LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Princess Who Flew with Dragons

Written by Stephanie Burgis

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on The Princess Who Flew with Dragons

Exciting fantasy adventure successfully mixing dragons and diplomacy

Princess Sofia of Drachenheim is suspicious when her sister the Crown Princess announces she’s sending her on a diplomatic mission to a far off kingdom, and dismayed to learn that she’ll be travelling there by dragon (her kingdom has an alliance with a family of mighty dragons, as recounted in previous books in this series). The trip turns out to be more exciting and more dangerous even than Sofia had expected, but it does enable her to make new friends, new decisions about her life, and to spread her own wings as diplomat and dealmaker. This can be read as a stand-alone but the series is an excellent one, clever, funny and with some great characters.

Readers who like their fantasy heroines smart and sharp should also look out for Laura Powell’s Silver Service Mysteries series, and A Pinch of Magic by Michelle Harrison.

Andrea Reece

Other Info

A glorious middle grade fantasy adventure by the author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart, about dragons, ice giants and 'perfect' big sisters.

The Princess Who Flew with Dragons Synopsis

Sofia is the other princess. Not the crown princess - that's her perfect big sister, Katrin. Sofia is the princess who always says the wrong thing; who hates going to parties; who doesn't like people; who just wants to sit and read her books. So when Sofia is shipped off on a stomach-churning dragon flight to make another royal visit, she decides it's time for this princess to take a little break. In disguise, Sofia soon finds herself discovering a magical city of learning, new friends and freedom. In short, everything is going wonderfully ... right up until it goes horribly wrong. And that's before the ice giants show up.

From the author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart comes a magical third adventure about acceptance, family and friendship, perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell and Cornelia Funke

The Princess Who Flew with Dragons Press Reviews

Praise for The Dragon with the Chocolate Heart;

Witty and smart and generous - an utterly delicious book - Katherine Rundell

Funny, moving and deliciously full of chocolate, I loved it! -Holly Webb

Praise for The Girl with the Dragon Heart;

A glorious whirlwind: city streets, royal courts, dragons, princesses and the dark webs and darker designs of the fairies under the earth. The colours leave you spinning, the air is chocolate scented, there is a storytelling heroine with a quest ... You couldn't ask for more! - Hilary McKay

If you loved this, you might like these...

Mesopo
The Mirroculist Mission
Shadows of Winterspell
The Great Brain Robbery

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526604330
Publication date: 08/08/2019
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526604330
Publication date: 8th August 2019
Author: Stephanie Burgis
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 240 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical

About Stephanie Burgis

Stephanie Burgis decided to be a writer when she was seven and sold her first short story when she was fifteen. She fell in love with Regency England when she discovered the novels of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer. Now she writes full-time and lives in Yorkshire with her husband, fellow writer Patrick Samphire, their son, and their crazy-but-sweet border collie, Maya. She wrote A Most Improper Magick while living in an old stone cottage in Yorkshire, where the story is set.

More About Stephanie Burgis

More Books By Stephanie Burgis

Cover for The Girl with the Dragon Heart by Stephanie Burgis
Cover for The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis
Cover for A Tangle of Magicks by Stephanie Burgis
View All Books By Stephanie Burgis

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×