LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

The Smidgens

Written by David O'Connell

Illustrated by Seb Burnett

Write A Review

The Smidgens Review

Family / Home Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Humorous

Little people having big adventures

The Smidgens are about the same size as Borrowers (small enough to fit into an old peanut butter jar) and, like Pod, Arrietty and co., build their homes from things the Big Folk (you and me) leave behind or lose. You won’t have seen them, because not only are they very small and very good at hiding, there just aren’t that many around; in fact Gafferty and her family think they’re the last of the Smidgens. It’s only when Gafferty and little brother Gobkin run into the witchy Claudia Slymark and her sinister-ish, ghostly sidekicks, that they discover there are more Smidgens living nearby – and just as well too. Claudia is after something the Smidgens have, and the chase leads to some real high jinks (in some very high places too). Little people are endlessly fascinating – who doesn’t love the idea of being small enough to fit into a doll’s house or toy train – but the Smidgens’ adventures are funny as well as charming and with just the right amount of 21st century edge and sharpness. The first in a series which is certain to capture children’s imagination. 

Andrea Reece

The Smidgens Synopsis

Now Gafferty, her parents and her little brothers Gobkin and Grub are the only ones left, and the tunnels are forbidden territory. And then Gafferty finds an old map. A map that shows a place deep within the maze where Smidgen tribes can go to meet.

Smidgen tribes! Gafferty knows that she has to try to find them. But the tunnels are dangerous. And soon Gafferty discovers she's not the only one looking for the lost tribes, and that three inches of Smidgen hold more power than she ever imagined.

Perfect for readers who love Terry Pratchett, Max and the Millions and The Borrowers.

The Smidgens Press Reviews

Praise for The Chocolate Factory Ghost;

If you put your copy of Harry Potter and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory in the washing machine together, this would be the book that came out at the end. Don't put books in the washing machine though ... - Tom Fletcher 

Humour pervades every page, with jokes appearing at the perfect place and with fabulous timing - Bookbag

A thoroughly satisfying and entertaining story, a mix of adventure, comedy and magic ... Delicious! - Books for Keeps 

If you loved this, you might like these...

Anisha, Accidental Detective: Granny Trouble
The Bolds Go Green
The Danger Gang
The Accidental Diary of B.U.G.

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781526607768
Publication date: 01/04/2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526607768
Publication date: 1st April 2021
Author: David O'Connell
Illustrator: Seb Burnett
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 208 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Genres: Family / Home Stories, Humorous

About David O'Connell

David O'Connell is a writer and illustrator living in London, UK. His favourite things to draw are monsters, naughty children (another type of monster), batty old ladies and evil cats! He loves comics too, and has had work published in anthologies such as Birdsong, Solipsistic Pop, Paper Science and Accent UK. David is also the editor of ink+PAPER, a biannual anthology combining comics and the graphic arts.

More About David O'Connell

More Books By David O'Connell

Cover for The Chocolate Factory Ghost by David O'Connell
Cover for Food Fright by David O'Connell
Cover for Night of the Living Bread by David O'Connell
View All Books By David O'Connell

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×