LoveReading4Kids

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Kids community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book loving for your children with their favourites saved to their own digital bookshelf.

New members get entered into our monthly draw to win £100 to spend in your local bookshop plus lots lots more...

Find out more

Billie Swift Takes Flight

Written by Iszi Lawrence

Write A Review

Billie Swift Takes Flight Review

Adventure Stories Books of the Month Featured Books for 9+ readers Historical Fiction

The thrilling story of the ATA heroes

September 2012 Book of the Month

A gripping, entertaining and empowering WWII adventure about the women of the Air Transport Auxiliary, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Michael Morpurgo and Hilary McKay. The story of WWII starring the brilliant pilots you've never heard of... the women of the Air Transport Auxiliary (ATA) who battled against the odds to get the air force's planes to the front lines.

LoveReading4Kids

Billie Swift Takes Flight Synopsis

When twelve-year-old Billie is out exploring with her pet chicken, she sees a plane crash into a field and is left wondering if the pilot even survived. Determined to find out more, Billie finds a way into the ATA - a group of amazing pilots who defy the odds to get planes from the factories to the front lines - and her life changes for ever. 

Some of the pilots are men who are too old, or too injured for the air force. But many more are women. Intrepid, inspiring women who show Billie what she might grow up to become. With missions including ferrying turkeys over from Ireland and flying unfamiliar, broken planes, Billie is desperate to help.

But piloting fighter planes could turn out to be more than she bargained for...

If you loved this, you might like these...

Circus Maximus: Race to the Death
Sequins and Secrets
ABC of Opera: Classical
Circus Maximus: Race to the Death

All versions of this book

ISBN: 9781472988171
Publication date: 02/09/2021
Publisher: Bloomsbury Education
Format: Paperback

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472988171
Publication date: 2nd September 2021
Author: Iszi Lawrence
Publisher: Bloomsbury Education
Format: Paperback
Suitable for: 9+ readers
Genres: Adventure Stories, Historical Fiction
Recommendations: Books of the Month

About Iszi Lawrence

Iszi Lawrence is a comedian, podcaster and history presenter, and author of the historical adventure The Unstoppable Letty Pegg. She is the cohost of BBC Radio 4’s Making History and hosts a number of podcasts including the British Museum Membercast. Iszi is a dark blue belt in Japanese style Jiu Jitsu so she also spends time in the week helping to teach both short people (7-11 year olds) and grown ups how to punch her in the face. She dabbles in illustration, plays the guitar, likes cooking, dinosaurs and enjoys keeping fit. ...

More About Iszi Lawrence

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools
CHECK OUT OUR INDIE AND SELF PUBLISHED BOOK REVIEW AND PROMOTION SERVICE    Read More
×