LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Havenfall

Written by Sara Holland

Part of the Havenfall Series

Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 13+ readers Featured Books for Young Adults

LoveReading View on Havenfall

This atmospheric female-fronted fantasy simmers with secrets, struggles and Soul-eating beasts

March 2020 Book of the Month

Havenfall, the first installment of a new series from Everless author Sara Holland, is a heady blend of hidden worlds at war and ancient magic that sees a teenage girl compelled to summon superhuman strength.

Maddie has always loved spending summers at her Uncle Marcus’s mountain-set Havenfall Inn. To outsiders, Havenfall is just another small town in the Rockies. To those in the know, it’s a hidden haven between volatile ancient worlds, “a peaceful, magical crossroads” with the Inn “the one place everyone can intermingle.” As Innkeeper, Marcus is responsible for upholding peace between these worlds. “To be Innkeeper requires courage, diplomacy, and the will to carry out the greater good”, he counsels, knowing Maddie aspires to take over from him some day. That day comes quicker than planned when the gateway to Solaria is opened, which means, “nothing at all is between us and a world full of monsters.” With Marcus rendered unconscious by a Soul-eater just ahead of a peace summit, Maddie must take his place, for “the peace of the realms depends on it going smoothly.”

The book has a brooding build-up, with snaking sentences, bountiful backstory detail, and a slow-build sense of menace, mystery and romantic tension that’s shattered by screams when the Soul-eater attacks. With the realms now unhinged, Maddie has a swathe of in-your-face threats to deal with, and her epic story has much to appeal to fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh Bardugo.

Joanne Owen

Havenfall Synopsis

Maddie loves spending summers at her uncle's Inn at Havenfall. But the Inn is much more than a Maddie's safe haven, and life in Havenfall isn't without its secrets. Beneath the beautiful, sprawling manor in Colorado lie hidden gateways to other worlds, some long-sealed by ancient magic.

When a body is found on the grounds, the volatile peace brokered between these worlds is irrevocably compromised. What's worse is that Maddie's friend Brekken stands accused of the murder. With everything she loves at stake, Maddie must confront shocking truths about the dangers lurking beneath Havenfall - and discover who she really is.

This sweeping new series, perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas, Melissa Albert and Holly Black, is sure to enthral readers old and new.

Havenfall Reader Reviews

In addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can click here to read the full reviews.

Mystical and dangerous, this book is full of shocking truths, intriguing characters, and beautiful descriptions. You will face otherworldly creatures and enemies in disguise. Be careful who you trust. Full review

Issie Ford (Age 12)

Sara Holland has created in ‘Havenfall’ a new and exciting magic that immerses the reader into its addictive, exhilarating story. A thoroughly entertaining novel! Full review

Lucy Minton (Age 16)

Keeps you guessing through the entire book. I could not put it down! The best fantasy book I have read for a long time. Full review

Holly Wilkins (Age 16)

Havenfall is one of the best books I've read in a long time. The adventures Maddie has are thrilling and the book is so immersive. I'd definitely recommend it to my friends. Full review

Emily Golding (Age 12)

Havenfall Press Reviews

Praise for Everless;

Sara Holland is a fierce storyteller. An intoxicating blend of blood, secrets, and haunting mythology - Stephanie Garber, bestselling author of Caraval

Propelled by inventive lore and magic, Jules' story is a heady, addicting page-turner ... Utterly absorbing; a must for fans of Sarah J. Maas - Kirkus 

Readers will lose themselves in [Holland's] stunning prose for hours on end and be hungry for more when they reach the last page - Laura Sebastian, New York Times bestselling author of Ash Princess

Holland builds this world effortlessly ... An action-packed, must-have fantasy for all YA shelves - School Library Journal

Holland's lush, intricately drawn world hides an undercurrent of darkness underneath a veneer of beauty and finery, and the twists are genuinely surprising ... Readers will eagerly await her next journey - Publishers Weekly

Holland's debut is set in an intricate and immersive fantasy world. The concept of Everless is refreshing and unique - Booklist

If you loved this, you might like these...

Of Ants and Dinosaurs
A Heart So Fierce and Broken
Children of Virtue and Vengeance
The Red Scrolls of Magic

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526614889
Publication date: 03/03/2020
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526614889
Publication date: 3rd March 2020
Author: Sara Holland
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 320 pages
Suitable for: 13+ readers, YA readers
Genres: Fantasy / Magical
Recommendations: Reviewed by Children

About Sara Holland

Sara Holland grew up in small-town Minnesota among hundreds of books. After graduating from university, she worked in a tea shop, a dentist's office, and a state capitol building before heading to New York to work in publishing. These days, she can be found exploring the city's bookstores and consuming too much caffeine. Photo credit: Sub Urban Photography

More About Sara Holland

More Books By Sara Holland

Cover for Everless: Evermore Book 2 by Sara Holland
Cover for Everless: Evermore Book 2 by Sara Holland
Cover for Everless Book 1 by Sara Holland
View All Books By Sara Holland

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×