Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Midnight Swan

Written by Catherine Fisher

Part of the The Clockwork Crow Series

Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical Featured Books for 11+ readers Featured Books for 9+ readers

LoveReading View on The Midnight Swan

The final book in the award-winning Clockwork Crow trilogy, perfect for fans of fairytale and folklore

I'd encourage readers to start with the Clockwork Crow, the first in this trilogy, as the story does launch straight in and it is difficult at first to establish who is who. However, once sorted, the reader is quickly able to empathise with Seren, Tomas and the Crow.

It is a very visual book, imaginative and with a touch of humour. The images are very strong and play on all the senses, whether it is the visual description of the box, or the atmosphere of the fair. There is a touch of Harry Potter in some of the chapters, the dark street leading off the fair has a touch of Diagon alley and certain other magical touches thread their way through the story. I think this link will certainly appeal to the many lovers of J K Rowling.

The story flows so beautifully. The little poetic lines at the start of each chapter and the smattering of stars adding to the atmosphere and air of mystery.

There are some solid messages running through the book, loyalty, overcoming adversity, friendship and hope. Good overcomes evil, is a popular theme, but what was particularly memorable was the fact that even the baddies had a heart. The black swan, for example, once happy and content in herself, became softer and kinder. These are all good themes to discuss with children or messages to remember from reading the book. 

A beautifully told tale and a trilogy of books that should definitely be on every bookshelf.

Rosie Watch

The Midnight Swan Synopsis

With an invisible girl, a parliament of owls and a pen that writes by itself, the journey to the garden of the Midnight Swan might be Seren's most dangerous adventure yet. in this third book of the award-winning Clockwork Crow series, Seren and Tomos must try to help the Crow find the way back to his human form. But why is Captain Jones enquiring about Seren's past?

How have the sinister Fair Family gate-crashed the Midsummer Ball, and what is the one desire of the mysterious Midnight Swan?

The Midnight Swan Press Reviews

Praise for The Clockwork Crow series:

'Full of deep fairytale resonance, Fisher's writing stands out in the mind's eye like blood drops on snow.' The Guardian

'A writer whose strange magic is impossible to resist.' Daniel Hahn

'Catherine Fisher has woven her magic once more, twisting fairy tales, folklore and fantasy into a spellbinding tale.' Family Bookworms

'A magical thriller with a difference.' Amanda Craig

'Full of deep fairy tale resonance, Fisher’s writing stands out in the mind’s eye like blood drops on snow.' Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian

'A marvellous book, and a book of marvels, shivery with suspense, snow and sinister magic - the most seasonal treat since The Box of Delights.’ Amanda Craig

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Tower of Nero
A Clock of Stars: The Shadow Moth
The Castle of Tangled Magic
Guardians of Magic

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781913102371
Publication date: 01/10/2020
Publisher: Firefly Press Ltd
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781913102371
Publication date: 1st October 2020
Author: Catherine Fisher
Publisher: Firefly Press Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 252 pages
Suitable for: 11+ readers, 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical

About Catherine Fisher

Catherine Fisher is an acclaimed poet and children’s author who lives in Newport, South East Wales. Her bestselling books include The Snow-Walker trilogy, the Oracle trilogy, the Incarceron series and the Chronoptika series. Catherine was Wales’ first Young People's Laureate (2011-2013) and has won a number of awards for her work.

More About Catherine Fisher

More Books By Catherine Fisher

Cover for The Velvet Fox by Catherine Fisher
Cover for The Clockwork Crow by Catherine Fisher
Cover for The Crystal Stair by Catherine Fisher
View All Books By Catherine Fisher

Share this book