LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Bad Panda

Written by Swapna Haddow

Illustrated by Sheena Dempsey

Write A Review

Bad Panda Review

Adventure Stories Featured Books for 7+ readers Humorous Stories about Animals

Readers will fall in love with this cute bad panda

Lin is seriously cute, even for a panda. In fact, she’s the sort of cute that reduces everyone to inarticulate cooing and desperate requests for cuddles. It’s part of the genius of Haddow’s book that lots of small children will identify with that, and with Lin’s utter disgust at this response!  When she’s sent away from her brother and best friend Face-Like-A-Bag-Of-Potatoes to a different zoo, and advertised as The World’s Fluffiest Panda, Lin flips: she’ll do anything to get back. Her plan, in which she is ably assisted by new friend Fu, involves being so bad the keepers will have to send her home. Readers will love Lin’s comic adventures and race through the story. Sheena Dempsey’s two-colour illustrations are as lively as Lin, and the story often slips into comic strip, making it super-readable as well as super-fun.

Andrea Reece

Bad Panda Synopsis

Are you sick of being utterly adorable? Tired of being cuddled and hugged? Fed up of having your head confused for your bottom because you just so happen to be SOOOOPER-DOOOOOPER fluffy?

Lin: If you answered yes to any of those questions, then you're in the right book.

Everyone thinks that Lin is the cutest panda in the world. So much so that they ship her off to the local zoo, away from her beloved brother, to be ogled at by the masses. But Lin HATES being cute, and now she will do everything in her power to prove that she's the baddest, meanest, most un-cute animal in the zoo.

Laugh-yourself-out-of-bed hilarious, the first in a new series from the creators of Dave Pigeon.

Bad Panda Press Reviews

Praise for Swapna and Sheena: 

‘Hilarious! Wonderfully warm illustrations . . .full of surprises.’  Sarah McIntyre

‘A winner.’   Guardian

‘Every page is packed with laughs.’  Michelle Robinson

‘Children will undoubtedly love this . . . will have them giggling throughout.’   Bookbag

‘Full of laughs.’   Tom Fletcher

‘Perfect for fans of Pamela Butchart and Alex T. Smith.’   Book Lover Jo

 

If you loved this, you might like these...

The Battle for Roar
Rowley Jefferson's Awesome Friendly Adventure
Aldrin Adams and the Cheese Nightmares
Megamonster

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9780571352418
Publication date: 01/07/2021
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9780571352418
Publication date: 1st July 2021
Author: Swapna Haddow
Illustrator: Sheena Dempsey
Publisher: Faber & Faber
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Suitable for: 7+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Humorous, Animals
Collections: Summer Reading 2021,

About Swapna Haddow

Swapna Haddow was the winner of the Greenhouse Funny prize 2014.  She is the author of the Dave Pigeon books, including How to Deal with Bad Cats and Keep (Most of) your Feathers and a further one, coming in 2017.  Swapna lives in London with her husband and son and their pet hamster Gary.  When she's not writing she is usually reading, dreaming about living on a boat or eating Jaffa Cakes.  

More About Swapna Haddow

More Books By Swapna Haddow

Cover for Dave Pigeon (Racer!) by Swapna Haddow
Cover for Dave Pigeon (Nuggets) by Swapna Haddow
Cover for Dave Pigeon by Swapna Haddow
View All Books By Swapna Haddow

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×