LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Kitty and the Kidnap Trap

Written by Paula Harrison

Illustrated by Jenny Lovlie

Write A Review

Kitty and the Kidnap Trap Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 5+ readers Stories about Animals

A magical adventure by the light of the moon.

Kitty is a superhero in training! She loves having cat-like superpowers and going on adventures with her cat crew in the moonlight. 

LoveReading4Kids

Kitty and the Kidnap Trap Synopsis

Kitty is supposed to be looking after her friend's pet hamster, Marvin, for the weekend but disaster strikes when he's kidnapped! Kitty must follow the kidnapper's trail and return Marvin to his home safe and sound before the night is out.

It's time for Superhero Kitty to save the day!

Kitty and the Kidnap Trap Press Reviews

Praise for the Kitty Series;

‘Purrfect books for the intended age – I am sure they will be a big success’ – Tony, The Alligator’s Mouth

‘Kitty and her friends are hugely appealing characters and this little story is full of useful, important lessons about friendship, bravery, and finding courage within yourself. It is a perfect book for little girls and boys confidently reading on their own.’ – Books for Keeps

‘The first in a lovely new series for fans of Isadora Moon, Kitty is a relatable little girl whose night-time adventures feature a cast of lovely cat characters – adventurous Figaro, sophisticated Katsumi and curious Pixie. A gentle theme of friendship, bravery and being yourself also runs throughout.’ – Book Trust, Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue

‘Kitty’s magical story is enhanced and energised by the detailed illustrations that breathe life into the cheeky cat characters and the fantastic garden they find. A great first outing into the world of ‘chapter’ books, Kitty’s exploits are ideal for reading aloud or to bridge the gap between picture books and lengthier fiction.’ – Book Trust, Kitty and the Sky Garden Adventure

‘An utter delight and a perfect book for emerging readers’ – V’s View from the Bookshelves

‘This feline frolic will appeal to readers starting their first chapter books.’  – iNews

‘Harrison writes an amusing story of bravery and self-confidence, encouraging newly independent readers with Mom’s words: “Don’t let fear hold you back. You’re braver than you think.” Løvlie sets an incredible scene with her dramatic black-and-white illustrations on almost every page. Multiple pages are entirely black with white text and drawings, immersing the readers in this nighttime story.’  – Kirkus Reviews 

If you loved this, you might like these...

News Hounds: The Puppy Problem
The Tindims and the Turtle Tangle
Winter Wishes
The Pirate Captain's Cat

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780192777843
Publication date: 06/05/2021
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192777843
Publication date: 6th May 2021
Author: Paula Harrison
Illustrator: Jenny Lovlie
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 128 pages
Suitable for: 5+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Animals

About Paula Harrison

Paula Harrison began inventing stories and writing them down as a child. One of her best was about a magical land inhabited by talking bookworms. After taking an English degree, she became a primary school teacher and is now married with two children. She loves inspiring children's imaginations and believes that day-dreaming can be a really good use of your time (although she hasn't actually said that during a lesson). Over the years, she's shared many different authors' books with children, and now she can't wait to share her own. Paula says: “The beginnings of the idea for ...

More About Paula Harrison

More Books By Paula Harrison

Cover for Dark Tree Shining by Paula Harrison
Cover for Red Moon Rising by Paula Harrison
Cover for The Rescue Princesses: The Snow Jewel by Paula Harrison
View All Books By Paula Harrison

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×