LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

All the Invisible Things

Written by Orlagh Collins

Featured Books for Young Adults

LoveReading View on All the Invisible Things

Compassionate coming-of-age page-turner about self-discovery

This authentic YA page-turner about making sense of the whirlwind that is growing-up fizzes with heart, humanity and honest true-to-life experiences.

For the past few years Vetty, her dad and little sister Ariel have been living with her aunt, trying to get themselves back on track after the death of her mum. Now they’re moving home to Camden, Vetty is hopeful that “soon I’ll be back to me”, not least because she’ll be reunited with best-friend-since-childhood Pez. But on her return, things are agonizingly strained between them. “It’s like we’ve skipped from kids to something else but it’s not at all clear which steps we’ve missed”. On top of this painful gulf, Vetty is struggling with her sexuality, trying to make sense of the fact that she’s attracted to boys and girls, while Pez is consumed by a struggle of his own that’s effecting all his relationships. Sexuality, love and friendship are explored in all their giddy complexity as Vetty, Pez and their wider circle of friends try to make sense of the world and their place within it.

Every bit as life-affirmingly authentic as the author’s debut, No Filter, this comes thoroughly recommended for fans of Holly Bourne, Sara Barnard and Non Pratt.

Joanne Owen

All the Invisible Things Synopsis

A warm, witty, important story about being a young woman today, and what it's like to find a real connection amid all the noise. Perfect for fans of Holly Bourne and Laura Steven's The Exact Opposite of Okay.

With Pez, the days felt endless - cycling, climbing trees, sucking sour sweets till our tongues burned. I'd give anything to be that girl again. For four years Vetty Lake has been keeping her heart in hiding. Since her mum died and her family moved out of London it's felt so much safer not to tell people how she really feels. She's never even told anyone she's attracted to girls as well as boys. But now Vetty's seventeen and coming back to London she's determined to start living out loud. She's convinced that reconnecting with her childhood best friend Pez is the key. She was always fearless around him. But when she sees Pez again, he's different. Guarded. It's like their special connection never existed. And suddenly Vetty's sure he's been hiding too...

All the Invisible Things Press Reviews

Praise for No Filter;

Louise O'Neill meets Romeo and Juliet - Irish Examiner

My thirteen year old daughter devoured No Filter in 24 hours and then talked about it for days - Mariella Frostrup

Warm, funny and insightful, and sure to give you all the feels, this is a novel full of charm and heart. One that I had to wrestle out of the hands of my teenage daughter and her friends to read! - Rowan Coleman

This debut novel is an outstanding rites-of-passage story - Irish Examiner

This moving, funny, life-affirming tonic is as satisfying as a long glass of iced lemonade on a sultry afternoon. - LoveReading4Kids

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Red Scrolls of Magic
Written Stone Lane
The Velvet Fox
Bearmouth

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781408888339
Publication date: 07/03/2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781408888339
Publication date: 7th March 2019
Author: Orlagh Collins
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Suitable for: YA readers
Other Categories: If They Like...They'll Love

About Orlagh Collins

Born in Dublin, Orlagh Collins left Ireland after university to break into the film industry in London, working on productions such as Calendar Girls and Ali G before taking over as Head of Physical Production at Pathe' Films, where she oversaw numerous award-winning films including Breakfast on Pluto and The Queen. Orlagh co-produced the BIFA-winning documentary Joe Strummer: The Future is Unwritten and Mary Shelley, starring Elle Fanning. Orlagh lives in Somerset with her husband and their two children. No Filter is her first novel.

More About Orlagh Collins

More Books By Orlagh Collins

Cover for No Filter by Orlagh Collins
View All Books By Orlagh Collins

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×