LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Sibéal Pounder - Author

About the Author

A World Book Day Author 2019

Sibéal Pounder previously worked for the Financial Times, where she researched the How To Spend It section and wrote the For Goodness’ Sake column – interviewing everyone from Veronica Etro to Vivienne Westwood. As well as Bad Mermaids, she writes about fabulous witches and feisty fairies in Witch Wars, her first and much loved series for Bloomsbury. Witch Wars has sold over 50,000 copies and was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize and the Sainsbury's Children's Book Award.

author photo © Richard Grassie

Featured books by Sibéal Pounder

Other books by Sibéal Pounder

Beyond Platform 13

Beyond Platform 13

Author: Sibéal Pounder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 03/10/2019

Discover why the secrets are escaping in this fun, magical adventure by Sibeal Pounder, beautifully illustrated by Beatriz Castro. Beyond Platform 13 is inspired by characters from Eva Ibbotson's classic, The Secret of Platform 13. The Island of Mist is under siege and Odge Gribble and Prince Ben are in hiding. Desperate to find out why the mist is disappearing, Odge travels through the gump to Vienna, to find a mistmaker expert. But in yet another case of mistaken identity, Odge finds Lina, a nine-year-old girl looking for adventure. With the help of friends old and new, and some very interesting magic, Odge and Lina must discover the secret of the mist, before they lose their beloved island completely. Sibeal Pounder is the author of Witch Wars and is Eva Ibbotson's biggest fan. Her magical story celebrates twenty-five years of Eva's original, with an updated illustrated edition of The Secret of Platform 13 also available.

Witch Snitch The Inside Scoop on the Witches of Ritzy City

Witch Snitch The Inside Scoop on the Witches of Ritzy City

Author: Sibéal Pounder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 05/10/2017

Tiga and friends are famous throughout Sinkville for their part in the Witch Wars competition, but there's so much more of Sinkville to discover! Now, Ritzy City's Top Witch Peggy Pigwiggle has asked Tiga and Fran to make a TV documentary about the most interesting witches in town - with Fluffanora helping out as fashion adviser. But whilst Tiga enjoys making the documentary, she can't help but feel there's something going on behind her back ... This hilarious companion story sits alongside the main Witch Wars series as a standalone title, and is full of character profiles, facts and activities to fascinate fans and give them everything they need to create their very own Witch Wars party.

Bad Mermaids

Bad Mermaids

Author: Sibéal Pounder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 09/03/2017

Mermaids Beattie, Mimi and Zelda are enjoying a summer on land with legs when they receive a strange CRABAGRAM ordering them to return home at once. Some seriously BAD MERMAIDS are on the loose and the girls are the only ones who can stop them. If they're going to save the day, they'll need answers. And a clam car. Definitely piranha-print nail polish. Possibly not the talking seahorse. CAN THEY DO IT? Filled with magical mysteries, fabulous fashion, and a serious piranha problem, Bad Mermaids brings a whole new twist to the underwater world of mermaids. If you enjoyed The Little Mermaid, you'll love this too!

Witch Glitch

Witch Glitch

Author: Sibéal Pounder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 06/10/2016

It's a new era for the Witch Wars witches. Felicity Bat is no longer evil, Tiga has at last found her mum and there's the whole of Silver City to explore. But it's not long before the witches find themselves at the centre of another adventure. When a magical book called The Karens offers to grant Fran the Fabulous Fairy's dearest wish, it seems too good to be true. And it is. Before you can say 'frogknuckles', Tiga and the gang are in a race against time - can they save Fran before she explodes in a large ball of glittery dust?

Witch Watch

Witch Watch

Author: Sibéal Pounder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 10/03/2016

Tiga Whicabim loves her new life in the witchy, glitzy, black and white world of Sinkville. Now, suddenly, colour has started seeping back into Ritzy City - first there was a green apple in the middle of the road, and then Miss Heks reappeared in a garish orange dress. Tiga is very suspicious. But Miss Heks is only the tip of a very witchy iceberg. As Tiga, Peggy and Fluffanora soon discover, all the Big Exit witches are back! And they want to destroy Sinkville once and for all. As Aggie Hoof hides in a cupboard, Tiga, Fluffanora and Peggy race to save Sinkville and end up finding an unlikely ally in Felicity Bat, whose irritatingly excellent witchcraft is exactly what they need. The third glitzy adventure in the Witch Wars series, Witch Watch is perfect for fans of The Worst Witch, Eva Ibbotson's hilarious Which Witch?, and Witchworld.

Witch Switch

Witch Switch

Author: Sibéal Pounder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2015

Tiga Whicabim is settling in to the witchy, glitzy world of Ritzy City. Peggy is Top Witch, and Tiga is enjoying life at the Brews' house with Fluffanora. But when Fran the Fabulous Fairy visits Linden House and finds Peggy has gone - leaving behind only a note to say she is 'AWAY WITH THE FAIRIES' and has left the evil Felicity Bat in charge - the girls realise something is very wrong. And then witches all across town start to disappear. Tiga and Fluffanora set out to investigate and discover an old, unsolved Sinkville mystery that might just be the key to it all. The second glitzy adventure in the Witch Wars series is perfect for fans of The Worst Witch, Eva Ibbotson's hilarious Which Witch, and Witchworld.

Witch Wars

Witch Wars

Author: Sibéal Pounder Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 12/03/2015

When Fran the Fabulous Fairy turns up in Tiga Whicabim's shed to tell her she's a witch, Tiga doesn't believe her. Or at least not until Fran points out that TIGA WHICABIM is actually an anagram of I AM A BIG WITCH and magics her away down the drainpipes to compete in Witch Wars - the competition to crown the next Top Witch of Ritzy City. Filled with silly spells, delectable dresses, ridiculous riddles and a serious shoe problem, Witch Wars is a witch story like no other. Although if you enjoyed The Worst Witch, you'll love this too!

Author Info

Author's Website

https://www.sibealpounder.com/

Facebook Updates

If this is your author page then you can share your Facebook updates with your readers right here on LoveReading

Find out more
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×