LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

My Dad, the Earth Warrior

Written by Gary Haq

Illustrated by Mark Beech

Family / Home Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers General Fiction

LoveReading View on My Dad, the Earth Warrior

My Dad, the Earth Warrior uses a fantastical story in order to explore, introduce and examine a range of topics including global warming and the effects of climate change. 

This chapter book is lighthearted and entertaining while also delivering an important message about the impact our actions are having on the Earth. A bump to the head leads Hero’s Dad to believe he is an Earth Warrior, with the sole mission of protecting Mother Earth. With advice from the doctors to wait the episode out; Hero, his grandma and his friends are thrust into the spotlight and head to head with a ruthless energy tycoon. The illustrations on the front cover remind me of Quentin Blake or Tony Ross in style. There are smaller images at the start of each chapter and lots of different fonts used to bring the story to life and add an extra level of interest for younger readers. 

The book covers a range of events, such as heatwaves, flash flooding, fracking, and protests in a way that informs while also encouraging the reader to ask questions. For example, I liked the additional detail of the heatwave being named Bertha, which echoed the naming of storms. This then sparked my curiosity and imagination as to why we name storms, and if we would reach a point in time where other weather patterns become so severe they would require naming in the same way. 

Terra Firma and Grandma are both quirky, eccentric characters, with Dad Eddie’s alter ego playing off a Tarzan stereotype of appearance (although in Union Jack flip flops). With equally eccentric supporting characters such as Mr Bugwell, readers will easily engage and differentiate between the characters.

I also liked the inclusion of facts and resources at the back to help readers understand more about the topics covered in the book. I think that this is a lighthearted book with an important message for readers.

LoveReading4Kids Ambassador

My Dad, the Earth Warrior Synopsis

Dad wakes up from a bump to head claiming to be an Earth Warrior sent to protect Mother Earth - and is soon up against a ruthless energy tycoon.

Hero is forced to go along with Dad's new persona. And when Gran mysteriously disappears, Hero and Dad embark on a dangerous rescue mission.

Can Hero save Gran and his old dad back befor it's too late?

My Dad, the Earth Warrior is an extraordinary heart-warming and funny tale of a Dad and son on a thrilling mission to save Mother Earth! It is a story of personal growth, environment and discovering the warrior spirit that lies in all of us.

A funny, heartfelt, quirky middle-grade adventure that will appeal to fans of Frank Contrell-Boyce, Phil Earle and David Walliams. 

If you loved this, you might like these...

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781999933791
Publication date: 05/06/2018
Publisher: GAZZIMODO
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781999933791
Publication date: 5th June 2018
Author: Gary Haq
Illustrator: Mark Beech
Publisher: GAZZIMODO
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Ecological and Environmental, Family / Home Stories, Fantasy / Magical, General Fiction
Recommendations: Indie Books We Love

More Books By Gary Haq

Cover for My Dad, the Earth Warrior by Gary Haq
View All Books By Gary Haq

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
NEW INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE LAUNCHED!    Read More
×