LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Orion Lost

Written by Alastair Chisholm

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 9+ readers Science Fiction

LoveReading View on Orion Lost

Twisty, surprising and thoroughly satisfying spaceship adventure

If you like Star Wars, you’ll love Alastair Chisholm’s space adventure.  The action takes place on board the transport ship Orion as it heads out from Earth to a new colony far away.  Reaching their destination requires ship and passengers making a series of Jumps through space and time, and surviving a Jump means entering a state of deep suspended animation.  Emerging from one of these, Beth discovers that none of the adults can be woken, and that she is now acting captain with a ‘crew’ of fellow youngsters.  There are tensions between the children, some alarming encounters with aliens and – much more terrifying – space pirates, all made worse when Beth begins to suspect that the ship itself may not have their best interests at heart. It all makes for a terrifically taut and entertaining page-turner, with twists and surprises galore. Don’t miss!

Andrea Reece

Other Info

A message from the author:

In this book you will meet an alien species, called the Videshi. Some of you may know that this is a real word – in Hindi, Videshi (??????) means foreign, or foreigner, or stranger. This book takes place in the future, and when I was imagining the world of the future, I thought that India would probably become a prominent power, perhaps even the leading spacefaring nation – the captains and commanders of space exploration. I imagined that it might be an Indian crew who met the first alien ship. What would they call this alien? I thought they might call it stranger. Foreigner. Alien. And they would report it back to the people of Earth, who would use their word … Videshi.

The Editor at Nosy Crow says: “From the first page, I could not put this book down. Thrilling, atmospheric, and with some of the best twists I’ve ever come across, it’s an unbelievably gripping science fiction adventure.”

 

Orion Lost Synopsis

The transport ship Orion is four months out of Earth when catastrophe strikes - leaving the ship and everyone on board stranded in deep space. Suddenly it's up to thirteen-year-old Beth and her friends to navigate through treacherous and uncharted territory to reach safety. But a heavily-damaged ship, space pirates, a mysterious alien species, and an artificial intelligence that Beth doesn't know if she can trust means that getting home has never been so difficult...

Hugely gripping, with incredible twists and a fast-paced, action-packed story, this is an unputdownable science fiction adventure - perfect for fans of Mortal Engines and Star Wars.

Orion Lost Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

I loved this book from the moment I first turned its pages. Infact I could not put it down! Full review

Alex Hall (Age 13)

A high octane, high energy adventure romp in space. Will keep you on the edge of your seat! Full review

Sarah Ormes (Age )

This book was brilliant, I just couldn’t put it down! All the characters were great but I really liked Beth and Lauryn the best. Full review

Lily O’Dwyer (Age 11)

This book is AMAZING! It is set in the far future and tells the story of Orion’s journey through deep space. There is lots of suspense - you will want to keep reading to find out what happens next! Full review

Lucas Blake (Age 9)

This book is great because it's action-packed and suspenseful. I loved that the kids on the spaceship Orion made all the decisions. Full review

Calum Murray (Age 11)

This was one of those books that when I was reading it I kept saying “just one more page". Full review

Edel Waugh Salisbury (Age )

Orion Lost is perfect for people who've never read science-fiction and even more perfect for fans of science-fiction! Full review

Amatullah Khatun (Age 9)

This gripping, exciting and powerful book kept me guessing...I just had to keep reading! Full review

Thomas Sharples (Age 10)

Breathtakingly fascinating! Full review

Diay Budhdeo (Age 10)

Adventurous, exciting and interesting. Full review

Scarlett Dean (Age 10)

If you loved this, you might like these...

FloodWorld
The Infinite Lives of Maisie Day
Tin
The Starman and Me

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781788005920
Publication date: 09/01/2020
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788005920
Publication date: 9th January 2020
Author: Alastair Chisholm
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Science Fiction
Recommendations: Coming Soon, Reviewed by Children

About Alastair Chisholm

Alastair is a children's author and puzzle creator. As a puzzle creator he wrote quite a lot of books of Sudoku and other puzzles for kids and grown-ups, and as an author he writes picture books and middle-grade fiction. Alastair lives in Edinburgh with his wife (who is lovely), two teenagers (who are lovely but very loud), and a cat named Maudie, who is yowling at him even though there is clearly food in her bowl, look, it's right there, look. His hobbies include writing and playing games on his phone when he should be writing.

More About Alastair Chisholm

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×