fans of The Worst Witch, Harriet Whitehorn’s Violet stories and the Royal Babysitters series by Clementine Beauvais.

LoveReading4Kids

Witch Snitch Synopsis

Tiga and friends are famous throughout Sinkville for their part in the Witch Wars competition, but there's so much more of Sinkville to discover! Now, Ritzy City's Top Witch Peggy Pigwiggle has asked Tiga and Fran to make a TV documentary about the most interesting witches in town - with Fluffanora helping out as fashion adviser. But whilst Tiga enjoys making the documentary, she can't help but feel there's something going on behind her back ... This hilarious companion story sits alongside the main Witch Wars series as a standalone title, and is full of character profiles, facts and activities to fascinate fans and give them everything they need to create their very own Witch Wars party.

Witch Snitch Reader Reviews

Some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were lucky enough to read and review the first in this series, Witch Wars. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Isabella Fitz-costa, age 8 - 'The illustrations are outstanding...I loved this book so much that I would like to read the next book in the series!!!'
  • Ella Meredith, age 8 - 'This book is about a girl called Tiger who become a witch. I would give it 5 stars.'
  • Lexie Partleton, age 8 -  'The craziest, funniest book I've ever read!'
  • Leoni Williams age 9 - 'I didn't really love all the fashion and dresses and shoes and stuff. I thought that was a bit boring. But my mum says that is because I'm a tomboy so other girls might like it.'
  • Keeley Spooner, age 10 - 'Some bits in Witch Wars let me down because there was a small bit of anger in the book.'
  • Emily Golding, age 7 ½ - 'it was hilarious - the names of the witches, where they lived and the competition that they have for the Witch Wars.  What would you do with a shrivelled head?'
  • Grace Cuskeran, age 11 - 'a brilliant book about a girl called Tiga who meets a fabulous fairy called Fran who takes Tiga down the sink pipes to a place called Ritzy City where she takes part in Witch Wars.'
  • Evie Aconley, age 8 - 'An extremely exciting fun story.'
  • Caitlin Hill, age 7 - 'Tiga Whicabim knows nothing about being a witch, she doesn't even know she is one! And now someone mysterious has entered her in a witch contest...Brilliantly written book and fab drawings.'
  • Millie Barrett, age 8 - 'I loved this book!  It is exciting because you never know who is going to win Witch Wars or who is going to be out in the next round. '
  • Chloe Fernandes, age 9 - 'A young girl called Tiga gets whisked off into a magical event called 'Witch Wars'. I thought this book was a good read but not one of my favourites.'
  • Jessica Banks, age 8 - 'I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.  I liked the characters and the story.  The illustrations helped to bring the story to life. I would recommend this book.'
  • Jennifer Bridgeman, age 10 - 'Witch Wars is the funniest book I have read in ages.  The main character is a girl called Tiga Whicabim. Tiga gets whisked away to a place under the pipes and underground to a place, Ritzy city.'
  • Annabelle Cassidy, age 6 - 'This book has really funny bits, great characters, and a fast pace, making you feel that the race to be the winner is really thrilling.'

Witch Snitch Press Reviews

Praise for the Witch Wars Series

“Fabulous fairies and fashion-forward witches battle it out in this lively read.” – The Observer

 “full of goodies, baddies, thrills, spills and slapstick humour”  – Booktrust

“Magic and mayhem rule in this ebullient romp of an adventure”  – The Guardian

“very funny, perfectly pitched” – The Bookseller

“Fizzing with fun…The short chapters and delightfully imaginative black and white illustrations make it easily accessible for young readers” – Daily Mail

“Completely bonkers fun, from the brilliant inventions (underwater beauty spas) to the glitzy characters.”
Mumsnet

“Silly spells, delectable dresses, magical mishaps and ridiculous riddles, this is a witch story like no other – and it’s a blast!”   – The Bookseller  

If you loved this, you might like these...

Violet and the Hidden Treasure
The Royal Babysitters
Witches (Un)Welcome
Witch Tricks

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408892046
Publication date: 05/10/2017
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408892046
Publication date: 5th October 2017
Author: Sibéal Pounder
Illustrator: Laura Ellen Anderson
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical, General Fiction, Humorous
Recommendations: eBooks, Reviewed by Children
Other Categories: Hallowe'en

About Sibéal Pounder

A World Book Day Author 2019 Sibéal Pounder previously worked for the Financial Times, where she researched the How To Spend It section and wrote the For Goodness’ Sake column – interviewing everyone from Veronica Etro to Vivienne Westwood. As well as Bad Mermaids, she writes about fabulous witches and feisty fairies in Witch Wars, her first and much loved series for Bloomsbury. Witch Wars has sold over 50,000 copies and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize and the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award. author photo © Richard Grassie

More About Sibéal Pounder

More Books By Sibéal Pounder

Cover for Beyond Platform 13 by Sibéal Pounder
Cover for Bad Mermaids: On Thin Ice by Sibéal Pounder
Cover for Bad Mermaids Meet the Witches: World Book Day 2019 by Sibéal Pounder
View All Books By Sibéal Pounder

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×