LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet

Written by Zanib Mian

Illustrated by Nasaya Mafaridi

Part of the Planet Omar Series

Featured Books for 7+ readers Star Books

LoveReading View on Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet

Make friends with Omar

Young readers will have great fun on planet Omar! Our hero's tales of everyday life with his family and at school will keep everyone amused.  Omar is worried because the family have just moved house - will he make friends at school? He does of course, but Daniel the school bully seems to have it in for him. A school trip to the Science Museum sees the two of them lost in London, but Omar knows just what to do and in the process realises that maybe he'd got Daniel wrong. The real pleasure of this book is Omar - his imagination, the pleasure he finds in ordinary things, his infectious zest for life make this irresistible reading. The book also offers insight into the life of an ordinary Muslim family, something we don't often get, and indeed, Zanib Mian has said that she wrote the book to counter negative stereotypes of Muslims. It's another reason to recommend this book, and I'm already looking forward to a new story and a return to Planet Omar.

Andrea Reece

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet Synopsis

Welcome, readers, to the imaginative brain of Omar! You might not know me yet, but once you open the pages of this book you'll laugh so hard that snot will come out of your nose (plus you might meet a dragon and a zombie - what more could you want?). My parents decided it would be a good idea to move house AND move me to a new school at the same time. As if I didn't have a hard enough time staying out of trouble at home, now I've also got to try and make new friends. What's worse, the class bully seems to think I'm the perfect target. At least Eid's around the corner which means a feast (YAY) and presents (DOUBLE YAY). Well, as long as I can stay in Mum and Dad's good books long enough... The combination of Zanib Mian's hilarious text and Nasaya Mafaridik's fantastic cartoon-style illustrations make the Planet Omar series perfect for fans of Tom Gates and Wimpy Kid.

Previously published as 'The Muslims', this was the winner of the Little Rebels Award in June 2018. The text has been revised, expanded with new scenes and re-illustrated.

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Planet Omar is the story of a boy who starts a new school but gets bullied because of his religion. It's a sad story at first but it turns out well for Omar and the book has some funny bits that made me laugh. Full review

Ethan Watkin (Age 11)

Really funny and interesting book all about a boy called Omar who has lots of new things happening to him. Full review

Aidan Jones (Age 7)

If you like hilarious books and you are fans of Diary of a Wimpy Kid or Tom Gates this is the book for you. About a boy with a super imagination, whose moving house and trying to settle into a new school with a big bully always right behind him. This book shows people who think they are different from everybody else and that it is ok. Full review

Euan Speare (Age 10)

This is a great book because you feel like you are in it with the characters. Full review

Rory (Age 9)

I like this book because it has lots of funny moments and some great facts. Full review

Samuel (Age 9)

10/10 great read for boys and girls. Planet Omar is a book about being different, growing friendships and overcoming hurdles. I loved the book and couldn’t read it quick enough. I just needed to know what happened next. Full review

Angelito Francisco (Age 7)

Planet Omar: Accidental Trouble Magnet Press Reviews

Zanib Mian is a properly brilliant and funny new voice in children's fiction - Booktrust

If you loved this, you might like these...

Witches (Un)Welcome
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid: Rowley Jefferson's Journal
Eric and the Wishing Stone
Wilderness

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781444951226
Publication date: 18/04/2019
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781444951226
Publication date: 18th April 2019
Author: Zanib Mian
Illustrator: Nasaya Mafaridi
Publisher: Hodder Children's Books an imprint of Hachette Children's Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 224 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Recommendations: Star Books

About Zanib Mian

Zanib Mian's books have featured on BBC's Cbeebies Bedtime Stories and The Guardian for their contribution to diversity in children's literature. Zanib studied Molecular Cell Biology at University College London and went on to teach Science in secondary schools before she made the decision to give up the career to create change within children's publishing. She felt that diverse characters from all minorities and backgrounds weren't being fully represented in books for young children. She launched Sweet Apple Publishers with a clear commitment to publishing inclusive books, many of which she has authored herself. She regularly ...

More About Zanib Mian

More Books By Zanib Mian

Cover for The Muslims by Zanib Mian
View All Books By Zanib Mian

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×