LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Dragon Daughter

Written by Liz Flanagan

Part of the Legends of the Sky Series

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on Dragon Daughter

This elegant action-packed fantasy fizzes with themes of friendship, prejudice and political power play

This first book in Liz Flanagan’s richly detailed Legends of the Sky series relates the compelling quest of Milla, a principled young servant girl who works for Duke Olvar. Here on the island of Arcosi dragons are depicted in paintings, eulogised in stories, and have legendary status. At a self-aggrandising ball Duke Olvar declares: “The dragons are dead, like the former people of this place, perished in mystery… We remember them. We honour them… We are now the children of the dragon.” At this same gathering, an old woman denounces Olvar’s desire to be known as the Dragon Duke and claims that the “dragons of Arcosi will return.” And soon after, Milla takes on the enormous responsibility of looking after the last four dragon eggs. 

 

Living a double life as a protectoress amidst a political tinderbox comes at great risk. Milla must keep the dragons secret, but faces huge conflict when she wonders whether they hold the key to uniting her violently divided island. The writing sparkles as Milla bravely battles to keep the dragons from harm, with vital themes of tolerance, migration and compassion nimbly woven into her quest, a journey that’s as driven by ethical political considerations as it is by personal discovery. Highly recommended for fans of Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance series, Dragon Daughter might also make an excellent first foray into fantasy for readers who are usually drawn to contemporary fiction – the novel is brilliant at blending a fantastical context with real-world issues.

Joanne Owen

Other Info

Liz Flanagan has been fascinated by dragons since childhood. Liz comments, ‘With their capacity for flight, dragons also symbolise freedom. If we can’t have wings of our own, maybe through reading, we can experience the next best thing: to be invited onto a dragon’s back to soar beyond the clouds and experience the exhilaration of flying. I loved writing the scenes – both in Dragon Daughter and Rise of the Shadow Dragons – where my protagonists finally get to ride their dragons. It’s a coming of age moment for each, coming into independence, freedom and possibility.’

Read a Q&A with Liz Flanagan here!

Dragon Daughter Synopsis

On the island of Arcosi, dragons and their riders used to rule the skies. But now they are only legends, found in bedtime stories, on beautiful murals and ancient jewellery. Then servant girl Milla witnesses a murder and finds herself caring for the last four dragon eggs. Forced to keep them secret amidst the growing tensions in the city, she begins to fear that the island's ruler, Duke Olvar, isn't all that he seems. But how can Milla and her friends keep the eggs safe when it means endangering everything she's ever loved? Fiery friendships, forgotten family and the struggle for power collide as Milla's fight to save the dragons leads her to discover her own hidden past.

Win copies of 1&2 of the brilliant Legends of the Sky series!

Win copies of 1&2 of the brilliant Legends of the Sky series!

Closing date: 06/07/2020

The Legends of the Sky is an epic fantasy saga from Liz Flanagan, perfect middle-grade reading, bursting with fiery friendships, rebellion and intrigue. The series began with Dragon Daughter and follows with Rise of the Shadow Dragons and we have copies of BOTH books to give away to THREE lucky readers! Please note that this draw is open only for UK residents and is free to enter, multiple entries from the same email address will only be counted once. The draw closes on 6 July 2020. The winners will be notified by 20 July 2020. Good luck!

Enter Now

Dragon Daughter Press Reviews

'A thrilling fantasy quest . . . sure to lure fans of Christopher Paolini's Eragon and Rick Riordan' The Bookseller

‘A heart-stirring adventure’ Sophie Anderson, author of The House With Chicken Legs

‘Vividly immersive, exciting, magical and just so much fun!’ Stephanie Burgis, author of The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart

“Full of rich imagery…the dragons come alive before the reader’s eyes” – BookTrust

If you loved this, you might like these...

Rise of the Shadow Dragons
Wilde
The Book of Secrets
Monstrous Devices

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781788450218
Publication date: 02/05/2019
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788450218
Publication date: 2nd May 2019
Author: Liz Flanagan
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 368 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical
Other Categories: If They Like...They'll Love

About Liz Flanagan

Liz grew up in Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire where she lives with her husband and two teenage daughters. She completed a PhD in Creative Writing in 2017, and now divides her time between teaching creative writing and writing her own books. She loves doing school visits and talking to young people about writing and creativity. Previously, she ran Lumb Bank, the Arvon Centre for creative writing and former home of Yorkshire poet Ted Hughes. Liz adores animals and would have loved to find a hidden bag of dragon eggs as a child. She has to make do with her cat, dog ...

More About Liz Flanagan

More Books By Liz Flanagan

Cover for Rise of the Shadow Dragons by Liz Flanagan
Cover for Eden Summer by Liz Flanagan
Cover for Starlight Grey A Tale from Russia by Liz Flanagan
View All Books By Liz Flanagan

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×