Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more


Written by Monica Meira Vaughan

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 11+ readers Science Fiction

LoveReading View on Slick

Shortlisted for the UKLA Book Awards 2020

Danny is sure that the new boy in his class won’t want to become his friend:  nobody else does. When they discover they both love the same computer game, Danny becomes more and more confused by Eric’s strange family life and the gaps in his knowledge. The truth takes him to some strange, dark places. Unique, relevant and wonderful. 


Slick Synopsis

Eric Young is the first child android to be trialled in society, but he doesn't know that. He does know that he's just moved to Ashland from London, so it's important that he makes new friends. Not just any friends, but the right kind - the kind that would be interested in skateboarding and the new Slick trainers his Uncle Martin sends him. He's already growing his social media presence, but he knows it's important to make friends in the real world too. Danny Lazio doesn't have any friends, but he doesn't care about that. He would rather not be friends with someone like Eric, who's had seemingly everything handed to him. But when Eric takes an interest in Land X, Danny's favourite game, Danny thinks he might have found a real friend... if he can figure out the mystery behind Eric's sudden disappearances and strange lifestyle. As their friendship grows, it becomes harder to ignore the weird events that happen around Eric, from weekly dentist appointments to inexplicable medical mishaps. But uncovering the truth is an act that might cost them both, as powerful forces soon move in around them.

If you loved this, you might like these...

Small Town Hero
The Lost Soul Atlas
Sputnik's Guide to Life on Earth
Freddie Jones: The Four Assemble

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781846884597
Publication date: 01/05/2019
Publisher: Alma Books Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781846884597
Publication date: 1st May 2019
Author: Monica Meira Vaughan
Publisher: Alma Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 288 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Science Fiction

About Monica Meira Vaughan

The daughter of South American parents, Monica Meira Vaughan grew up in Spain before moving to London at the age of five, where she learnt English by watching Sesame Street and reading every Roald Dahl book she could get her hands on. She has over ten years' experience as a teacher, working mostly with children with emotional and behavioural difficulties. Monica loves writing after midnight, building cardboard cities and collecting notebooks. She lives in London with her daughter and their cat Toto From-Kansas .

More About Monica Meira Vaughan

Share this book